dual moniters
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dual moniters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    reno, nevada, us
    Posts
    162

    dual moniters

    DO I NEED A SPECIAL TYPE ON MONITER TO DO DUAL MONITERING?

    I HAVE A GEFORCE 2 MX DUAL HEAD AND I WANT TO USE IT!!!

    ------------------
    Funny how thing's are found to cause cancer in lab rat's in califorina but no where else!!
    Funny how thing's are found to cause cancer in lab rat's in califorina but no where else!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    852
    eeehhh...
    am i drunk or what? What happends if you ya put a monitor in the other monitor d-sub??

    ------------------
    If ya not on the edge, ya take up too much space...
    ugh!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Nope, there are no special requirements for it... all you need are two working monitors and that should be just fine.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    One of the outputs could be for a digital output such as an LCD display.

    If your normal monitor fits in it, then just get a second CRT monitor.
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Starkville,Ms.USA
    Posts
    15
    in windows do you need 2 of the same video cards? or dual head? do 2 different video cards work such as an agp geforce and something cheap on pci? What about linux?

    ------------------
    This is Linux Country
    On a quiet night, you can hear Windows Nt reboot.
    This is Linux Country
    On a quiet night, you can hear Windows Nt reboot.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    It'll work any which way... dual head, two vodeocards, one built in to the motherboard and one PCI or AGP. Any which way you want to go Windows will allow it. Except I guess on some very special cases.

    I don't know about Linux.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Starkville,Ms.USA
    Posts
    15
    cool, i think i need to dig up an old video and hook up another monitor.

    ------------------
    This is Linux Country
    On a quiet night, you can hear Windows Nt reboot.
    This is Linux Country
    On a quiet night, you can hear Windows Nt reboot.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Paris
    Posts
    1,776
    If you're looking for complete dual monitor functionality, you'll be disappointed by what the GF2 MXs can do. They basically only have the clone and desktop extension functions, and even then what you can put on the extended desktop in very limited.

    If you want the best in dual monitor action, you need a Matrox G400, otherwise a standard PCI video card.

    ------------------
    Get away from that cow, she belongs to me, she my dinner!!
    .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •