56k, isdn, adsl, ? what should i get
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 56k, isdn, adsl, ? what should i get

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    durham/england
    Posts
    20

    56k, isdn, adsl, ? what should i get

    i cant get adsl in my area and my modem is a bit slow, what is isdn like compared to a 56k modem and is it worth the extra money

    ------------------
    celly 2 600
    abit be62
    128 meg pc 100
    geforce ddr
    celly 2 600
    abit be62
    128 meg pc 100
    geforce ddr

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Pompey, S. England...
    Posts
    86
    Howdy! I don't think that ISDN isn't really worth the money - about 40 isn't it? For that you basically get two phone lines in one (128k supposedly), so about twice the speed - sounds good but I really don't think that exciting. Have you checked to see if cable is available? Try www.ntl.com and tap in your postcode - could get a good deal on phone and TV too.
    IMHO ISDN is on the way out as ADSL is in the wings (COME ON BT!) waiting to come out. Really not worth the set up cost for ISDN, only to pay even more in a few more months when you decide that ADSL is just too tempting...
    Your choice though!

    ------------------
    Wonder what happens when I flick this dip swi.....
    All silicone-chips were created equal... except some which were more equal than others.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    DSL all the way.



    ------------------
    Overclocker's Network www.overclockers-network.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    51
    USB 56k modem rocks.

  5. #5
    i agree isdn isnt worth it. i use a cable modem and i love it. i remember when it first came out i had to wait for it to become available here. it was worth the wait.


    [This message has been edited by p3d (edited 10-30-2000).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    DSL!

    ------------------
    what?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    OC12!
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    I'm going out on a limb here-- but I'm guessing that's out of his price range...


    ------------------
    what?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    493
    ISDN costs in the installation, but calls are the same. You will incure 2 call charges if yo uuse bonded( ie 128K) .
    At single channle 64k its twice as fast as 56K. plus logging onto your isp takes about 2-3secs.
    I have ISDN, as I cannot get ADSL or cable in my area yet. I am not tied to a contract, but will have to pay to have the line converted back to analog to get ADSL next year.
    Not a big concern, since as a stop-gap Im very happy with 64k. lose 100-150ms off ping times ( normaly 250ms max to most) and can be used with BT's free number, or any ISP's offer.
    was it worth it?.
    Damn right, i have spent fortunes switching ISP's and modems, should have got ISDN a long time ago. Now I have been bitten by the bandwidth bug, I will never go back to 56k, but for now can only dream of having more speed now.
    Man 56k sucks

    ------------------
    ----------->
    I have a PC, and its got a printer....
    My PC has an attitude problem, alright!...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •