Micron PC100 @ 140!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Micron PC100 @ 140!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477

    Micron PC100 @ 140!

    I am able to run stable at Cas3, Fast and benched 3,528 3DMarks in 3DM2K. Previously, my best scores were as follows:

    500E @ 667, RAM @ 133, Cas3 Turbo = 3,401
    500E @ 700, RAM @ 106, Cas2 Turbo = 3,451

    My question...is there much of a difference between Cas3 Fast and Cas3 Turbo? 3DM2K locks hard on the 6th test @ Cas3 Turbo

    Any tweaking tips would be appreciated


    ------------------
    Apex MidTower w/250W P/S
    120mm Case Fan X 2
    Tyan Trinity 400, Rev. 4, BIOS 1.07
    FC-PGA 500E @ 700(5 X 140 @ 1.7V)
    MS 6905 Rev. 2 Master Slocket
    Global Win FKP-32
    Micron 128MB PC100 Cas2 SDRAM
    Xentor32 TNT2U @169/185
    15.3GB DiamondMax Plus 40, ATA66, 7200rpm HDD
    SBLive! Value
    FPS-1000


    [This message has been edited by Nuts4GTS (edited 08-19-2000).]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    Ive never heard of these "fast" and "turbo" cas 3 before, but I would bench them both in Sandra mem test to see if there is a real difference.
    -ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    Ive never heard of these "fast" and "turbo" cas 3 before, but I would bench them both in Sandra mem test to see if there is a real difference.
    -ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    Tyan Trinity 400 has RAM settings for SDRAM 10ns, 8ns, Normal, Fast, Turbo, and Auto. I think there may be a couple more, but I am at work now and can't check that. I was just curious if anyone had ever messed with similar settings . My guess is there is a very nominal difference. I will benchmark in SiSoft Sandra to compare scores between both settings .

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    sunny Florida
    Posts
    159
    Nuts:
    I agree with RAM, you need to bench your memory with Sandra and play around a bit.

    I have found that "turbo" is the best BIOS memory speed setting on my Soyo SY6VBA133 (apollo pro 133), probably best on yours as well. Also there are several other BIOS settings which will greatly affect you memory performance. Set you memory interleaving to 4 way - check for the latest BIOS revision if you don't have it available. Also, try WPCREDIT and WPCRSET. Look here:
    http://viahardware.com/memtweakguide1.htm

    After I tweaked my BIOS registries with this, my Sandra memory scores increased by 50% an my SETI WU times dropped by 40%

    ------------------
    Be quick. Be fast.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    I have the latest BIOS 1.07 which supposedly enables 4-way interleaving, but there is no setting I can tinker with(at least that I know of) I have dabbled a little with those HOda proggies, but didn't notice much of a difference. Back to tweakin'!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    Originally posted by 1fast6:
    Nuts:
    I agree with RAM, you need to bench your memory with Sandra and play around a bit.

    Here are my Sandra scores:

    667 @ RAM @ 133 Cas3 Turbo

    330MB/Sec
    395MB/Sec

    700 @ RAM @ 140 Cas3 Fast

    341MB/Sec
    408MB/Sec

    700 @ 100 @ 106 Cas2 Turbo

    294MB/Sec
    337MB/Sec

    Are these scores decent compared to someone running true PC133 at Cas2 or Cas3?


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    sunny Florida
    Posts
    159
    Nuts:
    In my previous post I said that "turbo" was best on my SY6-VBA133 (Apollo Pro). With the SY6-VCA (Apollo ProA) I installed today, "fast" is best!

    Heres some numbers from my system for you:
    P3-650e@734, Micron PC133@149 CAS2, SOYO SY6-VCA (Apollo ProA)
    Turbo = 346/432
    Fast = 355/430
    Fast w/ initial WPCREDIT tweaks = 364/450

    Looks like even with the PC133 CAS2 overclocked to 149, I only score about 20/50 better than you with PC100@140 CAS3. But I really haven't tweaked up this new board yet. The jump from Apollo Pro (w/ major tweaks) to Apollo ProA (w/ only minor tweaks so far) was good for a 60/110 jump in my memory scores. I'm happy. I'll let it crunch some SETI tonight and se how that does. I havent run any 3dmark scores yet, but its not comparable for you since I have a GTS2 and with the other mb scored in the 6500 range.

    Keep tweakin...


    ------------------
    Be quick. Be fast.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    Any thoughts as to why I get a crash running Sandra with 500E @ 750, RAM @ 117, Cas3 Fast?

    I have tried just about every setting I can think of and keep coming back to 140

    Probably won't be able to push until I can up to true PC133 or PC150

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •