Bent pins on CPU - still alive!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bent pins on CPU - still alive!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187

    Bent pins on CPU - still alive!

    My screwdriver accidentally slipped while I was decasing my P][350, and I bent three of the pins (they look like a C now) on the ic that sits in the center at the back. It looks like one of them has gotten in contact with another pin...but I don't know how fatal this is...

    After all - I'm typing this am I not

    ------------------
    - http://badsector.mainpage.net -

    System tweaking, viking style
    Carpe noctem!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    852
    As long as it works and don't have contact with other pins it shouldn't be a prob...
    The pins withstand more than you can imagine...
    ugh!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    manchester (england)
    Posts
    1,030
    yes same thing happened to me just use a knife to leaver the pins back in line do it slowly though so you dont snap them and it should be fine
    allways happy to help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    Well, it works as it is now, so I'm not going to touch it in fear of ****ing it up any more (check my P3V4X thread and you'll see why)
    Carpe noctem!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    1,349
    check it out, you might have accidentally unlocked the multiplier by what you did... heheh with your luck, that's a good possibility

    ------------------
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    My page is here now.(Sorry for the popup banner there)
    Go ahead...... lick my BLOCK
    This is my website

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    766
    I once threw my athlon 700 at a wall because it wouldn't work for anything... it left a nice impression for the back side of the cpu along with a couple of resistors.. i soldered them back on and Voila it works like a champ... something must've been loose...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hamar, Norway
    Posts
    1,187
    Nah - the multiplier was unlocked by the SEL #100/66 option set to low, haven't noticed any other problems with it yet..clocks just as high as before.

    Maybe the leads in contact are both ground leads
    Carpe noctem!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •