PIII heat limit???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PIII heat limit???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX USA
    Posts
    156

    PIII heat limit???

    I have a PIII 700 and acording to Motherboard monitor it gets up to 36C at the original speed. Does anyone know how hot these CPU's can handle?? I'm using a Asus P3v4x MB. Could there be a problem? I checked the heatsink/fan its an ALpha and it appears to be mounted correctly and working fine. thanks for the help


    ------------------
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    P3 700@1009mhz
    Abit BF-6
    256mb Mushkin pc150
    128mb Micron pc133
    Geforce2 Ultra
    Western Dig 100gig
    Western Dig 250gig
    XP Os

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Okay, first of all, the P3V4X has a problem with the thermal probe. It's never usually correct.

    Secondly, the Coppermine's will run at about 38C on a full load so 36C is still within a good range.

    I'd say you're in danger if you're hitting temps of about 48 - 49C.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX USA
    Posts
    156
    is there anyway to fix the thermal prob problem?? I guess thats cool, SO low 40's would be ok?? Is that the temp according to the thermal probe or the real temp?
    thanks toolbox

    ------------------
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    P3 700@1009mhz
    Abit BF-6
    256mb Mushkin pc150
    128mb Micron pc133
    Geforce2 Ultra
    Western Dig 100gig
    Western Dig 250gig
    XP Os

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    London/Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    376
    I'd personally only be worried if the chip started breaking into the 50's. (Although wouldnt like to run in the high 40's for a long time).
    Dont be worried about 36c, thats fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Get Motherboard Monitor 4.17. With it, the P3V4X usually gives the right temp values.


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Houston, TX USA
    Posts
    156
    I've been using Motherboard monitor 4.18. Is 4.17 better should i look for the older version? I have the server verion running at 1008mhz and it says 33c that just sounds too good to be true. Kind of worries me, but its been perfectly stable.

    ------------------
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    I'm A Genetic Freak!!!
    P3 700@1009mhz
    Abit BF-6
    256mb Mushkin pc150
    128mb Micron pc133
    Geforce2 Ultra
    Western Dig 100gig
    Western Dig 250gig
    XP Os

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    They are similar. 4.18 is slightly newer and supports some newer chips.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •