Overclocking a Pentium 133
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Overclocking a Pentium 133

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Pite
    Posts
    96

    Overclocking a Pentium 133

    My brother just gave me 2 Pentium 133's. I have a FIC VA503+ and I thought I should try overclocking one of these chips. How high can I go? Is it possible to use a 100 MHz FSB speed? I believe 100*1.5 would give more than a 100% performance boost.

    Or is it possible to push it over 200 MHz with enough voltage and an Alpha that blows like a hurricane?
    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft Promotional Ad
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Fuhrer" - Adolf Hitler

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    If you slap on some good cooling then 150 (100x1.5) is definite possibility, just make sure your ram is up for the extra speed.

    Go ahead with a peltier and an alpha and two extra gallons of juice It's not like you'll be kicked out of the house if you wreck it
    Carpe noctem!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    ?
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    660
    I don't see a P133 going over 66x3 which is 198. That's got to be pushing it. In any combination, 3.5 or 75 are probably out of the question. If you can get it over 200, more power to you

    ------------------
    www.quatroux.8k.com
    Online SETI database and water cooling info.
    This week I'm a Systems Specialist...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    I have a Pentium 133 that I have overclocked to 150 (75x2) using a POS tiny heatsink/fan combo.

    I personally think it can go higher, the only reason I cannot is because the pin controlling 2.5 and 3.0x multipliers on this board is damaged internally.

    1.5x100 is a guarantee with any decent hs/f, and 2.0x100 is possible with good cooling. 2.5x75 (187) might be a good halfway point, but might not be much faster than 1.5x100 due to the lower cache speed. Remember, high FSB speed is key.

    And Quatroux, what the hell are you talking about? Pentium Classic chips are not multiplier locked, and can be used on many Super Socket 7 boards...they don't care what bus speed you run them at. They can also take 1.0 and 1.5x multipliers even though more modern processors do not.

    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    660
    I was drawing from my personal experience with a P200 that is sitting right next to me, and an old P133 I tossed around at work. The P133 would not go past 66x3. Anything over 66 it would not boot, as well as anything over a 3 multiplier. Wven with a voltage increase it would not post at 75 x 3 or 66 x 3.5. I did not have a motherboard that allowed any setting over 75/3.5 so I can't provide much info about that. That's what the hell I'm talking about

    ------------------
    www.quatroux.8k.com
    Online SETI database and water cooling info.
    This week I'm a Systems Specialist...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    But that still doesnt mean you know what youre talking about Quatroux, your conclusions draw a lot of assumptions, provied you had paid attention you would know this.

    The reason your particular setup would not top 66MHz bus was because up until a few years ago, 66mhz WAS the official spec. No motherboards prior to the TX chipset supported above 75MHz bus, and not all VX/HX did 75 stable (they didnt have to). Plus you must remember that FPM and EDO tend to perform sketchy above 66MHz...some will do it, others wont. And back then many periperals would not take high bus speeds.

    My point is this: you ignore the fact that a few years back components were NOT very capable of being run out of spec, YET you make the ASSUMPTION that the reason you could not hit a higher bus speed was the Pentium chip. This is what disturbs me.

    What floors me is that, even after the person TELLS you outright hes going to use a super7 board with SDRAM (as I inferred from his post: 100MHz FSB), you continue to be the purveyor of this assumptive viewpoint.

    My point is, you should read up on overclocking and ALL the things that can affect it before you come to such brash conclusions. Its people like you that are the reason the net is plagued with misinformation.

    </rant>



    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Brookville Ohio
    Posts
    362
    aahh madcat
    i still have my old 133 pent and it is multi. locked. i've had it in 3 different boards (eurone ,gigabyte and msi ) have always had to use 2.0...nothing else would work.i did oc it 75x2=150 for over a year...ran great. at the time i read an articale at toms hardware that said some 133's where locked and he even listed the #'s...mine was one.never tried a faster bus than 75 though.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    hmmmm....

    Did you ever try a 1.5 or 1.0 multiplier?

    Ive never heard of such things, but then again theres always something to be missed.

    Perhaps you are right though. I have a Shuttle HOT-555 motherboard, and like I said in my previous posts I couldnt get it to go above a 2.0x multipler...anything higher and it would boot at 2.0x. I could, however, get it to boot at 1.5x and 1.0x. I thought it was the motherboard, since 2.5 and 3.0 both make use of the same jumper, but I could be wrong.

    I can surmise from this that perhaps the Pentium 133 has a maximum multiplier of 2. Early on in the multiplier race, ill wager Intel never figured they would go above a 2.0 multiplier. In fact, the Pentium 150 and 166 were the first two Pentium chips Intel made that broke this barrier.

    So maybe the chip simply wont respond to multipliers higher than 2.0x. Maybe later revisions as Intel moved on to newer processes inherently gave the P133 higher multiplier limits. Ill have to look into this.

    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    My assertion was right. The Pentium 133 chip was not multiplier locked, Intel simply disabled all multipliers higher than 2.0 to prevent overclockers from clocking it at 166-200MHz, the speed that core is capable of.

    I'm sure that lots of you still remember the Pentium 133 SY022 CPUs, which wouldn't recognize any multiplier setting higher than x2. Intel disabled the higher multipliers by just not bonding one of the multiplier pins.
    This is from Tom himself, and other articles Ive read lead me to believe that most Pentium 133 chips out there are of this type. Quatroux is the lucky one.

    I want to apologize if I was a bit brash, but I missed this tidbit somewhere along the line, probably because it applied to only one chip with I never owned until recently. Still, I cannot believe I missed a rather important detail like this...

    Anyway, back to the subject. Our friend here may or may not have a multiplier-limited core, but this is a mooth concern because he has a 100MHz FSB to work with. The maximum reasonable overclock of this core is 200MHz, wich can be easily reached with 2.0x100.

    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    2,951
    After seeing this post yesterday I went to work and tried to OC our P133 workstation. After playing around with it for a little while and attatching a dual fan K6-3 fan on it the results were amazing. I tried the 75x2 first. That was a huge difference. The temp didn't even rise from normal op temps with the cooling I had on it. It ran for 2 hours like that w/o a problem, so I tried to push it a little harder. I went up to the 100x2 everyone is talking about, and whaddya know. The thing was amazingly fast compared to a couple hours earlier. I was a little concerned about heat so I attatched another case fan. It ran for 5 hours b4 I left w/o a hitch. I even played quake 2 at very acceptable speeds. I wanted to check it this morning(left it up). I was able to use the VNC and take it over. It is still runnig fine.
    Opteron 148@2805(255x11-1.4v)
    Stock cooling(until I get a water block)
    Asrock 939Dual-SATAII
    1GB PC3200 OCZ Gold EL(2-2-2-8-2 1T 5:6 Divider)
    Sapphire X800GTO2(520/580 - Unlocked 16 Pipes)
    Antec TruePower 550 vmodded
    2x Western Digital WD-1200JS(RAID0)
    Lite-ON 1633S DVDRW
    Gentoo 2.6.14-nitro2

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Posts
    47
    Hey, you guys seem to know a lot about the TX chipset, so I thought I'd jump in and ask...

    does the TX chipset run the PCI bus in spec when using the 75/83 FSB?

    I've got an Asus MB, can't remember the exact name, but it has SIMM and DIMM slots on it... fairly popular IIRC.

    Anyway, I was thinking of overclocking that beast, and wanted to be able to troubleshoot it easily.

    Alex

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    What, an Asus P5A-TX?

    It doesnt matter. There is no chipset I can recall that will run the PCI bus in-spec at odd bus speeds like 75 and 83.

    There were rumors of some old VIA PEntium chipsets that could do this, but Ive never seen a board made from one and I imagine its performance is terrible.

    Do not worry about high PCI bus speeds, all but the cheapest of components can take it just fine. I recall being able to overclock my Pentium 233 MMX to 75 and 83MHz bus speeds quite easily.

    As for troubleshooting Alex, this is really easy if your chip is not multiplier-locked. IF you have trouble with a new setting, try loweing the multiplier but keeping the same bus speed. if it works, looks like the failure was due to the processor. If it still doesnt work, you could have some bus speed issues too.

    Be careful with 83MHz bus and even possibly 75. Ive never seen a hard drive that couldnt take 75MHz bus yet theres always a first time, and many of them crap out at 83.

    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •