Cray on ebay... Who's got $35k handy?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cray on ebay... Who's got $35k handy?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930

    Cray on ebay... Who's got $35k handy?

    http://triblive.com/business/cray0902.html

    Come on, guys, 12 Teraflops? I can finally run Solitaire!
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    Tetris...... yes just what I need for my fav game of all times

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    265
    What do i want that hunk o junk for my spectrum was faster 16 1 gigaflop processors

    hah!!!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Nah, buy it to run SETI!

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Well letsee... each SETI unit requires 1.5 Teraflops.... so thats 8 WUs per second... nothing much
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Purdue University
    Posts
    899
    It's not 12 Teraflops, crackheads. IBM's fastest supercomputer only manages 6, and this cray is 6 or more years old!
    "There are only two things that are infinite: the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Yea yea.. I can't read..UPS lost my hooked on phonics package
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    34
    And you'll need a massive watertower in your garden if your even want to think about OC'ing it, Or to even run if memory serves me correctly.

    ------------------
    System Spec
    Celeron 433@487Mhz 6.5x75Mhz
    64Mb PC100 RAM
    PC Chips 726MRT with onboard Sound & Modem(Disabled)
    Matrox Millenium G400 16Mb
    Realtek 8029AS 10Mb NIC
    Fujitsu 13.2Gb IDE HD
    Fujitsu 230Mb IDE MO Drive
    BCD 40x IDE CD-ROM
    HP 7500+ IDE CD-RW
    Cherry Keyboard with Credit card reader built in.
    MS Intellimouse Explorer USB
    USB Hub
    2 Wharfdale Linton 3XP HiFi Speakers
    EYE 920ATX Full Tower case
    5 Case fans

    Sounds like a hovercraft at takeoff.

    Toby Commander
    toby@commander.clara.net
    System Spec
    Celeron 433@487Mhz 6.5x75Mhz
    64Mb PC100 RAM
    PC Chips 726MRT with onboard Sound & Modem(Disabled)
    Matrox Millenium G400 16Mb
    Realtek 8029AS 10Mb NIC
    Fujitsu 13.2Gb IDE HD
    Fujitsu 230Mb IDE MO Drive
    BCD 40x IDE CD-ROM
    HP 7500+ IDE CD-RW
    Standard AT Keyboard
    MS Intellimouse Explorer USB
    USB Hub
    2 Wharfdale Linton 3XP HiFi Speakers
    EYE 920ATX Full Tower case
    5 Case fans
    1 Gel Air Freshner

    Sounds like a hovercraft at takeoff.

    Toby Commander
    toby@commander.clara.net

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •