I'm Going To Ask A Stupid Question Here™
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: I'm Going To Ask A Stupid Question Here™

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269

    I'm Going To Ask A Stupid Question Here™

    What exactly is a Duron, T-Bird and there are others names I've heard?

    They are AMD processors right?

    Well, how do they differ from the Athlon K7?

    Can someone help me with this? I'm thinking of building my first Athlon Machine and this information will be useful to me.

    Cheers and thank you.

    ------------------
    It Is Now Safe To Turn Off Your Computer
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    Yeah, they're AMD.

    The T-Bird is an Athlon. Like a Coppermine is a PIII.

    The Duron is like a Celeron.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    538
    Athlon ( Calssic ) - 512k off die cache.
    Athlon ( Tbird core ) - 256k ondie cache
    Duron ( Celeron killer ) - 64k cache.

    Tbird and Duron are the newest CPU's from AMD with ondie L2 cache!!!
    Todor
    mollov@mail.bg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    525
    The T-bird may be an Athlon but its a new and faster version of it...The old Athlon was slower since it had its L2 cache off-die or at the CPU card so it runs at 1/2 CPU speed at most. The T-bird Athlon has it's L2 on-die so it now runs at the speed of the CPU...

    The Duron is just like the T-bird although it has less on-die L2 cache (64K compared to the T-bird's 256K) but still enough to beat the Celeron 2 by a 100 Mhz margin...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    K7 = code name for Amd seventh generated processor.

    athlon (classic) = original athlon with 512K of half speed L2 cache and 128K on L1 cache

    athlon (tbird or thunderbird) = the new athlon available mostly in socket version with on-die 256K of full speed 16way 64bit L2 cache and 128K of L1 cache. blue cores are copper and green core are alu. Or was it the other way round ...but who care's because they both overclock well

    spitfire = code name for the duron

    duron = same as thunderbird but with only 64K of L2 cache fullspeed 16way 64bit and 128K of L1 cache. Made only at austin so no copper versions available

    Mustang = code name for Amd's answer to PIV (willamette). This cpu will for the first time use an enhanced version of the K7 core. It will also carry upto 1meg or maybe 1.5meg of fullspeed L2 cache. It might also use a 256bit bus like that of coppermines. (this cpu hasn't released yet so this info could be wrong).

    corvette = mobile version of the K7, forgot the specs

    sledgehammer = Amds answer to Itanium that can do both 64bit and 32bit. It will probably have loads of other fancy feature such as flat FPU, lightening data transfer ect
    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    slow internet connection.... Took me 15min to connect after it cut me while I typing my reply

    [This message has been edited by daveg (edited 08-17-2000).]
    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Does AMD follow every trend that Intel sets or are they usually first to come out with the technology?
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Midland, MI, USA
    Posts
    106
    Anyone know how a Duron o/c to 1 gig would compare to my 750 classic w\ 2/5 speed L2 cache? i would like to upgrade to the socket A format anyways, but I want to make sure I will still be getting a decent jump in performance.

    Thanks

    ------------------
    Run! Run like a gerbil!
    Athlon 500@750MHz GFD 1.65v w\crappy 4ns cache
    Run! Run like a gerbil!
    AMD Athlon 1200 on KT7-RAID
    GeForce2 MX
    256MB PC133 CAS 2 Crucial RAM

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    AMD and Intel are competitors. They each make their own technology. It used to be AMD just followed in Intel's wake, but with the release of the athlon, everything changed and Intel has some real competition for once. So whereas before (up to k6-3 i would say) intel set the trends, and AMD only tried to compete, now it is the competiion of the companies that is making the new trends.
    -ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    Good... our prices for every processor is now cheaper.
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bloomington, IL, USA
    Posts
    566
    Yup, and AMDs are about 1/2 the price of Intel at the same clock speed. oh god why did i say that, lol
    -0ram
    Yeah... bout' the only thing you wouldn't want to overclock, would be your clock...
    Unless you just want to be early all the time..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    736
    Hey Folks !!!

    AMD is for me !!!

    Lets not forget peoples:

    The DURON has 64k of Level 1 cache & 128k of level 2 cache, for a total of 192k of full speed on-die cache !!!

    The T-Bird has 128k of Level 1 cache & 256k of Level 2 cache, for a total of 384k of full speed on-die cache !!!

    They differ from an ATHLON classic in that the cache is full speed and on-die !!!

    They also differ in that they use SOCKET A, although the T-Bird is available in SLOT A form for a while yet.

    Question Toolbox:
    Do they not have these CPU's in the Philippines ?




    ------------------
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"
    "I cant drive...55 !!!"

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    67
    the archetecture of amd and intel are different, and intel doesn't have 3dnow instuctions. the main thing to remember is amd is less expensive. I do know that you shouldn't buy a classic athlon the tbird is much better and almost the same price

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    And then there's THE HAMMER.....Run Intel..... RUN....

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    807
    MrBigglesworth,
    A Duron @ 1000 mhz is about the same speed as an Athlon classic @850 mhz.
    Duron @ 800 mhz is same class as Athlon 650 mhz, etc etc..
    about 150 mhz better in performance is the Athlon.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •