oem celermine 566 overclocking success!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: oem celermine 566 overclocking success!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    long beach, ca usa
    Posts
    115

    oem celermine 566 overclocking success!

    It took me about 2hours to finally purchase an oem celermine 566 and an abit vh6 mobo for about $200, $214 with shipping total.....whew!!! Well my question is, has anyone successfuly overclock a oem celermine cpu to 850mhz and over?

    Oh yeah, if anyone of you guys are looking for an upgrade, then here's the link where i bought the cpu and mobo (these prices include shipping):


    $110.22 oem celeron 566 -
    www.kdcomputers.com

    $104.00 abit vh6 mobo -
    www.essencom.com


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    When paired with the right mobo, the Celeron II 566MHz are consistantly hitting 850MHz and beyond. 1GHz is about the cap on it so you can be happy with something in between.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    369
    Mine is an OEM 566, very happy with it..

    ------------------
    Mark
    Celeron 566@951MHz,1.85v,
    BE6-II,Abit Slocket3,Alpha-pep66,Micron PC100-8E{128mb),seagate 17.3G,quantum 1g,s/b 16,Voodoo3 3000@185MHz(w/hsf),linskys 10/100,3Com 10/100.
    Win98se.
    AMD Opteron 146 @ 2907MHz
    Abit AN8 NF4 Mobo
    XFX 7800GTX (486\1400)
    2 GB CORSAIR XMS PC3200
    2x 160 gig WD (sata raid-0)
    Zalman CNPS9500 Heatsink
    Antec Super LanBoy Case
    Antec 550w TruePowerII
    ViewSonic 19" LCD Widescreen

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    long beach, ca usa
    Posts
    115
    Hey Kruz, how hot does your cpu get?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    493
    SL46T OEM 566E , PEP66 + 52W TEC.
    @952mhz with 1.75v
    Temps idle -2c max 22c with looping demo.
    I thinks core is at its limit @952
    and without TEC would do 935mhz but would require 1.85v and get to 50c+ ;(
    HSF just hits that temp now
    Going for retail 600 next, may be able to push a little bit extra out of it
    My PC has an attitude problem, alright!...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, Ga
    Posts
    369
    26c idle and 36c running seti/prime95.
    temp in my house is 75f...

    ------------------
    Mark
    Celeron 566@951MHz,1.85v,
    BE6-II,Abit Slocket3,Alpha-pep66,Micron PC100-8E{128mb),seagate 17.3G,quantum 1g,s/b 16,Voodoo3 3000@185MHz(w/hsf),linskys 10/100,3Com 10/100.
    Win98se.
    AMD Opteron 146 @ 2907MHz
    Abit AN8 NF4 Mobo
    XFX 7800GTX (486\1400)
    2 GB CORSAIR XMS PC3200
    2x 160 gig WD (sata raid-0)
    Zalman CNPS9500 Heatsink
    Antec Super LanBoy Case
    Antec 550w TruePowerII
    ViewSonic 19" LCD Widescreen

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    330
    My cele600 oem kicks bottom at 850 (thanks to S_Klass)

    Nothing to do with the topic at all.
    Just wanted to say something!
    I need to get out more.
    Peace & Love,

    Jas - The Dog- El_Jaso

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    11
    CEL 600 @ 900 @ 1.7v ON ABIT VH6
    ONLY PROB I CAN SEE IS SAME AS ME TOP VOLTAGE IS 1.7 (COULD USE UPTO 1.8-1.9)
    PLUS THE FSB SETTINGS ARE ONLY 66-75-83-100
    BELOW 100
    75 IS TO LOW BUT WORKS GREAT
    83 IS **** PCI/AGP CLOCKS OUT OF SPEC
    100 IS GOOD BUT REQUIRES MORE THAN 1.7
    SEE ABOVE!!!!!!!!!!!
    BOY DO WE NEED A 90 OR PLUS 1`S

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    11
    PS FORGOT TO SAY THE ABIT VH6 ROCKS
    GLAD MY BP6 IS IN THE BIN

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    long beach, ca usa
    Posts
    115
    What do you mean it only has fsb of
    66-75-83-100 doesn't it go all the way up to 133fsb? And about the voltage settings, did you flash the bios or is it just stuck at 1.7v no matter what? My mobo should come on Friday:^)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Jas101, will you refresh my memory, what happens when you try 100MHz FSB vs the 95MHz you have now?

    Running @ 95MHz you are underclocking your PCI and AGP cards/devices and that could impair your performance. I'm sorry I can't remember if you've/we've talked about trying 100MHz before.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    [This message has been edited by S_Klass (edited 07-31-2000).]
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    ^^bUmP^^
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •