Problem with 550E @733mhz. Computer gives no response, HELP!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Problem with 550E @733mhz. Computer gives no response, HELP!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    309

    Problem with 550E @733mhz. Computer gives no response, HELP!!

    Ok, Im using a 550E copper, on an Abit-BE6-2
    with 128meg (2 64's) or PC-100 ram. I went
    in my bios and set the thing to run at 733.
    5.5*133. Cas all set to 3-3-3. When I rebooted right after it tells my chip speed
    it locks up. What could this be? Ram? Cas?
    I Left my voltage at default of 1.6v
    What some good advice. Also I really can't
    afford to have this chip frie so whats the
    max voltage this thing will take before it
    goes out the door? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    129
    Hey chipman

    are u sure that chip can go that high?

    sorry i haven't heard any o/c topics on the 550e, but what is the highest someone has got that chip to

    ------------------
    "Bad command or file name! Smash forehead on keyboard to continue"
    "Bad command or file name! Smash forehead on keyboard to continue"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    And How Should I Know That
    Posts
    626
    are you sure that the ram can do 133?
    If you have access to some pc133 give it a try and see if this is your problem
    REALITY.SYS corrupted: Reboot universe? (Y/N/Q)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    184
    I'm pretty sure it's your ram, I have tried to run some pc-100@133 and it locked up after it displayed the amount of ram.
    Which was kinda wierd cause it said i had only 50megs when in reality i have 96megs.

    ------------------
    Is this thing on??
    The #1 supplier of "midgets on crack"!!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Nome, AK USA
    Posts
    496
    Originally posted by Canadian Gigabyte:
    Hey chipman

    are u sure that chip can go that high?

    sorry i haven't heard any o/c topics on the 550e, but what is the highest someone has got that chip to
    Quite a number of them goto the 800 range w/cB0 stepping, I think it is his memory.

    [This message has been edited by Sinful_Weeper (edited 08-14-2000).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    893
    Yeah Chipman its your memory. Get some good micron PC133 memory, Mushkin is too expensive. My micron memory can do 147@CAS2 and 160@CAS3 maybe higher for both of them who knows.

    ------------------
    If the alarm clock woke you up this morning, you didn't get enough
    sleep.
    Intel P4C 3.0Ghz
    Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
    2x256mb Corsair Value Select PC3200
    eVGA e-GeForce 6800
    WD 120gb SE
    IBM 60GXP 60gb
    Creative Labs Audigy (free)
    Toshiba SD-M1402 (12x dvd/40x cd)
    Lite-On 52x24x52 ($15 retail )
    Pioneer A06 DVD+/-RW
    ThermalTake Silent Purepower 420W PSU

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Karachi, Sindh, PAKISTAN
    Posts
    267
    try increasing the voltage little bit.... but this thing should run fine at 733@1.65V


    i used to run my 550 at 710Mhz(124FSB)..... my memoery was not allowing 133FSB!


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    427
    I have my P3 550@733 no problem. PC133 RAM, 1.70 v. Runs sweet! You may have to set your RAM -33
    GO BEARS!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    West Point, UT
    Posts
    1,477
    RAM can't be set @ -33M on a BX board!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    In addition to what Nuts4GTS said, even you had a VIA board and could set the SDRAM at -33 MHz, what's the point. The CPU may be flying, but the system would be no faster with slow memory.
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •