Which GeForce2 MX overclocks the best?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Which GeForce2 MX overclocks the best?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126

    Which GeForce2 MX overclocks the best?

    I'm shopping for a GeForce2 MX. I want to know which do you prefer?

    I've heard all of the Hercules MX cards come with 5.5ns RAM and overclock very well.
    Is that true?

    If Hercules is not the best choice, which one is?

    Thanks!



    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
    Posts
    1,215
    Lo m8,

    Yeah, the Herc MX is the best. Make sure you get the full retail version coz it has the 5.5ns ram. Mine does 250 core and 210 memory, using a lapped Blue Orb and Massive Ramsinks I think the OEM versions have 6ns ram but I hear that they overclock quite good too

    ------------------
    Duron 700@1032 Air Cooled
    ALPHA PAL6035
    Abit KT7 Raid
    IBM 75 GXP UDMA100
    Hercules ProphetII GF2 MX 250/210
    128Mb Crucial PC133 CAS2
    Belinea 10-30-40 17" 0.26
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz S/Card
    ASUS 50x
    Mitsumi 8x 2x CD-R
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled - RIP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    How's it going 600R?

    Thanks for the info! That's what I wanted to know. I'll be looking for a retail version then!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    476
    I've a Creative MX and I can't find long enough scrollbars

    ------------------
    Drakion is one of the few unfortunate people who cannot OC (lack of funds, useless mb, no cooling) and can only watch idlely by. Good luck dudes.
    Drakion has recently had his computer go down the drain, and has ended up with a P4.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
    Posts
    1,215
    Its going pretty good m8, how are you?

    This Duron system is really rock solid. I've just got a new Turtle Beach Santa Cruz S/card and the quality is exelent - better than my SB-Live! I'm in a counterstrike clan at the mo so i'm using my puter for gaming mostly as well as the usual overclocking, tweaking and listening to mp3's. Hows your system?? I'm considering doing the voltage mod to my KT7 to get that extra few MHZ out of it. I'm using a similar setup to you.... my ALPHA is ducted to an 80mm YS-Tech fan at the side of my GlobalWin 802 and it works a treat

    ------------------
    Duron 700@1032 Air Cooled
    ALPHA PAL6035
    Abit KT7 Raid
    IBM 75 GXP UDMA100
    Hercules ProphetII GF2 MX 250/210
    128Mb Crucial PC133 CAS2
    Belinea 10-30-40 17" 0.26
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz S/Card
    ASUS 50x
    Mitsumi 8x 2x CD-R
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled - RIP

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    2,689
    As long as the card has 5.5ns memory and good cooling it should come out near the top. Even the 6ns cards come within 5-10mhz memory speed.

    ------------------
    Gimme my TriLevel Cache
    Modded Matrox Parhelia 128mb Retail
    AGUIA Y TBRED 1700+@2ghz
    Epox 8K3A+

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    i have an asus v7100 pure that does 205 core (goes higherbut whats the pt?) and the mem i have at 210, highest the nvidia drivers allow

    ------------------
    Visit my website!
    look for me on AIM as gosanjose or on ICQ as #46997155

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    600R - Everything is working fine here. I have cut my speed back to 920mhz using 115mhzFSB speed with 8x multiplier. The higher FSB speed helps performance instead of running 100*9.5!
    I'm tired of my ATI Expert2000 vid card though. It's getting old and is having a hard time keeping up. I figure the GeForce2 MX is the best value solution. I've been thinking of a dual head though for running 2 monitors. Since I do graphics work, that would be nice. I'm not sure if I want to spend the extra money though.

    Your set up sounds rockin'! I'm not ready to try the voltage mod yet. I'm not that good! I'm looking for the next good price drop on the TBirds so maybe I can get a 1Ghz chip! I think that will be next!

    Right now I'm getting parts together to set up a friends new system. Here is a run down so far:

    Epox 8KTA3 mobo
    Duron 700@900 (or higher?)
    Micron 128mb CAS2
    WD 20GB 7200rpm HDD
    36X CD-Rom drive
    Creative 8x4x32 Burner
    Probably my ATI Expert2000 vid card!
    Soundblaster PCI512
    Creative ModemBlaster 56k

    That's it so far. A nice little upgrade, don't you think? I think it will kick a little butt! I'll be sure to post benchmarks when it's put together!

    Laterzzzzzzzzzz................


    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •