Suggestions Greatly Needed.....
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Suggestions Greatly Needed.....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760

    Suggestions Greatly Needed.....

    I have a Pentium II 400 running at 400... that is my problem! I know Intel locked the clock multiplier to 4.0x so that approach to o/cing is futile. My Supermicro P6SBA mobo only supports 66/100 FSB's so that route to o/ing is also blocked. The next nail in my o/cing coffin is that my mobo doesn't have voltage jumpers because it is all preset! To top this all off, I can't use SoftFSB or CPUCool because it won't recognise the make and model of my mobo. My parents are going to the USA in a week (I'm English) and they have promised to bring me back a Prophet II GTS 64meg DDR DVI card because I'm not going with them!!! I am excited with the prospect of having the fastest graphics card available to date but I'm afraid my 400mhz system won't like it... even with the 256meg of PC100 memory I've got. Please help!
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    You could always trade your PII 400 for a celeron 566 and overclock that from 66Mhz to 100Mhz to give you 850Mhz. Not sure if your mobo will support it (the multiplier that is) plus there's no guarantees the celeron will hit 850.
    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    53 08' 24" N 2 23' 39" W
    Posts
    760
    but celeron = socket 370 not slot 1 doesn't it? Celerons are budget cut down processors that don't have as many multimedia extensions and on-chip instructions aren't they? I don't know much about celerons because I always thought they were supposed to be the inferior chip compared to pentiums. Enlighten me cos I really don't know much about Celerons at all!
    Clevo P150HM - Intel Core i7-2760QM Sandy Bridge - 16Gb 1333Mhz DDR3 RAM - SanDisk Extreme 240Gb SSD - Radeon 6990M @ 740/1000

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    You can get a device called a slocket which allows you to put a socket 370cpu in a slot mobo.

    Clock for clock the celerons are slow, but if you can get them to run stable at 100Mhz bus then the extra Mhz should make up for that.

    You will need a slocket that supports voltage tweaks and coppermine cpu's (such as the Iwill Slocket2), and you will need to check that your motherboard board has a compatible VRM (voltage regulator on motherboard) that allows 1.6volts. (Even though you don't have the option to change the voltage now, using and slocket with capacitors and jumpers on it, you might be able to alter the voltage)




    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    England
    Posts
    733
    This is what a slocket looks like



    [This message has been edited by daveg (edited 07-22-2000).]
    Athlon 1Ghz AXIA Stepping
    Abit KT7a Rev1
    256mb generic
    CL GTS 32ddr
    Vortex 2 (2048)
    GXP60 20Gbytes

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    That Prophet will work fine with your system.. Sure it might not give you scores you might see with a PIII or and Athlon, but the GPU will make up for what your processor lacks..

    ------------------
    <<<***My Stuff***>>>
    AMD Athlon 650 Thunderbird @ 900(super-cooled)
    FIC SD-11(for now)
    128mb Stick of Cruital pc-133
    300w Sparkle PS
    20 gig IBM 66 7200rpm HD
    Nvidia TnT2 32mb
    HP 8100 CDRW
    Plextor 50X CDrom

    ~{*SPEED LIMIT 2000MHZ*}~
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •