Overclocking the Duron - too hot??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Overclocking the Duron - too hot??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35

    Overclocking the Duron - too hot??

    I have the Asus A7V with a Duron 650. I overclocked it to 900 MHz successfully and it runs Quake III and Unreal rock solid.

    To achieve this, I used 1.85 volts as vcore. After working the CPU hard, it's temperature peeks at 61C. Idle is around 55C. Is this too hot for the Duron? Will I shorten it's life considerably?? Any opinions welcomed!

    P.S. It also booted at 950 but windows would not load. However, I could of tried a 1.9 vcore but I don't want to fry my Duron!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    4
    Look at the processor.

    Above the title "AMD Duron" you can read the following characters:

    D650AST1B (e.g.)

    D-mean architecture - Duron (A-Athlon)
    650 - frequency in MHz
    A - type of socket (A-PGA, M- slot1)
    S - core voltage (S-1.5V, U-1.6V, P-1.7V, N-1.8V)
    T- max. temperature (Q-60Celsius, X-65C, R-70C, Y-75C, T-90 Celsius degree)
    1 - size of L2 cache (1 - 64 KB, 2- 128 KB)
    B- type of DDR frequency (A=B=200 MHz).

    If Xou have X, R, Y or T type Duron, all is OK. If not, please change your cooler... :-)

    Bye

    bence


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    4
    Oh, sorry, I forgot the source:
    http://www.overclocking.cz/duron_review.html

    This page is in Slovak language, but I believe, that you can understand the pictures and marking

    bence

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    Thanks. However, I would like to avoid removing my cooler from the CPU. I installed Asus's PC Probe and this software recommended a maximum CPU temperature threshold of 86 C. Is it possible that this software can read the CPU's id number and extract the maximum temperature for it?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    those temps are mighty hot, it might be ok, but still, in my opinion, too hot for comfort

    you would proly get it to run a G if you can get that flake down to below 0C wink wink !!

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    35
    I also think anything above 60C is too hot but if the CPU can endure anything under 90C, than I guess it's all good.

    I think having good air circulation in my case is the key to good cooling. At first I did not have a chasis fan and my mobo was around 39C - pretty hot. I stripped away a fan from an old power supply and installed it in. Immediately, the mobo temperature dropped to 33C and hence, the CPU's temp also dropped 6. If I could get my hands on a powerful chasis fan, I could probably get the mobo's temp under 30C and bring the CPU's temp down a few more degrees. :>

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •