My 800 system won't run at 133x8.0
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My 800 system won't run at 133x8.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951

    My 800 system won't run at 133x8.0

    Well, it will if i remove ALL the RAM. I can boot to DOS and have a 1064Mhz processor and 640k RAM! LOL!!! I guess it's time for better RAM
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    I have to get some more RAM. Whaddaya guys suggest? I'm going w/256MB or 512MB, so which brand should I get? Is there any I should stay away from? Is there anything in particular I should look for?
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    3,198
    Here's the only really top-notch 256 MB stick I know of. It's Mushkin 256 MB PC133 that uses NEC RAM:

    http://www.mushkin.com/cgi-bin/Mushk...roducts/990433

    If you're willing to get 2 128 MB sticks, consider these:

    http://www.mushkin.com/cgi-bin/Mushk...roducts/990496
    1.Old Antec Case, Asus PC-DL, 2 x 1.6 LV D1 Xeons @ 3 GHz, 2GB Corsair PC3200 @ 200 MHz, Chaintech 6800 128MB AGP

    2. Old Crap Beige Case, Gigabyte GA-H55M-S2H, Core i3 530, 4GB CL8 OCZ DDR3-1600, eVGA GTX465

    3. Asus Pundit mATX Case, MSI AMD Zacate E350/dual core E350IS-E45 mini-ITX, 4GB CL9 Crucial Ballistix DDR3-1333, LG Blu Ray/HD DVD & DVD Burner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    To be honest with you, a 8.0 multiplier will cap you at around the 133 MHz mark. I highly doubt you will be able to hit 140+MHz for 1160+MHz. In light of that, you can save some money and go for SDRAM that will do 133-140MHz at CL 2 instead of paying for Mushkin Rev 2 that is priced as high as it is because it may run at 150MHz @ CL2. There isn't much reason to buy for the future because by early to mid 2001, DDR chipsets should be mainstream and SDR SDRAM will be bumped into second by DDR SDRAM in terms of performance.

    Therefore although Dave_B has recommeded the cream of the crop, and that's great if money is no exception. But I think you can consider any premium SDRAM from EMS, KingMax, Cosair, Micron, Infineon and save about $40-50 per 128MB.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    65
    do you have any web addresses with the kinda prices you're talking about?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    I just ordered 2 256MB Micron PC133 7.5ns cas2 DIMMS, and had them Next-Day-Business shipped. They should be here Monday. I wasn't gonna do it, but I figured you only live once and you can't take it with you!
    Are you ready for this?...
    $683.39 Shipped! Oh well, hopefully it will be worth it. The funny thing is My processor, mobo, and SCSI controller together cost about that much.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    It is very sad indeed. The most expensive component in your system is your RAM. How unexciting. *sign*

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Ditto N/O..
    That's quite a pretty penny. I sure hope you aren't juz gonna play games with that machine.


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    NO not just a game machine! I compile alot, this machine is also a file server, name server, and DHCP server on my small network. That and I hate swap files!They are a horrible waste of speed, so I just get enough RAM to combat it. I have an 800MHz PIII, and would've went bigger but there is nowhere close I can get anything bigger. I have tried to mail order a processor before, and it was so beat up when I got here that it was useless.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •