p3 700 @ 933 w/o changes..
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: p3 700 @ 933 w/o changes..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Mo, USA
    Posts
    221

    p3 700 @ 933 w/o changes..

    just a little update on my PIII 700.. still waiting for the heatsink-n-fan but I took about 5min, and just upped the bus to 133 and dropped the PCI down to 1/4 (w/ no voltatage changes or anything) and it worked.. but only having a spair SECC2 heatsink that does not fit right (and it was metal-to-hard old dry thermal grease) i only left it on for about 2min.. but am eager to know.. is this a good chip? or is a PIII 700 expected to do this?
    the reason I am telling you all this is because my chip has a diffrent S-Spec then what the chip should have.. IE, they where no where to be found on the page.. (where only found in some huge *** PDA that had it listed as a PIII700 nothing else)
    so i guess i just want to know if this chip has a future as my overclocking chip..

    ------------------
    //squag|e htp
    It is 3:50 in the morning, whats your plan for the day?
    //squag|e
    For Sale: 2k1 Pontiac Firebird
    http://www.squaglesoft.net/car.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Congrats you've found what Intel doesn't want you to know. ~65% of current Intel E (100MHz FSB) processors will run at 133MHz stable w/o any fancy cooling and even at default voltage. Enjoy!

    Now if you bought quality SDRAM and a good match of parts you are ever so close to joining the GHz club!

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    Don't look a gift horse in the mouth!!

    ...of course that chip has an overclocking future! Just because Intel hasn't put it on the official s-spec page (that may actually be a very good thing... (?)) doesn't mean it isn't a bad@ss CPU!

    It sounds like you have a great chip... put some cooling on it and enjoy the bliss of free megahertz... make the chip walk and talk, make it do the dance!!


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    post the "S code"

    SL454 SL453 SL45Y = cBO

    Or any OEM that begins with SL3X = cBO

    [This message has been edited by Maxout (edited 07-30-2000).]
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Austin, TX USA (currently in Bosnia)
    Posts
    4,647
    ...he did, Max... in another thread. He has a SL3XM.

    That isn't on Intel's S-spec page... you have to dig into the updated .pdf to find this one.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    If it starts with SL3X it is an OEM cBO.

    [This message has been edited by Maxout (edited 07-30-2000).]
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Mo, USA
    Posts
    221
    eheh..
    well, i am glad i paid the extra $90 bucks to get it from the loacal store..
    he did want to sell it to me though.. he said i was prob going to overclock it and not put it in a multi-prossor machine! ha!

    ------------------
    //squag|e htp
    It is 3:50 in the morning, whats your plan for the day?
    //squag|e
    For Sale: 2k1 Pontiac Firebird
    http://www.squaglesoft.net/car.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Höör, Skåne, Sweden
    Posts
    698
    Heh... we can all see you would never do any thing like that...hehe...good going... §

    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...
    * OCN Hellspawn *
    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Mo, USA
    Posts
    221
    tables have turned..
    w/o doing anymore o/c testing, leaving everything alone (700/100) it now hits 72c right off boot..

    did i **** it up for o/c that little bit?

    ------------------
    //squag|e htp
    It is 3:50 in the morning, whats your plan for the day?
    //squag|e
    For Sale: 2k1 Pontiac Firebird
    http://www.squaglesoft.net/car.html

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Mo, USA
    Posts
    221
    It is all fixed now.. The heatsink must have slid off the chip just a little when I put in the GeForce2 (THEY SUX NOTHING DIFFRENT THEN A GEFORCE1DDR). but once I got that back on, its back down to 33c

    ------------------
    //squag|e htp
    It is 3:50 in the morning, whats your plan for the day?
    //squag|e
    For Sale: 2k1 Pontiac Firebird
    http://www.squaglesoft.net/car.html

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •