Only 46MHZ away!! NEED HELP PUSHING A GIG!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Only 46MHZ away!! NEED HELP PUSHING A GIG!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    350

    Only 46MHZ away!! NEED HELP PUSHING A GIG!!

    My 566cel had been running 99% stable at 954MHZ and supprisingly cool. I took some time today to try for the GIG... And failed.
    Right now my fsb is at 112Mhz and cpu is (locked) at 8.5. Next step is 124Mhz. At this setting my computer wont POST. I've set all my ram lantency, CAS ect, to their highest values and still... nothing.
    I tried all voltages from (current) 1.80 to 2.00 using increments of .05 and still... nothing.
    For a bit more computer specs and pictures of my computer go to my NEW web page (created in 30 minutes!) http://www.hemiboy.homestead.com/files/default.htm

    I realize i should be happy with a almost 70% OC, but hey, I'm a tweaker...


    Edited to fix link...

    ------------------
    ~~ SYSTEM ~~
    566cel @ 958MHZ
    ASUS adapter,EUPA IBB motherboard
    128mb pc133 RAM
    32mb Riva TNT/2 vc
    TV Genie w/ Radio w/ Remote
    AWE 32 SB,56K modem, 10gig HD
    Richoh 4X6X24 Burner, 50X cdrom

    [This message has been edited by Maxout (edited 12-12-2000).]
    For fellow Canadians ONLY:

    Visit Canada's Air Miles Online Shopping Mall - YourShops.ca
    Earn AIR MILES on every purchase!
    All stores ship to Canada!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    If you are desperate, you could turn off the L1/L2 cache, but that would hit performance pretty hard.

    ------------------
    A man is offered either infinite wisdom, or infinite money. He chooses the wisdom, thinks for a minute, and realizes he should have taken the money.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    Sounds like you will have to hold your breath and take the plunch... take a peek at the misterious under-water world of extreme OC....

    pardon my 3DS-Max skills, I'm still a newby at that

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    kanada
    Posts
    227
    I dunno but how about beefing up your heatsink????

    ------------------
    Duron 650 @ 950
    Asus A7V
    crome orb
    256megs PC133 cas2
    20.4 gig WD
    52X cdrom
    ATI expert2000
    T-bird 750@1100mhz
    KT7-r
    512megs PC133@cas2
    30Gig IBM
    Leadtek GF2u
    SbLive!
    www.CrackedForum.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    klompenland
    Posts
    47
    get a bigger heatsink or use a pelt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    350
    I think my heatsink and fan are suffecient.




    hope the pics work, if not go to my site to see em.
    The fan is almost the same size as a case fan. If i put my hand near my motherboard i can feel a steady cool breese blowing off my CPU.

    Is there any way I could test if super cooling would help? Sort of like a temparary super cooler I could put on the chip?

    ------------------
    <A HREF="http://www.hemiboy.homestead.com/files/default.htm
    ~~" TARGET=_blank>http://www.hemiboy.homestead.com/files/default.htm
    ~~</A> SYSTEM ~~
    566cel @ 958MHZ
    128mb pc133 RAM
    32mb Riva TNT/2 vc
    TV Genie w/ Radio w/ Remote
    AWE 32 SB,56K modem, Richoh 4X6X24 CDRW
    For fellow Canadians ONLY:

    Visit Canada's Air Miles Online Shopping Mall - YourShops.ca
    Earn AIR MILES on every purchase!
    All stores ship to Canada!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    You know, I've seen some damn long descriptions of where people live, and I was just wondering how freakin' long of a location they actually allow you to write in here. Looks like it's quite a bit. Oh well, if the space is here I'll use it!!! :)
    Posts
    2,330
    I dunno... you're asking for another 100MHz out of a chip that's already working its *** off. My guess is that only some serious liquid cooling would even have a chance at pushing it that much higher. If you had other in-between FSB settings you might get a little more, but it's a pretty big jump from 112 to 124.

    ------------------
    Those who fear the facts will forever try to discredit the fact finders. - Daniel C. Dennett
    Off Topic Central - Owned and Operated by HWC members

    IMO, Mr. Derek Smart is a hypocrite: Only someone who is either (a) lying (b) ashamed of their products (c) just plain ashamed, would hestitate to give out some simple and straight forward information. - Derek Smart, Ph.D.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    350




    there
    Any other suggestions?
    Is there anything I have over looked?


    ------------------
    <A HREF="http://www.hemiboy.homestead.com/files/default.htm
    " TARGET=_blank>http://www.hemiboy.homestead.com/files/default.htm
    </A> ~~ SYSTEM ~~
    566cel @ 958MHZ
    128mb pc133 RAM
    32mb Riva TNT/2 vc
    TV Genie w/ Radio w/ Remote
    AWE 32 SB,56K modem, Richoh 4X6X24 CDRW
    For fellow Canadians ONLY:

    Visit Canada's Air Miles Online Shopping Mall - YourShops.ca
    Earn AIR MILES on every purchase!
    All stores ship to Canada!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •