my computer restarts itself after playin games for 10-60mins??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: my computer restarts itself after playin games for 10-60mins??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Miami, FL USA
    Posts
    182

    my computer restarts itself after playin games for 10-60mins??

    whenever i play a game for 10-60 mins my computer will just restart itself??
    but it doesnt do it during windows
    i have changed the RAM and video card and it still does it
    maybe its the Motherboard or CPU
    PIII 500(not overclocked)
    gigabyte 6CXC-1 motherboard
    256 meg RAM
    32 meg Diamond Viper V770 ultra
    sound blaster live
    windows 98 SE

    please help me
    thank you

    Lian Li PC65
    Soyo Dragon+
    XP 1800+
    Alpha 8045
    Mushkin 512 High Perf PC2100
    Gainward GF3 Ti200
    Viewsonic PF790
    SB Live! X-Gamer Audigy 5.1
    Cambridge DTT2200
    120GB WD 8mb 7200rpm HDD
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    LiteOn 24x burner
    3COM ext 56K

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    687
    has it always done this, or just resently started

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    262
    i have the same problem and i think its in some way heat related. my computer used to that then stoped and now started doing it again but the weird part is that now it does that during file transfer over the network. i have no clue what the hell is going on ???

    By the way i'm running P3 650 @804, Abit BX6 256M ram viper 770 SBL

    [This message has been edited by Marek88 (edited 11-11-2000).]
    Estimated time it will take me to fix your computer:
    If you leave - 15 min
    If you watch - 1hour
    If you help - 3hours

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    687
    Marek, I believe yours is heat related or, more likely, that your PCI or ISA bus speeds are outta spec.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Miami, FL USA
    Posts
    182
    soniclos it just started doing this about a couple of months ago
    i am getting a new CPU fan and a slot fan also and gettin a new 300w power supply for my Enlight case

    any other ideas??
    u guy dont think its the motherboard??
    Lian Li PC65
    Soyo Dragon+
    XP 1800+
    Alpha 8045
    Mushkin 512 High Perf PC2100
    Gainward GF3 Ti200
    Viewsonic PF790
    SB Live! X-Gamer Audigy 5.1
    Cambridge DTT2200
    120GB WD 8mb 7200rpm HDD
    Pioneer 16x DVD
    LiteOn 24x burner
    3COM ext 56K

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Panamá
    Posts
    448
    mine do that sometimes but don't know why... but i still think that is my old 2year 245watt power supply

    old system hp pavilion (1998) win98 se
    pentium233 mmx, 192mb pc66, hp mobo, ati 8mb, diamond mx300, 3com 56k modem, lg 24x cdrom, lg 24x4x4x cdrw, 245watt power supply

    current system (2000) win me
    athlon 800, 128mb pc100, gigabyte 71xe, v3 2k agp, diamond mx300, 3com n' aopen 56k modem (for double connection), real magic h+, lg 8x dvd, lg 24x4x4x cdrw, same "now old" 245watt power supply

    the other day i only diconnected from the net n' it restarted by it self.. n' scandisk appear like if i have done a bad shut down..

    what u think could be??? is my power supply or what???
    n' something else my ps throw very hot air..
    i have touch the back from a friend pc n' the air from the power supply is not hot.. is like normal temperature..

    suggestions!!

    thank's

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    476
    My puter restarts itself when it just boots up, then after a while, stops, go figure.

    ------------------
    Drakion

    Athlon 750@750, 128MB PC100, 10.2 + 2.1GB HDDs, External Zip100, 24x CD-Rom, 17" Monitor, Creative GeForce 2 MX DDR, SB Live!Value

    Drakion@hotmail.com
    Drakion has recently had his computer go down the drain, and has ended up with a P4.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    955
    Stop pressing the reset button.
    Athlon XP 3200+, TT Silent Boost (its rubbish as well as loud) Gigabyte nForce2 mobo (stable but lacks tweaking options), GF4 Ti4200 128mb, Lian-Li V2000

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    262
    My damn dog must be pressing the reset button when hes sniffing around or something

    Estimated time it will take me to fix your computer:
    If you leave - 15 min
    If you watch - 1hour
    If you help - 3hours

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 1999
    Location
    Mesa, AZ 85210
    Posts
    1,268
    Well it heat related for sure cause new CPU's have heat sensors in the if they reach curten temp they will turn them selfs or restart PC so they dont fry or its the motherboards anyways i know this cause i was testing my 600MHZ Duron @ 1Ghz without the fan just to see how high the temp will go and it reached 60C and the PC restarted so no need to wory! Just get some better cooling and you will be fine!
    Alex D

    ------------------
    WTF?? I am just trying to help OK!
    The Real Power IS UNDER THE TOWER OF POWER
    check it out! http://www.fortunecity.com/skyscraper/save/23/index.htm

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    476
    My puter runs at 55C normally....

    ------------------
    Drakion

    Athlon 750@750, 128MB PC100, 10.2 + 2.1GB HDDs, External Zip100, 24x CD-Rom, 17" Monitor, Creative GeForce 2 MX DDR, SB Live!Value

    Drakion@hotmail.com
    Drakion has recently had his computer go down the drain, and has ended up with a P4.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    201
    Originally posted by serb2:
    i was testing my 600MHZ Duron @ 1Ghz without the fan just to see how high the temp will go
    Wow! You're one very courageous fellow!


  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    I've had this happen recently with WIN-2000 and WIN-ME machines. With the WIN-2000 units I suspected heat, and logging on as a user after first boot. Then one of the power supplies on a WIN-ME unit failed completely, so I replaced it with a Quality unit and no probs yet. That leads me to believe that inexpensive( CHEAP!) units fluxuate in their output range causing the hardware to freak out!

    Anything approaching near 50 deg. cel. in temp. may cause this in any machine as well. Those of you with Quality PSU's may not suffer from this problem.

    One last thing, virus' can cause auto reboot problems...sometimes to embed themselves...others cause "Looping" which causes almost a multiple reboot situation.



    ___________________________________________________________

    serb2:

    even at 600 your duron will overheat without the fan, let alone 1000...very scientific !

    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

    [This message has been edited by DoctorFoxx (edited 11-12-2000).]
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Panamá
    Posts
    448
    mine stay at
    cpu temp 49°
    sys temp 53°


  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    saugus, MA, USA
    Posts
    23
    when i set my MB to 83 fsb, it randomly restarted itself during a game...its overload or heat related defanitely. Check if its really warm inside the computer, if it is, id suggest more fans.

    ------------------
    Pentium1 233MMX @ 266Mhz (jesus..so sad)
    64 SIMM RAM (EDO)
    voodoo3 3000
    SONY cd-rom
    Biostar mb-8500TTD motherboard
    www.geocities.com/silentscope21/computer.html
    ^ pics of my computer
    Pentium1 233MMX @ 266Mhz (jesus..so sad)
    64 SIMM RAM (EDO)
    voodoo3 3000
    SONY cd-rom
    Biostar mb-8500TTD motherboard
    www.geocities.com/silentscope21/computer.html
    ^ pics of my computer

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •