Another reason not to run with your casing off...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Another reason not to run with your casing off...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    135

    Another reason not to run with your casing off...

    This afternoon when I entered my room, there was this burning smell and i immediately knew something was wrong...
    Traced the smell to the computer and found it down and no matter how I tried, it refused to switch on...
    I then checked everything and felt that the psu was hot to touch...
    swapped another psu and my systems back to normal...
    when taken apart,i found that the psu fan was stuck with dust, which i figured jammed the fan and caused it to overheat, burnin something until the circuit broke...
    lessons to be learnt...
    1)never run with the cover off...even when i do not need additional cooling, the excessive dust will screw up some important part...
    2)the next time you hear some whirring noise coming from the fans, never dismiss them...I actually poked the fan with a screwdriver to make the sound go away...take the fan apart and check whats wrong!!!
    3)never underestimate the importance of a fan...I was lucky only the psu blew...it could have been much worse...

    now I have to save $70 to get a 350W,or even $110 to get a 450W enermax psu...

    ------------------
    P3 733@825 under a golden orb...
    Via6vx7-4x...
    64Mb PC-133...
    Creative GeForce Pro 32Mb DDR @ 150/355...
    Creative Sound Blaster Live!...
    Creative Infra 52x CD-ROM...
    LG 8x4x32x CD-RW...
    IBM 10.2 Gb HD...
    Motorola 56k Internal modem...
    Hauppage WinTV PCI...

    [This message has been edited by Fong (edited 11-06-2000).]
    P3 700@933 under HHC-001+60-80mm Adapter+TT Duct Mod+Enermax 80mm
    Jetwell 694 AS
    512Mb Kingston PC-133...
    ATI Radeon 8500 275 Mhz...
    Sound Blaster Audigy...
    16X ASUS DVD Rom...
    48x16x48 Samsung 8Mb buffer...
    Maxtor 20Gb...
    IBM 80Gb...
    2 Mbps Cable...
    Hauppage WinTV PCI...
    430W Antec TruePower PSU...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    VANCOUVER, WA USA
    Posts
    1,564
    Oh the number of threads created to "case on/off."

    Most relate to exactly what you've experienced, and may I express my condolences on your loss.

    Dust is evil, evil I say.

    You know, even with the case on, it's still important to keep up with the housekeeping with periodic aerating.

    ------------------
    Scott
    dfilANPARTY ut 250gb a64 3200 @ 2.52 (280 ht x 9) 2 X 512 g.sKILL PC4000 gIGABYTE 6800 gt
    Antec 430 truepower 2 Maxtor ATA133 8 MB cache Acer 52X Lite-On 1633s DVD-RW TB Santa Cruz - FPS surround LS120 O/B NIC Antec 1080 case

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester,England
    Posts
    201
    I totally Agree.

    Dust kills remember Pompai

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    I run case off but the computer is 3 feet off the ground. Heres how I am preserving my PSU. I have an Enermax 330Watt that has an intake and an outake fan. The intake is on the bottom and the out take is on the side where most fans are. I took it out of the case and proped it up on 4 bottle caps. That way, air goes into the intake fan, but dust doesn't.

    ------------------
    Sitting here with my red red hat hat for the daily daily show showing.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    77
    bottle caps? lol is there anything they cant do. my comp gets so dusty and i dont take the case of all the time or anything like that, but recently i opened it up and the hold side was covered in about a quarter inch of dust, (good thing i checked)

    ------------------
    AMD-K6 300, 64 meg ram, phoenix bios 4.0 release 6,ATI pro graphics card (atim64-VT)
    AMD-K6 300, 64 meg ram, phoenix bios 4.0 release 6,ATI pro graphics card (atim64-VT)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    135
    ain't there ways to prevent, or at least minimise the amount of dust that is entering the system?
    i don't even have any intake fans, otherwise i would have fitted them with dust fiters...

    btw, i remember seeing enermax psu's havin two fans, one sucking and another for blowing...i think i'll fit the sucking fan with filters when i get an enermax...
    but even then, it only prevents dust from getting into the psu...

    its just that Im thinking of building a fully fully see throu case, but whats there to see if the interiors are full of unsightly dust layers?

    anyone have any smart ideas?
    P3 700@933 under HHC-001+60-80mm Adapter+TT Duct Mod+Enermax 80mm
    Jetwell 694 AS
    512Mb Kingston PC-133...
    ATI Radeon 8500 275 Mhz...
    Sound Blaster Audigy...
    16X ASUS DVD Rom...
    48x16x48 Samsung 8Mb buffer...
    Maxtor 20Gb...
    IBM 80Gb...
    2 Mbps Cable...
    Hauppage WinTV PCI...
    430W Antec TruePower PSU...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    9
    Fong, doesn't vacuuming the room regularly minimize dust?

    [This message has been edited by ckarnie (edited 11-07-2000).]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    duluth,mn. usa
    Posts
    653
    I run with the side of my case off, but do regular cleaning . I pull all the fans out and clean them and also clean fins on HS. You just have to keep an eye on it. Also, FONG you will love the Enermax PS. I got the 450W from Plycon for $99.95 + shipping. It's a piece of art!

    ------------------
    All good things come to those who wait!!!!
    All good things come to those who wait!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    508
    Wasn't filtering mentioned here a couple of days ago?

    Seems a good solution if you have some real trouble with dust! Just place a filter infront of your fan(s)..

    Does this make sense?

    ------------------
    Fast, Faster, WooHoO!!!
    Fast, Faster, WooHoO!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Iceland, we are also people, you know
    Posts
    110
    Originally posted by warhorse:
    I run case off but the computer is 3 feet off the ground. Heres how I am preserving my PSU. I have an Enermax 330Watt that has an intake and an outake fan. The intake is on the bottom and the out take is on the side where most fans are. I took it out of the case and proped it up on 4 bottle caps. That way, air goes into the intake fan, but dust doesn't.

    i have got mine hanging in mid air

    ------------------
    www.izelord.com
    If it is too loud you are too old!
    try pressing the anykey

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •