AMD K6 II Problem
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: AMD K6 II Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2

    AMD K6 II Problem

    I have a problem overclocking my 500mhz amd k6 2. I have P5A motherboard. For some reason it wont overclock above 550MHz. At the moment it is 525MHz. I have tried changin the voltage and all. But allways the same thing. Computer starts to load windows, then DOS screen appears and it seys "windows protection error at CONFIGMG, restart your computer" or something like that. Tempotures arent high CPU=46 MB=25. Does anyone know what to do?

    ------------------
    Hirven purema voi olla paha

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    First, k6-2s aren't very good overclockers. I have gotten one from 300 to 333 and one from 380 to 450. It seems to me heat IS a problem tho. 46 C is pretty high for a cpu. Try a better heatsink, maybe better case ventilation.
    -ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    I dont think you'll get much more than that, although some have been lucky but not many with 500 or 550's. How accurate the readings are on the Bios is questionable and a variation of up to 5 deg. is possible with the heat.



    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    NB Canada
    Posts
    66
    It also depends on how you are measuring that temperature. If the probe is just attached to the heat sink then the temp at the core is probably higher and hence your problems.

    46 is not that high for a k6-2 but like I said, depends on the accuracy of the reading.
    K6-2's are not known for their overclocking ability.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    From the Overclockers.com database...


    AMD K62-500 Results....

    Total Entries in Database for AMD K62-500 - 157

    Average overclocked speed - 564 Mhz



    [This message has been edited by Maxout (edited 08-25-2000).]
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rapid City SD USA
    Posts
    205
    I have an asusp5ab with a k62 500 that ocs pretty well to 600 mhz. though at first I had to burn in big time. Not a normal burn in either I mean 6 weeks of beating the bloody piss out of this thing. I cranked the voltage up to 2.9 ran 120mhz fsb and a 4 multiplier and ran seti. It stuck around 56-65 degrees and then I cranked it to 100*6 and now it runs normally at 45degrees.
    (Ihave a 6000Btu air conditioner in this huge apartment, so its hard to keep temps down. This last winter in rat about 35-40 and this summer it runs 50-62. yes it gets blasted hot up here, and I constantyl run seti

    Sure people will tell you that volateg was too high or 65 is too hot, but hey ever hear
    nothing ventured,nothing gained?
    You give a man a fish, you feed him for a day.
    You teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime. Chinese Proverb
    OR some comparable advice:
    If you make a mistake once, thats human; If you make the same mistake twice, you're the only fool.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2
    Thanks fellas.
    Going to try a better heatsink... NOT GIVING UP!!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,325
    I got my 450 to 525 on that same mobo. It is a CLASS mobo for overclocking on

    Yeah, buy a new heatsink, it reduces temps considerably.

    If your voltage is at 2.2v (default) stick it up to 2.3 (what mine is at) or 2.4, then O/C it. You want to try raising the FSB as much as possible, as it is that which gives the best speed increases.

    If 2.4 doesn't do it for you, go higher (say about 2.6 max), but WATCH THOSE TEMPS if you're changing the voltage!!!

    I fried a 450 @ 2.9v

    Yeah, you should do well with a good Heatsink.

    Also, is it burned in?? It won't overclock too well till you burn it in. Run some CPU intensive programs non-stop for a couple of days at the default speed (500MHz), then try O/Cing after that.

    Good Luck
    Main PC: A64 3200+ | 1024MB Kingston RAM (Dual Channel) | WD 160GB | Seagate SATA 160GB w/NCQ | Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe | Connect3D ATi X800XL Pci-E | Coolermaster ATC-710 case | Antec NeoPower 480w PSU | Toshiba 27wl46 27" TFT

    HwC member's gallery - Upload your picture here

    Team HwC Folding@Home results - Find out how to sign up here!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    MIAMI, FL, USA
    Posts
    258
    I just wanted to support all the guys that say that your temp is too high. My k6-3 craps out if the temp reaches 110 F so I keep it around room temp with my watercool and it works like a charm. If you can, have a fan circulating new air into your case to help the heatsink fan push cool air onto your heatsink. That should give you a few degrees. Good luck! NEVER GIVE UP!

    ------------------
    AMD K6-3 450 @ 518 (115*4.5) @ 2.7 V watercooled
    Asus P5A-B
    VOODOO 3 2000 @ 183 MHZ
    SBLIVE!
    15.3 GIG 7200 RPM WD ATA 66 + 6.4 GIG 5400 RPM WD ATA 33
    192 MB SDRAM PC100 CAS 2
    HITACHI DVD ROM GD-2500
    7200i HP CDRW
    SRock 939Dual-SATA2 Rev 1.05 OCW Beta 2
    Opteron 165 Denmark at 300*9 @ 1.55 volt
    Memory clock 133
    NB - 800
    SB - 800
    1 GB Samsung DDR400 2.5-3-3-7 1T
    Nvidia FX5900 core 445 memory 891
    Dual fan Aerocool GT-1000 idle 34 C / full 52 C
    Antec 350 Watt X 2
    RAID 0 - 2 * 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM
    MAXTOR 7200 RPM 80 GIG
    SEAGATE 7200 RPM 80 GIG
    Plextor 708A
    Plextor 716A
    Win XP Pro SP2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    The highest i safely overclocked my K6 2 450 was up to 500 mhz 5X100 2.4v with the motherboard i have, a Azza PT-5MVD. I tried to go up to 550 before with a voltage change up to 2.8 but she was running like sh*t so i decided to knock her back down to 500 and bring the Vcore back down to 2.4v. I might just spring for a K6 2 550mhz cpu new in the box, i can get one for $100 with the heatsink and fan, although i already have a heatsink and fan i can always use a double. I can at least knock the 550 up to 600 mhz.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rapid City SD USA
    Posts
    205
    Ive said it before and Ill say it again.
    Why not go with the k62+
    It uses a .18 micros vs .25
    So you get better oc,n and lower temps.
    It also has an L2 cache, which k62s have on the mobo and its 128k and runs at full speed.
    So in essence your k62+ has the reg l1, full speed l2 and on-board l-3. And they run $90 with $10 shipping from vegapc.com
    These chips were made specifically for laptops, so you wont find them in the store down the road, but they are a socket7 and use a voltage of 2.0 volts. there are some mo/bos that dont support them, so check out some of the posts here for compatibility reports-
    You give a man a fish, you feed him for a day.
    You teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime. Chinese Proverb
    OR some comparable advice:
    If you make a mistake once, thats human; If you make the same mistake twice, you're the only fool.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    Who sells them?? Any links? Thanks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    1,978
    I saw the link you had there, thanks. I have to see if it will run on my motherboard.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •