Exists: Dual AMD (K6-2) Mobo? - Page 3
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 42 of 42

Thread: Exists: Dual AMD (K6-2) Mobo?

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    171
    tn,
    hows the graphics support on the xeons?
    what kind of 3dmarks are expected?

    just curiouse, we all use our systems for different stuff.
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    187
    Xeons will 3dmark very close to Katmais of the same speed. More cache does precisely **** for 3d. Xeons are also horrendously expensive, but worth it for their intended field: 4way and up multiprocessing. In a 4 CPU system, each CPU gets 1/4 normal system communication time. It's like running a normal P3 at 25Mhz FSB. 3dmark and UT get nothing from SMP systems. (Well, you can run a dedicated server on one CPU and the game on the other, but I digress.)

    ------------------
    And the beat goes on...
    And the beat goes on...

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    1,750
    right, the big L2 cache does zilch for games.

    In fact, 90% of the time these xeons are no better than a regular P3 of the same clockspeed.

    But...every now and again you'll run across an application that literally FLIES on this rig. SETI version 2.4 comes to mind. Fast machines took 8 hours to complete a work unit, while 700MHz Xeons took 2 hours and 15 minutes. It all depends on the type of processing you're doing.

    I hear a lot of folks say a dual CPU machine isn't any faster than a single CPU because most apps don't support SMP. While it might be true that a particular app won't run any faster on a dual CPU machine - the machine itself will still be using both CPUs because there is always more than one 'thread' running. My Win2000 Task Manager shows 25 active processes...and it can execute any of them on either CPU. It simlpy doesn't bog down as easy as a single CPU does.

    If 2 CPUs aren't twice as fast, how do you explain my ability to run 2 iterations of SETI, Genome@Home, or whatever - and run them just as quickly as I can run ONE at a time? While it isn't twice as fast as a single CPU, it can get twice as much done nearly all the time.

    Xeons used to be expensive, but today they are almost giving them away. I paid $250 for each of my Xeon 600 1mb processors. I think a fast AMD T-Bird costs more than that (and is probably twice as fast doing 99% of what people do on a PC.

    A dual 1.5GHz T-Bird machine would make my xeon rig look embarrassingly slow.
    P4 2.8@4.0 dual R134A phase change chillers with 600watt thermoelectric array. Capable of -70F
    Nixie tube numeric display control panel and pneumatic motherboard tray.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    187
    AXIA 1.2Ghz 266bus Tbirds are going for 200$ around here. These suckers OC like a dream. Two that I got do 1.533Ghz at default voltage, and another does 1.6 and 1.8v. The fourth was depressing, only did 1.466Ghz at 1.93v.

    I'd say you should get out your upgrading checkbook, TN. I just turned in a sub-3:00 WU for the fifteenth time in a row. 1.6Ghz is just too fast for the Xeons to compete.

    Seti flies on your Xeons for another reason: The working data set for SETI runs just under 1Mb, I effectively have no cache for SETI work.

    BTW, even in a theoretical situation, bus contention and FSB/memory sharing would limit you to 1.5-1.75X single CPU speed. Only the new SMP Athlons and the SMP Alphas we never saw have no bus contention to worry about.

    ------------------
    And the beat goes on...
    And the beat goes on...

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    171
    do you have any pics of the inside of your tower?

    i wanna see how it all fits.

    great rig, and your always giving me good ideas.
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    171
    TN, that is

    ------------------
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    187
    I was wondering, since TN isn't in a tower anymore, but I didn't think I inspired you that much.

    ------------------
    And the beat goes on...
    And the beat goes on...

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    171
    everyone here inspires me
    its just not that often that i remeber names or refer to them.
    TN just happens to be a very useful sorce of info and always doing something differnt, and im glad to see hes back.
    (i still wanna see inside!!)

    while im yapping,
    maybe you can help me (forge). i tried to put up a pic earlier in this thread. how is it successfully done?

    ------------------
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!
    I type slow and spell everything wrong.
    ...glad we've got that outta the way!

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    Actually, the K6-series supports SMP, but there have never been SMP mobos for the chips.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Posts
    187
    EazyMoney - Uhh, I'm on so many BB's that I'm not sure how this one works. I tend to hit HWC pretty solidly for a few weeks, then move on once my interest wanes. My cycle tends to get me here once every month or two, but I read a lot of sites in the meantime. The only place I always read is Tech Report (www.tech-report.com - Very edjumactional).

    K6-III - I'd always heard it the other way around. Ah well, bygones now.

    ------------------
    And the beat goes on...

    [This message has been edited by Forge (edited 03-21-2001).]
    And the beat goes on...

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    and what about some dual XEON SUPER CHILLEN...


    DMMD style.

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here

    [This message has been edited by #Rotor (edited 03-22-2001).]
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    662
    I'm kinda partial to the dual Xeons myself.
    IS that a antifreeze/water mix there?

    ------------------
    My server is a Timex Sinclair 1000.
    This week I'm a Systems Specialist...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •