New system...media stuff locks up!!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New system...media stuff locks up!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    97

    New system...media stuff locks up!!!

    I just got my system hooked up and everything installed just fine...no problems at all.

    System:
    Abit KT7 100
    Duron 700 (not oc)
    128 generic PC100
    All in Wonder Radeon 32MB
    Monster Sound MX300
    Diamond 56K Voice Modem
    45GB Western Digital ata/66
    Prime Peripheral 8x DVD/32x CD
    Windows ME

    I have used the ATI DVD player with hardware decoding but it freezes much quicker. I used WinDVD 2000 and that plays for a few minutes then freezes. WTF!!!

    Observation: I tried two DVDs. Terminator one (old DVD and Matrix which is newer type), The Terminator plays longer than the Matrix. I am talking about 5 minutes of play time and less. Also, media player locksup frequently, within seconds of program startup. I tried mp3 and it freezes computer.

    What the hell is going on? Do I have some settings wrong? DMA is enabled in hard drive and DVD. I had a BP6 with Celeron 466 oc to 582 and DVDs played flawlessly in that machine. I need help!!!

    HELP!!!!

    Phil
    [Chaintech 7JNS] nForce2
    2100XP "B"@2500 (12.5x200) 2.15v
    PNY Ti4200 128MB 8X (285/582) (14,097)
    Corsair XMS 3200CL2 256MBx2 PC3200 2-3-3-6
    DD Maze3 H2O+Rad
    WD800JB & WD400BBx2
    Mx120GB
    Pioneer DVD 16X
    Lite-On CDRW 52x24x52
    Chieftec (450W)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    123
    I've heard several reports of this type of behaviour with Windows ME, If you can try running Win98 SE and see if that makes any difference.

    GreyArea.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Try disabling DMA to both HDD and DVD-ROM and see if your results improve. After that try disabling your sound and see if you can play without sound.

    Did you check for newest drivers on your sound card and AIW? Perhaps a firmware flash on the DVD?

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    97
    the DMA thing didn't work but I will try the updates...

    This sucks!

    [This message has been edited by Hundasport (edited 11-03-2000).]
    [Chaintech 7JNS] nForce2
    2100XP "B"@2500 (12.5x200) 2.15v
    PNY Ti4200 128MB 8X (285/582) (14,097)
    Corsair XMS 3200CL2 256MBx2 PC3200 2-3-3-6
    DD Maze3 H2O+Rad
    WD800JB & WD400BBx2
    Mx120GB
    Pioneer DVD 16X
    Lite-On CDRW 52x24x52
    Chieftec (450W)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Posts
    44
    I had the same problem on a KT7 board.Everytime I tryed to play games or media player it would lockup.Try accessing directx to see if it locks up there.If it does it is more than likely hardware acceleration.If you can turn hardware acceleration down and the problem goes away try reinstalling your video drivers.Thats what worked for me no more lockups.Be sure hardware acceleration is turned back up before you reinstall drivers.Hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Posts
    97
    I was tinkering on one time and pulled all cards out one by one besides the AIW Radeon and found that my sound card, MX300, was the culprit! Somehow it locks it up??? Diamond doesn't have any new drivers for this sound card and the ATI is latest release for Win ME. I think maybe direct x???

    I ran WinDVD 2000 and it runs great but ATI DVD player won't run w/o a sound card. I tried the TV tuner and it works but after some still captures, Windows locks up but TV still works!?? Still shows broadcast that I was watching. WTF! I tried this a few times and same thing happens. What the hell is wrong? I didn't spend $330 to have a plain video card!

    I will try turn down accelleration option...there's got to be something else? Any ideas about the sound card? Address? IRQs?

    Can those of you please post what your system have installed? Thanks a bunch!

    Phil
    [Chaintech 7JNS] nForce2
    2100XP "B"@2500 (12.5x200) 2.15v
    PNY Ti4200 128MB 8X (285/582) (14,097)
    Corsair XMS 3200CL2 256MBx2 PC3200 2-3-3-6
    DD Maze3 H2O+Rad
    WD800JB & WD400BBx2
    Mx120GB
    Pioneer DVD 16X
    Lite-On CDRW 52x24x52
    Chieftec (450W)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •