Whats the best El Cheapo setup?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Whats the best El Cheapo setup?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    16

    Whats the best El Cheapo setup?

    Hi all! I have a friend without a lot of cash to spend, what would be the best and cheapest M/B/case/CPU set-up that he could over clock to around 600-700 mhz. Please include cooling requirements. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    What is the budget????

    Here's my recommendation:

    Enlight 7237 ATX Midtower w/300W P/S
    MSI KT7 Pro2-A
    Duron 700 (overclockable to 900-950)
    GlobalWin FOP-32-1

    Check pricewatch for best prices/s/h

    I would say no more than $60 case, $100 mobo, $60 CPU, $30 HSF...total $250 plus s/h?

    ------------------
    Tyan Trinity 400, Rev. 4, BIOS 1.07
    FC-PGA 500E @ 700(5 X 140 @ 1.7V)
    MS 6905 Rev. 2 Master Slocket
    Global Win FKP-32
    128MB Micron PC140, Cas3??
    Elsa Gladiac GF2 GTS
    15.3GB DiamondMax +40, ATA66, 7200rpm HDD
    KDS AV-7T

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Don't forget RAM and other stuff like monitor and peripherials... unless he has it already?

    ------------------
    A man is offered either infinite wisdom, or infinite money. He chooses the wisdom, thinks for a minute, and realizes he should have taken the money.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Now if I'm correct you mean IE, for Internet Explorer... non 3D gaming machine?

    Aslo are you talking a complete system with memory, hard drive, CD, sound, video, motherboard, CPU, case, cooling, keyboard, mouse, and modem or are you upgrading a system?

    The integrated motherboards from VIA should be hitting the market soon and will give a cheap motherboard with sound, video, and modem/network for both Socket370 and SocketA systems. They will likely be under $100 and still have an AGP slot for future upgrades.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    No compadre, eso es Espanol! El Cheapo es muy bueno para mi pero no tengo mucho dinero.

    Dunno if that's right or not since I last took Spanish in College in 1975. But "El" is Spanish for "The".
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  6. #6
    Deanril Guest
    you said " the cheap is very good for my DOG doesnt have much money,lol

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the reply's, well I know what to get 'em for ram/hd etc. just am clue-less to over clocking . How about celerons? Also I geuss I should not trust Bob Barker to teach me Spanish (he coined El Cheapo)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    Actually that's true. My stupid Collie has no money at all and today my wife bought her a bone-shaped dog toy chest for $30 shipped. But, somewhat more seriously, "pero" means "but" and "perro" means dog. So what I actually said was: "Cheap is very good for me but I don't have much money". I really meant to use "porque", which means since or because. Like I said, it's been 25 years since my last Spanish class!
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    Give some more info. Will it be a gaming rig or an internet surfing rig. All-in-ones are fine for surfing and normal office style apps, but bite the bag for gaming. So, what's it gonna be used for? I promise I won't attempt to answer you in Spanish!
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    16
    Dave_B, basically surfing, and office apps, the odd flight sim game. He presently has a 133mhz machine which is slow as mollasses. So I figure if he's going to go cheap he might as well get something he can overclock(see upgradeable lol), and yeah no more Spanish or else I'll start replying in Greek(second language), then we'll have a real mess . Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    For surfing and office 133 should be enough. It is tolerable on my P75, anyhow. How much RAM is in his old machine?

    ------------------
    A man is offered either infinite wisdom, or infinite money. He chooses the wisdom, thinks for a minute, and realizes he should have taken the money.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    16
    16 mb/windows 95

  13. #13
    Deanril Guest
    I stand corrected,sorry I forgot about But.............

    It sounded funny to me though anyway,.......

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    Well he likely has an ATX case if it is a Pentium 133. Chances are you do not have much of a Power Supply. If the case is OK, then just get a new Power Supply.

    Something simple like PCChip's M810LRM is a good integrated SocketA platform with integraded video, sound, modem, and network and supposadly supports 1.2+Ghz Athlnos and 266MHz bus (but not likely). The only problem is that it will not be out for at least a few more weeks. It is a Micro ATX board so it will fit in any case and should come in under $100. You could drop in a Duron 700 for $55, a FOP32-1 cooler for $20, a Sparkle AMD approve 250W PS for about $30 (or an FK-603 for $70 with a 250w AMD approved PS if you still want a new case).

    That's $200 +shipping (or $250 with new case) and will include the PS (and case), motherboard, CPU, video, sound, network, modem, and cooler. I'd add 128MB SDRAM for about $40 and a case fan for about $10. Slap in a 48x CDR for $35 and a 20GB hard drive for $100 and your good to go.

    Now if you really want to overclock and have some killer performance, |I'd deffinately get the FK-603 (or FK-320) case with an extra 92mm case fan, a GlobalWin FOP32-1, Abit KT7A, 128MB PC150 SDRAM, 20GB ATA100 drive, CD, Sound Blaster Live Value, GeForce2 MX, modem, and a 700Mhz Duron (or a 1Ghz Athlon) $700 (+$120 for Athlon upgrade) and about $30-50 for shipping. You could also get a GeForce2 GTS for an extra $80. You could finish it out with a good $50 speeker system and a memorex 3 button scrole mouse and internet keyboard and still fall in around $1000 total (for the Athlon 1Ghz with GTS). Just drop in a copy of Windows 98 and IE 5.5 and your good to go. This system would cost you at least $500-1000 more if you perchased it somewhere like Compaq or Gateway.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    11,332
    You could also see if you could drop in a a P233MMX or even a 200Mhz Overdrive like this:
    http://www.memory4less.com/itemdetai...pecs#techspecs

    They list it as $58, but they list it though PriceWatch as %50. They also carry 64MB for $31. Thats under $100. You might even drop in a Voodoo3 PCI card for those 3D games (or flight sims) for another $90. If you use EDO memory you can still get 32MB for about $40. 56Kbaud modems only run about $15-20 if he does not have one already.

    Is the motherboard a Socket5 or Socket7. If it is a Socket7, you might be able to drop in a Cyrix MII 300 or 333 for about $30.

    ------------------
    The COMPUTER is your FRIEND!
    Happiness is manditory.
    AMD Phenom II x4 945 3Ghz | ASUS M4A77TD | 2X WD 1TB SATA 2 hard drive | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 | nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS | ATI TV Wonder Theater Pro 550 | Antec P-160 case | Antec 650w Earth Watts | LG Blu-ray Super Drive | LG DVD RW | Windows 7 Pro

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •