Newer harddrive on 486 sytem is this possible?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Newer harddrive on 486 sytem is this possible?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Terborg, The Netherlands
    Posts
    691

    Newer harddrive on 486 sytem is this possible?

    ive got an 4,3 gig quantum fireball se hd as a spare one. im building my dad a 486 dx4 100 system so i thought i could use the old hd, but when i started up the comp. the hd wouldnt work, when i put in the 500mb hd which i got with the sytem it started normally.

    Do i have to change some things in the bios or is it impossible to use a newer hd in a old 486 sytem?

    thanks

    ------------------
    K6-3 400 2,4V @ 448 2,5V CPUidle Epox mvp3c2 128 megs v3 2000 pci @ 170 mhz Quantum 4,3g + Seagate 20,4g Soundblaster Live 1024 HP 9110
    1400 TB @ 1350
    MSI K7T pro II
    896MB PC 133
    GF 2MX400 64MB
    Seagate 20,4G 7200RPM
    IBM 80G 7200RPM
    Soundblaster Live! 1024
    HP 9110 (8x4x32x)
    A-open 52x
    17" Fujitsu Siemens C791

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Posts
    45
    Old systems have partitionlimits. DOS-based systems have 2Gig limit/partition. And some old BIOSes donīt support big drives. Other thing that might be incompatible is DMA.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    Standard IDE controllers (which is most likely to be the type of IDE controller present in a 486 based system) cannot handle harddrives larger than 548mb (or somewhere around that size). For that you need an Enhanced IDE controller, EIDE for short. I put in an ISA EIDE controller in mine(Promise of course which could support up to two 8.4gb drives.
    Dual 8.4gb drives would be pretty cool to have when everyone else was using max 500mb I only had two 280mb disks in mine(DX2/66 32mb)though :/ used the EIDE controller for my 8x CDrom.

    If you can find an old ISA or PCI EIDE controller (assuming the motherboard is one of the few that has PCI slots) for a decent price, that's the way to go.
    Carpe noctem!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    363
    No problem for it bro

    What you need to do is to partition it with DISK MANAGER (by ONTRACK Data International, Inc.) You can get that software from the Harddisk Manufacturer Website (for example, DiscWizard (TM) from Seagate Technology, Inc.)

    ------------------
    cyanosis
    cyanosis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Terborg, The Netherlands
    Posts
    691
    so it looks like i cant use the 4,3gigger, what a petty. But can i use my cdrom player in it a-open 32X ? or is it also too fast?

    thanks for the reactions so far.

    ------------------
    K6-3 400 2,4V @ 448 2,5V CPUidle Epox mvp3c2 128 megs v3 2000 pci @ 170 mhz Quantum 4,3g + Seagate 20,4g Soundblaster Live 1024 HP 9110
    1400 TB @ 1350
    MSI K7T pro II
    896MB PC 133
    GF 2MX400 64MB
    Seagate 20,4G 7200RPM
    IBM 80G 7200RPM
    Soundblaster Live! 1024
    HP 9110 (8x4x32x)
    A-open 52x
    17" Fujitsu Siemens C791

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    363
    You [b]can[b] use it man! I mean the Harddisk and so the CDR. I managed to set a Quantum 10 GB to my cousin 486 before, using a Maxtor Easy Drive software (ezdrive). What you need to do is to download the software from your harddisk manufacturer and partition it using that software. The software will make the 486 recognise harddisk greater than 512 MB



    ------------------
    cyanosis
    cyanosis

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •