How many of you are using copper spacers???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: How many of you are using copper spacers???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126

    How many of you are using copper spacers???



    I had this posted in another thread of mine by BladeRunner. I've ordered one from CrazyPC for my Duron 700@950.

    How many of you are running your overclocked AMD's using one of these? How effective are they? Do you cover it in thermal grease or leave it bare?

    Thanks in advance for the info!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page



    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 12-04-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Oh yeah, it looks like the copper may touch some of the resistors (transistors???). Is that OK? Or do I need to custom fit this to my CPU?

    TIA

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    No it should have clearance holes like the one shown in the picture and must lay flat on the slate ceramic part of the CPU. don't put much paste (if any on it) as it might ooze out over the resistors. If it doesn't have the four round holes you will also need to remove the soft foam rubber supports from the CPU base as well.

    I've ordered the one shown in the picture so I'll let you know when it gets here how good it is.

  4. #4
    Yeah.. where can I get one of thoes?

    (this thread has been brought back from the dead!)

    ------------------
    Nothing like BS!

    http://bszone.shacknet.nu/cgi-bin/Ultimate.cgi

    Go there and have fun!
    One By One The Penguins Steal My Sanity!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    France/Bordeaux
    Posts
    445
    Even if it did touch the resistors/capacitors copper isn't a very good electrical conductor so it probably wouldn't matter much anyway.
    (C'mon people, don't get all exited that was just a joke... i'm so funny!)

    ------------------
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    Over at www.overclockers.com read the article on copper shims, they say your cpu will run cooler without one. I have tried both ways, they seen to work good for FC-PGA Celeron & P-III's, my P-III 600@800 runs very cool with shim, my CUSL2 700E cC0 @960 now runs cooler using a shim, 28*c on startup, 40*c w/100% load. I built a Duron 600@900 & it ran pretty cool without any spacer, just using the rubber feet.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    I picked up mine at www.crazypc.com and they also have them at www.3dcool.com as well.
    Mine didn't drop the temp any and it required a little bit of custom fitting to work correctly. All in all, it wasn't worth it IMHO!!!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    Bladerunner or AMDNUT

    Isn't the main purpose of copper spacers to protect your cpu core. When I get my new thunderbird I was going to get a copper spacer for that reason. On the other hand if it doesn't help protect the core and makes your cpu hotter then why in world should I get one.

    AMDNUT-How much custom fitting did you have to do?

    Thanks for the help.
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Your correct, protecting the core is one reason, the other main reason is to insure your heatsink sits level on the core. This will help keep heat down. If your heatsink is sitting uneven on top of the core, you will have a hot spot or burn up the CPU. I can tell you about that!!! I have a corner of my Duron core that is black from heat!

    As for the custom fitting, my spacer was to thick and kept the sink from contacting the core so I had to lap it a little bit. I also had to do a little grinding with a Dremel to insure that the copper spacer did not contact the resistors on the CPU. If you look at the above picture, you can see where the spacer touches the resistors. I had to do some minor work to make sure nothing was touching. It wasn't a big deal, but it was a little pain!

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Idaho, United States
    Posts
    1,032
    Thanks AMDNUT, I think I will still probably get one just for protecting the core, and making sure my heatsink sits evenly. I would rather do a little sanding and lapping then crush my core.
    AT7 MAX 2 - T-Bred 1730@ - 12X194=2332mhz - 512mb Corsair XMS 3200 - Chaintech Geforce 4 320/730 - 4 WD 120JB Raid 0 striping - SLK-800 - Enermax 550watt

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sunny CA, USA
    Posts
    40
    I've been looking at the picture of the shim, and have been wondering...the shim rests on the ceramic which is, I imagine perfectly flat, so it leaves no gaps for air to circulate. Therefore, wouldn't a heat pocket be created around the core itself? I know the heat that is expelled from the top of the core is given off to the heatsink but what about the sides? I would imagine that a CPU without the shim would run cooler. I'm probably wrong, but it is a thought/concern. Can anyone clear this up for me, or is there a possibility that I'm actually making some reasonable sense.

    ------------------
    ASUS P3V4X
    CeleronII 533@800MHz 1.8v
    512MB MICRON PC-133
    Matrox G400MAX
    WD 20GB 7200RPM HD
    DFI CS35-TL i815e-B
    iCeleron 1.3A@1.49GHz
    GlobalWin CAKII-38 HSF
    PNY GF3 Ti-200
    SB Live! 5.1

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    766
    the air circulating itself will not draw the heat it will sit there however ( heat just like electricity follows the path of least resistance) it should go out through the heatsink or down into the ceramic part of the chip ( and them possible back out the shim etc ). This is why the shims look bad for cooling @ sub zero temps.. the copper spacer is discharging more cheap ( absorbing more cold? ) due to it larger surface area and lower resistance than the cpu core and thus raises the core temperature slightly.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sunny CA, USA
    Posts
    40
    well I guess I was making a bit of sense, but after more thought and Paragon's insights, the heat does/should be absorbed by the shim/heatsink/ceramic...however as paragon also stated, it does raise temps slightly. hmmm, I guess if it is ever so slight but it means better contact with the core, then it is worth it. or is there a better alternative to the shim for contact? Golden ORB?

    ------------------
    ASUS P3V4X
    CeleronII 533@800MHz 1.8v
    512MB MICRON PC-133
    Matrox G400MAX
    WD 20GB 7200RPM HD
    DFI CS35-TL i815e-B
    iCeleron 1.3A@1.49GHz
    GlobalWin CAKII-38 HSF
    PNY GF3 Ti-200
    SB Live! 5.1

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Pite
    Posts
    96
    Should I get myself one of those? I've ordered a Duron 700 a couple of days ago and without thinking, I also ordered a GlobalWin FOP32-1.
    The FOP32-1 is IMO a good heatsink/fan, but installing it is not easy. I tried one of them on my K6-III 450 and I had to use so much force to get the clip in position that I thought I was going to crack the CPU.

    ------------------
    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft Promotional Ad
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer" - Adolf Hitler
    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft Promotional Ad
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer" - Adolf Hitler

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    The choice is yours!

    I have run with and without the shim. Currently I'm running without the shim because I'm running an ALPHA PAL6035 which mounted easily. I've been switching and testing different heatsinks a lot lately and didn't put it back on when I went back to my ALPHA.

    I would not mount my FOP32 or FOP38 without using my shim though. The clip is to strong and it's easy to get crooked on the core.
    I would say if you are going to run the FOP32/38 heatsink, you should run a shim to prevent possible damage when mounting.

    ------------------
    Duron 700@950
    Abit KT7 RAID

    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •