What's Your thoughts on burn-in??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: What's Your thoughts on burn-in??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    71

    What's Your thoughts on burn-in??

    Ok, I've heard that burning in a processor will help it be more stable or what not. Is this true???
    Also if I were to use the sisoft burn-in tool how long should I let the thing go to get a good burn-in??

    ------------------
    1ghz athlon
    320mb pc-133 ram
    abit kt7 raid100
    8mb trident (killed my geforce2)
    20.5gb hdd
    Athlon XP 2000+
    Abit NV7-133r
    VisionTek Geforce4 TI4400 128mb DDR
    256mb Crucial PC2100 DDR cas2
    80gb hdd WD-Caviar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    71
    C'mon, anyone?

    "bump"

    ------------------
    1ghz athlon
    320mb pc-133 ram
    abit kt7 raid100
    8mb trident (killed my geforce2)
    20.5gb hdd
    Athlon XP 2000+
    Abit NV7-133r
    VisionTek Geforce4 TI4400 128mb DDR
    256mb Crucial PC2100 DDR cas2
    80gb hdd WD-Caviar

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    879
    yeah burning works, for me atleast. just leave your chip clocked at the highest possible fully stable, and put the voltage as high as you can,(within reason) and then leave for a couple of days or weeks, maybe months and then every once in a while try to put the chip higher.

    ------------------
    cel 566@900, Kyro and SDRAM GOOD. P3 1.13gig, GTSultra 64meg/V5 6k and RDRAM BAD.
    people that drive slow are easy to pass, it's people who drive fast that provide a challange.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Scotland
    Posts
    1,215
    It seemed to work when I was into overclocking older K6-x cpu's but on my Duron 700, I didnt notice any difference at all. Its a hard decision to beleive whether it works or not......

    ------------------
    Duron 700@1032 Air Cooled
    ALPHA PAL6035
    Abit KT7 Raid
    IBM 75 GXP UDMA100
    Hercules Prophet II MX
    Duron 700@1100 2.1v Air Cooled - RIP

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Get THIS and set-it to run when you are not using the PC. It stress the CPU to higher temps than SETI for me, and it will also give the graphics a work out. Good stability indicator as It will desktop eventually if you are unstable. It is also a very pretty and realistic screensaver. (The deluxe 7 fish version is better)


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    i have that screen saver bladerunner best one i've seen with fishes

    i have had no luck with burning in, tried with a couple diff. cpus, no luck

    ------------------
    Visit my website!
    look for me on AIM as gosanjose or on ICQ as #46997155

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    hey blade, is that you over there in their forum too?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    The one and only

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    Burning in worked for me, well actually it allowed me to lower the voltage to points when it used to be unstable.
    -ram

    ------------------
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Calgrary, A;berta, Canada.
    Posts
    144
    Cant overclock myself, but I think that upping the voltage does work.
    Just remember, there IS a big difference between the 'burn in' and 'burn up'
    Heaven wouldn't take me, and Hell was afraid I'd take over.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    369
    Burnin works.....
    when i first got this 566 it went 850 right away. stock voltage, but to get it to 918 had to set voltage to 1.90, wouldent go higher, couple of weaks later i tryed again.
    this time it went to 944, this went on till i got to where i'm at now,
    this has worked twice before for me.
    a cel 366@566 and another 566@952(so far).

    ------------------
    Mark
    Celeron 566@1065MHz,1.95v,
    Abit BE6-II Bios= RV , Abit Slocket3, Alpha-pep66+72wPELT, Micron PC100-8E{128mb) ,Gforce2MX@200\210 ,linskys 10/100, 3Com 10/100.
    Win98se
    AMD Opteron 146 @ 2907MHz
    Abit AN8 NF4 Mobo
    XFX 7800GTX (486\1400)
    2 GB CORSAIR XMS PC3200
    2x 160 gig WD (sata raid-0)
    Zalman CNPS9500 Heatsink
    Antec Super LanBoy Case
    Antec 550w TruePowerII
    ViewSonic 19" LCD Widescreen

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Pompey, S. England...
    Posts
    86
    Hehe - I too can vouch for 'burning in'. My PIII450 (old news I know, but still...) would at first only run around the 540 mark. After running Prime95 constantly for 3/4 days I could post beyond 570 and stable. Only way to find out is to give it a try!!!

    ------------------
    Wonder what happens when I flick this dip swi.....
    All silicone-chips were created equal... except some which were more equal than others.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    France/Bordeaux
    Posts
    445
    I've never seen this work and don't see how it can.

    ------------------
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.
    IC bus, TO3 case, P4 CPU.

  14. #14
    Justintime Guest
    has worked for me in the past, most notably with the k6 line, never tried it with durons or athlons though.

    ------------------
    Jr

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    109
    I don't know if burnin works but as far as i know it could because the cooling paste works better after it has gotten some heat. I know that the arctic silver had to get about a week with 100% cpu load before it made my life better

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •