SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY, AT THE...oh wait...It's Wednesday (Project 1GHz)
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY, AT THE...oh wait...It's Wednesday (Project 1GHz)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584

    SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY, AT THE...oh wait...It's Wednesday (Project 1GHz)

    Well...I just got my GFD and tonight I'm gonna see if I can hit a GHz. I'm using air cooling, an Alpha P125 with 60mm Delta fans.

    Will keep ya updated.

    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    In front of my computer
    Posts
    294
    Want(Need is'nt the word) more info. Post some pics! Pleeze!

    ------------------
    My other OS is a Linux
    Windows:

    Windows Is Not Demented, Overrated Sh!t

    (stupid 200 chars max...)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    In front of my computer
    Posts
    294
    Want(Need is'nt the word) more info. Post some pics! Pleeze!

    ------------------
    My other OS is a Linux
    Windows:

    Windows Is Not Demented, Overrated Sh!t

    (stupid 200 chars max...)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Woops...heh...sorry...my bad...

    I was so eager to get to it

    I have an Athlon 700 on an Abit KA7-100. I got the 700 back in January, so I'm guessing it has probably a 700 core(I didn't want to remove the heat transfer plate to check it)

    And at the moment I'm a 700@800MHz.



    Now goin' for 900...
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Tried to from 800 to 900, wouldn't POST completely. Tried 850 and it wouldn't go past the "Verifying DMI Pool Data..." message.

    In both cases I tried increasing the voltage of 1.65 to 1.70, then 1.75. Same results.

    I'm going to try a few more things...maybe increasing the voltage a little more.

    Will keep ya updated.

    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Alright! I got 850 with no prob once I changed the cache divider from the default 1/2 to 2/5.

    Pic:



    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    900MHz would not comletely POST at the default core voltage of 1.65. I tried 1.7, and it almost fully loaded my Windows desktop and startup programs before it froze. I set it at 1.75, and BAM!

    I'm running 700@900 right now:



    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Keep it coming...
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Could not hit 950 at the previous settings. I tried upping the core voltage to 1.80 and 1.85, both froze once they got to my desktop.

    Do I need to adjust the I/O voltage? Would that help with anything?

    Also, how much voltage is too much voltage?

    Awaiting an answer...

    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    I would go up to 1.9 and 1.95 to try, sounds like you need more voltage, try upping IO by no more than .1. Dont go past 2 volts core. Sounds like it needs more power I bet you could do it.
    0ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Karachi, Sindh, PAKISTAN
    Posts
    267
    wowoo..... keep it up


    my P3 750 is doing only 840MHz with ALPHA ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    421
    AlbinoPenguin, Knock the I/O up to 3.5 and the core up to 1.85. You are approaching the limits of air-cooling(even with an Alpha) at 1.9v. You'll notice that it wil get very hot, very fast if you set it to 1.9v. I've gone all the way up to 3.6 on my I/O and it works fine. 3.5 is going to be necessary if you want to contimue OCing higher. 3.4 I/O is imaginary on the KA7 since setting it there still yeilds 3.3 in the monitor/BIOS. You are going to want to drop your CAS lat down to 3 if you are running 2, regardless(for testing OCing, it's a must). Later you can bump it back up.
    Leave all the other CPU settings alone as I have found that they really don't make that much of a difference when trying to push OCing.

    Good Luck, and watch those Temps!

    ------------------
    The more I learn, the more I realize I don't know anything at all.

    Visit the "Computers" section of my humble website:
    www.techcomm.net/~mosherup/index.html
    The more I learn, the more I realize I don't know anything at all.

    Visit the "Computers" section of my humble website:Maximum Mollerup

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Workin' on it...but I won't really do much til Friday night/the weekend rolls around. I've got plenty of Algebra II homework left to do...off I go...

    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    VANCOUVER, WA USA
    Posts
    1,564
    Way Cool!!

    I have my week 11 600 w/700 core at 1 Gig - was running 1040 (104 X 10) using GFD, 1.95 vcore - cooling w/ arctic circle on KA7.

    I dropped L2 down to 2/5ths from 1/3rd to run Gig - it is stable.

    Have had problems with BIOS though. Beta 42 is stable, but somewhat slower memory bandwidth than RY(beta) or TY (final), but the damned L2 divider in either RY or TY won't stay locked...pisses me off.

    Anyway, keep plugging: Mine would't go past 850 at first (burn in maybe), then I got up to 900...not further. But a few weeks at 900 and she gave it up.

    ------------------
    Scott
    dfilANPARTY ut 250gb a64 3200 @ 2.52 (280 ht x 9) 2 X 512 g.sKILL PC4000 gIGABYTE 6800 gt
    Antec 430 truepower 2 Maxtor ATA133 8 MB cache Acer 52X Lite-On 1633s DVD-RW TB Santa Cruz - FPS surround LS120 O/B NIC Antec 1080 case

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Edmond, OK, USA
    Posts
    584
    Update:

    Alright. I now have my 700 running at 900, STABLE, with 2/5 cache, 1.75v core, cas@2 and 3.50 I/Ov.

    I find this odd: I can hit 900, but when I try to push it to 950 I fail. But then when I try to go back to 900 at these settings it fails. So then I have to sit at 850 for a day or two then it will let me hit 900 again.

    Some type of burn in maybe?

    I'm gonna let it sit at 900 for a day or two then try to go for 950+.


    ------------------
    Hail Styrofoam!
    Athy 700@950, 1.85v, KA7-100
    Home-built Plexiglas case w/300w p/s
    ATi 64MB Radeon VIVO & All-in-wonder Pro 8MB
    Sound Blaster Live! Platinum w/ Klipsch Promedias
    Pioneer 10X DVD-ROM and Ricoh 8X/4X/32X CD-RW
    IBM 34.2GB 7200RPM hard drive
    256MB Crucial PC-133

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •