Opinions/Suggestions please - My next system.....
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Opinions/Suggestions please - My next system.....

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126

    Opinions/Suggestions please - My next system.....

    Iíve started collecting parts for my next system. Here is a run down of my preliminary layout:

    Full Tower Case w/300w PS
    Blowholes and other fans for the cooling!
    ABIT KT7 Raid mobo
    Duron 600 (Unlocked hopefully at 900!)
    ALPHA PAL6035 Heatsink/Fan
    256mb PC133 Micron CAS2
    (1) Western Digital ATA66 10.2GB HDD (5400rpm)
    (2) Maxtor ATA100 20GB HDD (7200rpm)
    HP 9110I Burner 8x4x32
    Memorex 48x CD-Rom
    ATI All-in Wonder 32mb AGP
    Zip 100
    SB Live Value
    56k Creative Modem Blaster

    I will be using this for Photoshop, 3D Text rendering (GIF format), light gaming, and video editing.
    Iím a little lost on the video card, I plan on feeding in video from Camcorder/VCR and doing some light editing. With that in mind, do you think the ATI All-in-Wonder will be a good choice?
    I want to be able to do light gaming as well with good frame rates, but I donít need anything super fast. My main games are Motocross Madness 2 and Foresaken, but I want to be able to play Q3 and UT smoothly as well.
    Let me know what you think! Do you see any problems/conflicts in this set up? Any suggestions will be appreciated!
    TIA!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    the AWI 128 isnt the best card for gaming, but if you only game lightly, it should be adequate for what you want.

    get a AWI radeon if you have money.

    ------------------
    Visit my website!
    look for me on AIM as gosanjose or on ICQ as #46997155

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Posts
    115
    i dont know much about ATI vid cards; i pretty much stick with nvidia and 3dfx chipsets (all games, no graphic editing for me), but why the 10gb 5400 rpm hd? the rest of the system looks good, except that seemed a little out of place next to the twice as big and faster hd next to it. you could just get a 30gb 7200 rpm drive...

    ------------------
    Relax, it's only ones and zeros
    Relax, it's only ones and zeros

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    493
    Does that mean you intend to buy 2 HD's?
    If so get two identical ATA100's and use the Raid.

    if you wanta AIW, wait for the Radeon version, should be comming soon..
    My PC has an attitude problem, alright!...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    duluth,mn. usa
    Posts
    653
    AMDnut, I just got the Raedon 64 DDR VIVO for my system , it does a great job. Love the graphics. Capture works very well also. I believe that the only thing the AIW has thats different is the TV tuner. I also think that Matrox will be coming out with a G450TV . Do lots of checking things out, as I'am sure you will. Ps, still pissing with my raedon to see what it does,but on the capture part and editing, a great editing suite is most important. If I come across anything I think that you might be interested in I'll let you know. Good Luck. Mark

    ------------------
    All good things come to those who wait!!!!
    All good things come to those who wait!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    egg - The 10.2GB Western Digital is an existing drive that I already have laying around. I'll replace it at a later date. I'll stick it on the IDE channel away from the RAID array. It does perform pretty good though......

    Jesstar - Yes, I plan on buying (2) identical ATA100 7200rpm drives. I'm hearing a lot of bad things about Maxtors so I'll probably switch to Western Digital's or IBM's.....

    ebok - Thanks for the info, seems like the Radeon is the way to go from what I hear. I'll look real hard at those. Post info when you can! Thanks!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Santa Clara, CA / Baltimore, MD USA
    Posts
    1,992
    dump the memorex cd if you dont have it yet. get a plextor or something if you have the change.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    I already have a Memorex CD laying around, otherwise I would get something different!

    I just found a Mid-Tower case with a "Deer" 300w power supply for $65 at the local shop. It has (4) 5.25 bays and (3) 3.5 bays so I think I'll go that route rather than the full Tower........

    ------------------
    http://members.tripod.com/athlon100/index.htm]AMDnut's Tech Page
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    587
    Wouldn't P3 or Thunderbird be better for image/video editing?

    ------------------
    K6-2 450Mhz, 188meg SDRAM, 10GB HD, Voodoo3 2000, SB Live! Value, 3COM EtherLink XL TPO 10mbps NIC, Netgear FA310TX 10/100mbps NIC, Klipsch Pro-Media v.2-400, Artec UM520 COMBO mouse, Logitech Deluxe 104 keyboard.
    P3 700e FCPGA @ 966Mhz w/ Alpha PAL35t
    ASUS CUV4X
    ElanVital T-10ab Case
    KingMax PC150 cas2 HSDRAM
    IBM Deskstar 75GXP 30GB ATA100
    Asus v7700 Geforce2 GTS 32MB Pure
    SB Live! Value
    ViewSonic PF790 19"
    Klipsch Pro-Media v.2-400
    Netgear FA310TX 100mbps NIC
    MS InteliMouse Epxlorer
    MS Internet Keyboard PRO

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    BFE, SC, USA
    Posts
    1,083
    I'm running with 3 maxtor hdd's - each is 30G ata/100 (7200). I haven't had any problems - not so much as a hiccup.

    ------------------
    wdeep@sccoast.net

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    605
    AMDnut,

    I have the "Deer" 300w PS. No problems so far. Sorry, I didn't know if you were looking for a comment on that or not.


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    1 suggestion about Duron/T-Bird systems, they are far more picky on power then similar PIII systems. Get the best you can afford. Few PSUs that are bundled with cases can take the demands of an overclocked Duron/T-Bird @ 1.85 volts. I'm running my T-Bird 800 @ 1.1GHz w/1.85 volts with a Enermax 430 watt PSU.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    May I suggest..."TRANS"..."ME-TA"....and some Grey Poupon ?

    SMASHING BABY !!!

    (Just Kiddin')
    My take is this:

    The Radeon 64 DDR VIVO
    Replace the DURON asap with Tbird 1000
    Treat yourself to a 400 watt power sup.

    Here is the prob I see:

    If your trying to be cost effective by using a DURON initially thats great, but not the best for wacking the snot out of large image files. Since the RADEON will wack the snot out of you wallet, your going to pump the veins of the DURON requiring a MULTI-FAN operation as you noted....so if you make only one change, up the power supply to 400 watts.





    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •