OT: Is there a max size for HDD.......
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: OT: Is there a max size for HDD.......

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126

    OT: Is there a max size for HDD.......

    ......... in Winblows 98SE? In other words, can I run any size HDD I want?

    I thought I had read that 64GB was the maximum Windows 98SE would recognize on a single drive.

    If this is the case, could I run (2) 40GB drives in a RAID Level 0 array for a total of 80GB, but partition it to lower sizes than the 64GB max?

    For example, a 10GB partition for Winblows (C: drive), and (2) 35GB partitions for apps and storage (D: drive and E: drive). Would this be an effective "work around" for the 64GB limit?

    Thanks!


    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    Asus v7100 GeForce2 MX 185/185

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    That limit sounded awfully low, but the partitioning option should work anyhow. Btw a guy I know has four 45gb 75GXP's in two Raid0 arrays. He's running 2k though. He has partitioned one of the arrays, but the other one is a 90gb Divx partition (last time I checked he had about 70gb of movies)

    ------------------
    Carpe noctem!
    Carpe noctem!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    I've never heard of that limit. I would just try to have one big partition first, and ifthat doesn't work go the other way. I've also heard alot of people having major problems with one of the HDDs failing with IDE raid0

    ------------------
    Who made that man a gunner.
    I did sir, he's my cousin.
    Who is he?
    He's an ******* sir.
    I know that, what's his name?
    That is his name sir, *******, Major *******.
    And his cousin?
    He's an ******* too sir. Gunners Mate First Class Phllip *******
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    Hmmm,
    I have never heard of any limits to Win 98 HDD size, but then again I only have a 10 Gig HDD. At a guess though, wouldn't that limit reflect a binary number??? Although, actually no I take that back, it's programmed by Microsoft, it probably represents Bill Gates pocket money for a day......
    Sorry, but I have no idea
    Fallguy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Thanks guys!
    I wish I could remember were I read about the 64GB limit for a single drive/partition. It does seem low to me, but there is a lot that MShaft does that seems odd!!!

    Thanks again!

    Fallguy - Long time hearin' from ya m8! Where have you been? I thought you where lost in the Darkside somewhere!!!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    Asus v7100 GeForce2 MX 185/185

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    3,425
    Don't worry about the HD size. When you FDISK, let's say an 80GB drive, it will show up as a ~16GB partition (80GB-64GB=16GB). But don't worry about it, just let FDISK do its thing on the "16GB" partition and when you install Windows 98 it will recognize the entire drive. But if you are going to use a drive 64GB or larger I suggest you move on to Windows 2000 and use an NTFS partition. You're going to have ALOT of wasted space with a 64GB partition using FAT32.

  7. #7
    Justintime Guest
    Ok,been brushin up,

    Win2k = A drive of any size recognized by the bios can be installed and formatted to maximum capacity

    Nt 4.0= Boot drive must not exceed 4GB

    windows 98= 64GB and up drives work
    at full capacity, but Fdisk reports capacity of 64GB lower than actual, but Format works correctly, use format option in explorer as a workaround

    For drives 32GB and up, win98 scandisk graphical version lists errors for all sectors beyond 32GB on some phoenix BIOS with
    Bitshift IDE Drive translation, use commandline version of scandisk instead.

    Win95 has no support for drives 32GB and up..
    i quoted this from a great book, Scott Muellers upgrading and repairing pcs, Technicians portable refrence SE
    dunno if i am allowed, but here is the
    ISBN no. 0-7897-2454-5

    its a great book, it has all the cpu voltages up to athlon t bird! and even mentions williamette! plus deals with win2k and ME so its very up to date, makes for good reading, i picked it up at blackwells when i was shopping with my friend, he stopped in to get some a'level book for his bro and i saw it and fell in love lol

    ------------------
    Jr

    [This message has been edited by Justintime (edited 02-27-2001).]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    Hehe,
    nope not lost, just been wandering a bit. To be honest I haven't checked out this forum for a while (my bookmark defaults to the CPU Forum), and when I did a few days back, well I was a bit shocked to see you, 600R, and TonForty....... and you all have GeForce 2's and I don't
    Oh well, I AM going to get one, but I'm playing with an ATi Rage Pro (well an Xpert 2000 Pro) at the moment.....I love the heatsink on it, it fits a CPU fan just great, although the 7000RPM Delta I have on it is possibly overkill!
    Anyway, enough rambling, good to know you're all still around.
    Fallguy
    P.S. Speaking of Rage Pro's, I don't suppose you know of a decent OCing program for em?? As I recall you were into Xpert 2000's in a big way when I was trying to flog my K6-2 past 600.......

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Thanks Justintime!
    I just checked Borders for that book. Is the 12th Edition Hardcover the same, just the larger format? I believe it is since your indication was for the "pocket reference guide". I'd prefer to have the large volume, my eyes are getting bad with my age!!!

    Anyways, thanks again for the excellent info, I'm going to order the book ASAP!


    Fallguy - Hee, Hee, the Rage chip is a great chip, I always liked mine. It continues to provide service in my K6/2-500@600 machine (yeah, it's still alive)! The ATI has great image quality, but I do love my GeForce MX! It's now overclocked to 200/200 and stable!

    As for overclocking progs, the only one I have is the "Rage Tweaker" program. It installs into the ATI taskbar and allows overclocking and loads of other settings. It's only about 1mb so check your mail, it's on it's way!
    I didn't have much luck overclocking my Expert 2000, but I managed to squeeze a few mhz out of it. Does PowerStrip offer anything for the Rage 128? I never tried it myself. Good luck, hope the prog helps.

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    Asus v7100 GeForce2 MX 185/185

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Oh yeah, you can find a great driver selection for your card here: http://www.savagenews.com/drivers/drivers.html

    Also, check out www.rage3d.com for tweak progs.......

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    Asus v7100 GeForce2 MX 200/200

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  11. #11
    Justintime Guest
    lol, i haven't seen the bigger book, buti think it is a more user friendly version of this one i got here, this one summarises more for us guys who are familar with the hardware and need refrences , nonetheless full with info about everything to do with computers. i guess the bigger edition will cover stuff more extensively and provide some user guides and more diagrams and pics etc.

    ------------------
    Jr

    [This message has been edited by Justintime (edited 02-27-2001).]

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,473
    Thanks AMDNut!
    Much appreciated......even if I'm gonna be to overworked to check my mail for another few days
    Fallguy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    To overworked!?!?!?!
    Man, I'm never to overworked to check my mail and HW sites!
    (I'm at work right now!!! )

    ------------------
    Duron 700@920 (115FSB*8x)
    Abit KT7 RAID
    256mb Crucial @ CAS2
    Asus v7100 GeForce2 MX 200/200

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    737
    i did hear that. but im not sure about it. Heard it from Tiberia. but i know that 64GB aint the limit for the file sys(FAT32) so it could be a flaw in the windows disk access or sumthin.so if u wanna do that AMDnut you have to partion but try if first see if it works!

    ------------------
    T-Bird 900@967 115mhz fsb
    128mb cas 3
    3d prophet 2 MX 220/195
    IBM 75gxp 45gb + IBM 34gxp 20gb in RAID 0
    SB Live PLatinum
    Cambridge SoundWorks DTT3500
    DVD 12x
    5 port NIC hub card
    Athlon XP1600+ @2000+ Alpha PAL 8085 MSI K7T266 R126 512mb Crucial CAS 2.5 DDR
    Gainward Geforce 2 Pro /450 GS 2 40Gb 60GXP's In RAID 0 Black Dell P791 SB Live PLatinum 5.1 Black GW 802

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •