Overclockable Dual PIII System Config?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Overclockable Dual PIII System Config?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635

    Overclockable Dual PIII System Config?

    Any recommendations on a good dual PIII mobo?

    $5K is the limit for complete system and it's for a aerospace engineer friend of mine. Not a joke, SMP gurus please post your recommendations for mobos & system configs.

    Something tweakable & overclocking friendly if possible.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    14
    I am also looking for a new tweakable system to buy, But No way am I going to go as high as $5000. I am more in the range of $2.5k. In my search I plan to get a system that will run stable at or above 1GHz 150MHz FSB, and 256Mb @133Mhz of RAM with over 20GB of HD @ 72000 rpm, CD re-writer, DVD player, the best Video card, 10Mb/s LAN card, and over 21 inch screen. And that just the main stuff. Yes I plan to get all of this for under $2500. If I do achieve my goal I will post it up for u and all to see, so that people can get some ideas of what they can achieve too.


    If anyone has some ideas or suggestions please tell me. I think I will need all the help I can get.

    Thankz

    ~Mark~

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    946
    Mark...not a chance in hell..

    S_Klass, I'll get back to you soon.

    I have what you're both describing...but even $5K is tough...

    -SS

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    i have a cooling system thats SMP compatable hehehehe

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    i'd go with a Supermicro board... they've got a handful of 'em (go with either their i815e boards or the 440BX boards)... if you need SCSI, they've got it

    definately some of the most stable boards around... especially nice if you get dual 750e fcpga's on their i815 board and stick it to 133mhz (dual giggers -- ultra stable)

    have fun!
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    He wants it for 3D rendering, real-time full motion simulation and CAD work along with other not so demanding things (word processing, internet, voice recognition).

    I was thinking along the lines of:
    SUPERMICRO 370DL3 w/ ULTRA 160 SCSI
    2x PIII 750 cB0
    1x 256MB PC-133 SDRAM
    1x SEAGATE 36GB ULTRA 160 10K RPM HDD 4MB Cache
    LeadTek 64MB AGP GTS II
    SB Live! Value
    Panasonic 21" Monitor 1800*1440 Max Rez @ 71Hz

    That totals $3599 so far from a competitively priced dealer. (not the absolute cheapest though
    )
    Still need more RAM (384 min 512 max), a DVD ROM drive, a floppy, a full tower case with 400Watt PSU. He has an existing 10x/8x/32x IDE writer I plan to salvage.

    Damn PIII 550 XEON w/ 1MB cache is over $3,000!

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •