Thermal Electric Cooling (Peltier)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Thermal Electric Cooling (Peltier)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168

    Thermal Electric Cooling (Peltier)

    It seems to me that there are not many TEC/Peltier cooler users out there. Is there a reason why nobody seems to recommend these devices for cooling? Just curious.

    ------------------
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Service Technician
    ~~~
    Asus CUSL2, PIII 800, 256MB PC-133, GeForce2 GTS

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Tech
    ~~~
    AsusCUSL2, P3 800, 256MB PC133, GeForce2GTS

    "I'm king of the birds! And I'm king of the bees!...I'm Yertle the Turtle! Oh, marvelous me!
    For I am the ruler of all that I see!"-Dr.Seuss

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    I'm not sure but I think you have looked in the wrong places there are many of us!

    The reason not everyone uses TEC assisted cooling is that not everyone knows enough to "safely" keep it as part of their rig. But rest assured, there are quite a lot of peltier users, in fact I just finished soldering together one half of my peltier PSU.

    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    For the simple reason of "If you don't know what you are doing, you could turn your $1,500 PC into a very expensive paperweight overnight." Otherwise if you take the right precautions, TEC cooling is relatively troublefree and can provide that extra edge in extreme-overclocking.



    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    HAH! At last I beat you to it S_Klass

    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    LoL! Apparently by seconds only.
    [mutters under breath]I knew I shouldn't have used those Italics [/mutters under breath]


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    please allow me to rectify...........



    then there is this.....


    this here is called.."letting it get to your head" yes 4 drift-0.8's what a suweeet site.



    so, as you can see, they are here, they just don't talk about it much anymore


    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here
    This.... don't click it....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    141
    Originally posted by #Rotor:
    please allow me to rectify..........


    [beavis voice]huh huh he said rectify huh huh [/beavis voice]



    ------------------
    BANNED IN DA USA! I WAS BANNED IN DA USAAAA!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    Okay, I was just curious... I have been using TEC's for a few years now on my Intel 233 MMX and on my K6-2's. I have never encountered any problems with them (okay with the exception of some mounting issues). Although I haven't overclocked these (yet) I just like the idea of keeping my proc's as cool as possible. Most of the time I see people on here ranting and raving about GORB and Alpha coolers (most of which I believe do not have TEC's installed). I was just curious, and you have soothed my curiousity.

    Thanks,

    ------------------
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Service Technician
    ~~~
    Asus CUSL2, PIII 800, 256MB PC-133, GeForce2 GTS

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Tech
    ~~~
    AsusCUSL2, P3 800, 256MB PC133, GeForce2GTS

    "I'm king of the birds! And I'm king of the bees!...I'm Yertle the Turtle! Oh, marvelous me!
    For I am the ruler of all that I see!"-Dr.Seuss

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas, USA
    Posts
    168
    By the way, mine are nowhere near as fancy or elaborate as those pictured... I am using them on normal HS/F configurations. So far (knock on wood) I have never had any condensation issues. My K6-2/500 is running at a cool 26C. And I have no temperature guage on my K6-2/450... which brings me to my next question...

    What kind of thermometer can I use to tell how cool/hot my processor is? I'd like to put a temperature guage on my K6-2/450, but my FIC PA-2013 mobo doesn't have the hardware monitoring features. Ideally, this would be something small that I could mount on the inside of the case. Any suggestions are appreciated.

    Thanks,

    ------------------
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Service Technician
    ~~~
    Asus CUSL2, PIII 800, 256MB PC-133, GeForce2 GTS

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."
    KingYertleTheTurtle
    A+ Certified Tech
    ~~~
    AsusCUSL2, P3 800, 256MB PC133, GeForce2GTS

    "I'm king of the birds! And I'm king of the bees!...I'm Yertle the Turtle! Oh, marvelous me!
    For I am the ruler of all that I see!"-Dr.Seuss

    "This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    well yes, getting a probe in there, close enough the core, to measure the conditions where it really counts, has always been a problem, and if your mobo does not have the ability to read thermistor input, then it's even more of a problem...

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here
    This.... don't click it....

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    Where's the problem?

    #rotor : didn't you just post a thermal-catastropy-killswitch for tec assisted systems here some time ago? And what do we see in those pics you posted above here ? A cheap external temperature probe. Someone please add two and two.



    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    I actually do have a little device that has the ability to save your rig from thermo-nuclear disaster....


    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here
    This.... don't click it....

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •