Voltage adjustment on slocket isn't right
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Voltage adjustment on slocket isn't right

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495

    Voltage adjustment on slocket isn't right

    I have an MSI 6905 Master slocket w/P3700@933 on a Soyo 6BA+4. With the voltage on the slocket set to auto(1.65) I can set the votage to 1.79 VIA the BIO's voltage adjustment. I want to get to 1.85 but everytime I set the slocket jumpers to anything over 1.65(w/voltage set to normal in the Bio's) it sets the voltage to 2.06. I've tried it at several settings 1.70,1.75,1.80,1.85 and they all set it at 2.06.

    Am I missing something here or is the slocket not functioning properly? I haven't noticed any other problems with it.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    If memory serves me well I know that the Soyo motherboards could only handle voltage adjustments in percent.

    Almost everyone I know here from Hardware Central puts their Slocket Cards to Auto and just uses the motherboards built in BIOS to increase voltage. The Soyo's however can't get past a certain voltage because of the way it was done.

    You're going to have to set your card to Auto and just push the voltage as high as you can without hitting 2.0 Volts.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    Yes, the voltage adjustments are 2.5%,5%,7.5% and 10%. Using the bio's voltage adjustments at the default voltage I can only reach 1.79.
    I thought you could adjust the voltage on the slocket and then adjust up in the bio's from that point for easy small voltage changes.

    I want to run this chip at 1.85.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    Well, it works with the Iwill Slotket II. That's how I got the core to 1.89V on my Soyo SY-6BA+IV board. I just set the slotket jumpers to 1.75V and upped the core by 7.5% in the BIOS. Without that capability, my PIII 700 would not have gotten to 970 MHz. Sounds like a defective slotket to me.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    Thanks again Dave.

    Have you flashed the bio's on your board? I was just wondering if it gave afew extra FSB settings.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    I've flashed it a couple of times. Mostly to get the updated Highpoint BIOS. No new FSBs, it pretty much has all I can use anyway. Still rock stable at 970 MHz, but 1011 MHz works for Windows stuff but won't cut it for any 3D apps.

    But you don't have to do any of that stuff Toolbox is talking about, you just need a new slotket. I can vouch for the Iwill, but there's quite a few good ones out there.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Posts
    1,495
    Can someone link me somewhere reliable that I can get an Iwill slotket 2. All the places I like to deal with don't sell it.
    KilrB's PC
    Abit NF7-S Rev2
    XP2100+ @ 200x11.5 2300Mhz
    512MB Corsair XMS Platnium PC3200 Ultra Low Latency CAS222
    Tyan Tachyon G9700 Pro w/Zalman ZM80a-HP Heatpipe
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz

    "Fat, Drunk and Stupied is now way to go threw life Son!" Quote: Dean Wormer.... Animal House

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •