Guess what I found...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Guess what I found...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319

    Guess what I found...

    i recently came across a free Sharp pc-4500 "Laptop" It's a 286 with a 20 MB HD and I think 640K of ram, not sure though, and it works.... What to do what to do...

    Anyone got any ideas that don't involve smashing it?

    it's very loud and weighs about 20lbs. hehehehe, oh the fun.

    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Run SETI on it and get one WU for it... then next month...
    Well I guess you need 32 megs of RAM for that then

    I think you have yourself a perfect Sopwith and Xonix machine I would love to have a functional 286 without having to break into my highschool computer lab hehe


    ------------------
    http://www.crosswinds.net/~areyoubored
    Operation Break Stuff:
    Anatomy of a 286
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    Will commandline Seti work in DOS? and can I fit it on a floppy?

    And what are sopwith and Xonix? Sorry, I'm not into that much stuff pre 3x86. Any information you guys can provide on th PC-4500 by Sharp would be very appreciative. I'm also looking for a batter for it < $20.

    Thanks alot, I'll get SETI on ASAP!

    I just remembered something... no modem... how do I get the WU to run on the box?


    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Rapid City SD USA
    Posts
    205
    If it had a CDROM Id tell ya to put Linux on it
    You give a man a fish, you feed him for a day.
    You teach a man to fish, you feed him for a lifetime. Chinese Proverb
    OR some comparable advice:
    If you make a mistake once, thats human; If you make the same mistake twice, you're the only fool.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    Now I'm having a bit of trouble, when I got it, the backlight on the monitor was burned out. So i cracked er open, I found absolutly nothing that was recognizable accept the HD Floppy, and I think i located the RAM.

    After some tinkering I found the video chips. Now the backlight works, but I don't get any video at all.

    So goes it, oh and it doesn't have a CRT port... I'll keep ya posted.

    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    Woohoo! I fixed the display, it has some antiquitated software on it... Fun to play with, like Microsoft word for DOS v 1.0 or something, An interesting database program called Q&A and some motorolla radio programming software...

    Well After about 3 hours of fiddling with plugs and a whole lot of other nameless components (still can't pinpoint the CPU) I did the only thing that could fix it! I turned down the contrast.. I know I'm an idiot. But I still learned a thing or two... Let's see if I can get Commandline running on this hunkajunk!

    Oh yeah, and I found a battery in it, it just doesn't seamed charged.... Would the thing charge it itself? Thanks.

    [This message has been edited by Swedishlf (edited 08-05-2000).]
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    good god, I realized my 286 won't boot and so all my games are gone! Oh no!!! crap!!

    However I do have sopwith on floppy and it is perhaps the greatest 286 game ever written in a 50k file If I dig it up I'll send it to you.

    Also, it requires 32 meg ram to run SETI.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    Blasted Seti! Hey, I'd appreciate that if you find sopwith, thanks man!
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Well I found the disk and the file is there but I think something is dead... let me boot another computer and see if I can get it to you.
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    got the file, and I tried CPULOWER to try and play it on my comp... didn't work hehehe I had it to 100% lower and it still played way to fast.

    Until I can figure out how to transfer it to the laptop (LD floppy 720k Drive from HD 1.44MB Drive) I'll just see how many cpu cycles I can use up while playing. Thanks man!
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Washington, PA USA
    Posts
    1,930
    Actually I downloaded it here http://www.oli.tudelft.nl/csr/ondervereniging/xtc/ which has tons of old games. TONS. I tried that program on my celeron 550 and I had it at 17% and it was a bit choppy.. oh well... maybe I'll change the importance of SETI to take up cycles..

    Also that site has one or two cpukillers written in pascal... haven't tried them yet though
    It said "requires Windows 95 or better," so I installed Linux.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    now I just need to get the games onto the craptop. Anyone know how to use interlnk?
    Thanks
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    Finally figured out interlnk after searching my room for cables and the like, not a speedy transfer, but I could transfer about 1 meg/minute in a burst. and with 20MB HD on the craptop.... You do the math.

    Sopwith is great, I'm downloading a whole bunch of old games, and qbasic stuff, ahhh memories.... Thanks for your help!!
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    hey Warhorse, I was thinking, why not get something like Binary Work CPU controller from www.tweakfiles.com. Run SETI and set it to highest priority while putting sopwith on lowest.... Would it work?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    hey swede, on my old ibm AT (286 w/ "upgraded" 1.1mb ram -- 640k base, 512k extended) i had "Microsoft Windows 1.0" sort of a visually displeasing version of the windows explorer!
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •