People need to realize...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36

Thread: People need to realize...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860

    People need to realize...

    That the PC software world is IBM Compatible and not Intel Compatible I cant stand it when people woulnt buy AMD becasue
    Quote
    "my programs arent compatible with it"

    ------------------
    Powered by AMD Athlon Thunderbird.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    Hosted by an Asus A7v Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    voodoo 4 4500
    sound blaster live!
    Creative labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    377
    heheh...you tell'em squal' !

    Hey, I can see we have the same cpu/mobo setup. Maybe you can give me hints on overclocking my cpu.



    ------------------
    Neo Classic I Case by ColorCase.com
    Asus A7V KT133
    AMD 750 TBird
    384mb PC133 Crucial
    Inno3D Tornado Geforce2mx 32mb
    IBM DeskStar 45gig 7200rpm
    Sony 42x CDRom Drive
    Enermax 330W Whisper PS
    Thermaltake Volcano II Heatsink
    DSL on Linksys Router
    Cool CS Tool
    Asus A7VKT133 1.4TBird
    384mb PC133Crucial
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60GB
    Inno3D GF2mx
    Toshiba DVD 16x / LiteOn 40x CDRW
    Enermax330W Whisper
    Thermalright AX7+AS3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    Sure no prob is your bird locked or unlocked already? or do you know how to tell? a 750 probably is locked. The volcano should do alright for a little ocing try 9.5 x100fsb set the voltage to like 1.85 then work your way down with the voltage get it to the lowest voltage you are still stable at and use that keep an eyes on your temps at that voltage anything over 51c is going to crash i am running about 41c you could probably get a gig with that chip.

    ------------------
    Powered by AMD Athlon Thunderbird.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    Hosted by an Asus A7v Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    voodoo 4 4500
    sound blaster live!
    Creative labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Actually it is "x86 compatible"

    ------------------
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    Actully now i think its more like Windows 95/98/2000

    but after looking at the windows ME box it does say Pentium 150 or higher course look on the brite side any k62 or up is better then a p150 (what do k62s start at? 200 or 233? i cant remeber.)
    ------------------
    Powered by AMD Athlon Thunderbird.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    Hosted by an Asus A7v Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    voodoo 4 4500
    sound blaster live!
    Creative labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD

    [This message has been edited by squall3k (edited 02-26-2001).]
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Muncie, IN, USA
    Posts
    1,220
    I like warhorse's version it doesn't imply that software is optimized for either chip.
    Great choice of words warhorse!

    ------------------
    PIII 700
    Abit BM6
    17" Viewsonic E773
    Antec Gemstone Case
    384 mb PC 100
    Global Win FOP32
    32 mb Gforce 2 MX
    Sound Blaster Live!
    2x 30GB IBM HDs
    NEC FDD
    Diamond Supra Max 56K
    Kenwood True 52x CD-ROM
    Plextor 12/10/32 CDRW
    HP DeskJet 932c Printer
    Windows 2000 Professional
    Inwin Q500 FT
    IWILL KK266
    640 mb PC-100
    Duron 1 Ghz
    Gforce 4 MX 420
    Mini Super Orb
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    Philips 24/12/40
    Philips 107S 17" Monitor
    Logitech Z-340s
    Win XP Pro

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    8,796
    Haha, well, yes x86 doesn't imply it's specifically compatible with either. But then you'd start having problems with newbies asking, "Where can I get x86 CPU's, stores here only sell Intel and AMD!"

    ------------------
    HWC ICQ Active List
    57497564

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    France/Bordeaux
    Posts
    445
    Bink: Nice one!

    ------------------
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    377
    Originally posted by squall3k:
    Sure no prob is your bird locked or unlocked already? or do you know how to tell? a 750 probably is locked.
    I think it's locked cuz when I go BIOS the multiplier can't be changed..it's grayed out.
    How can I unlock it?

    Thanks!
    Cool CS Tool
    Asus A7VKT133 1.4TBird
    384mb PC133Crucial
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60GB
    Inno3D GF2mx
    Toshiba DVD 16x / LiteOn 40x CDRW
    Enermax330W Whisper
    Thermalright AX7+AS3

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    The reason its grayed out is the multiplier control needs to be set to custom insted of auto to do that right above where its says 7.5 is another option hit enter on that one and set it to user define that will allow you to change the multiplier now to see if it is unlocked set the multiplier to 8.0 and try to boot if it posts at 800 it is unlocked if it posts at 750 with the multiplier at 8.0 then it is locked.

    ------------------
    Powered by AMD Athlon Thunderbird.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    Hosted by an Asus A7v Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    voodoo 4 4500
    sound blaster live!
    Creative labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    377
    ok...sounds simple....How come Tom's Hardware(http://www4.tomshardware.com/howto/00q3/000808/index.html) site instructs users to change the Dip Switch settings to overclock cpu's?

    Anyhow, I will try that later, when I get home from work and we'll see what happens.
    Cool CS Tool
    Asus A7VKT133 1.4TBird
    384mb PC133Crucial
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60GB
    Inno3D GF2mx
    Toshiba DVD 16x / LiteOn 40x CDRW
    Enermax330W Whisper
    Thermalright AX7+AS3

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    The A7V didn't have Multiplier adjustments in the BIOS. That's why.

    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    377
    Originally posted by D|sElMiNk:
    The A7V didn't have Multiplier adjustments in the BIOS. That's why.

    Well, it seems like they do now. So I will disregard Tom'sHardware's instructions and change the multiplier on Bios.

    Cool CS Tool
    Asus A7VKT133 1.4TBird
    384mb PC133Crucial
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60GB
    Inno3D GF2mx
    Toshiba DVD 16x / LiteOn 40x CDRW
    Enermax330W Whisper
    Thermalright AX7+AS3

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    860
    Originally posted by D|sElMiNk:
    The A7V didn't have Multiplier adjustments in the BIOS. That's why.
    Ummm D|sElMiNk i think i know my own board...

    all a7v 133s (Kt133a) and a7v (kt133) rev 1.04 or higher have multiplier ajustment in bios


    ------------------
    Powered by AMD Athlon Thunderbird.
    ______
    T-Bird .7 ghz @.9 ghz
    cooled by a Global Win fop-38
    Hosted by an Asus A7v Motherboard with
    256 pc-133 ram
    voodoo 4 4500
    sound blaster live!
    Creative labs 8x DVD
    Western Digital 7200 RPM 40 gig HD
    A64 3400+ @2.5g 220fsb | asus K8V | 1gig Mushkin Level1 PC3500 | Radeon 9700 Pro

    Member of the OCN Hellspwans DF Team

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    377
    well..i have that multiplier settings on my BIOS too...and I bought my a7v just this month so Im assuming it's the rev. 1.04.
    Cool CS Tool
    Asus A7VKT133 1.4TBird
    384mb PC133Crucial
    Seagate Barracuda IV 60GB
    Inno3D GF2mx
    Toshiba DVD 16x / LiteOn 40x CDRW
    Enermax330W Whisper
    Thermalright AX7+AS3

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •