AMD cpu temp - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: AMD cpu temp

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    St. Peters, MO, USA
    Posts
    63
    HomeLAN what exactly does Rain 2.0 do to the CPU / system?

    Thanx,

    kevin-r
    America: Love it or Leave it!

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Rain 2.0 & CPU Idle both work to cool the CPU by executing a "HLT" (Halt) instruction to the processor to put itself into a suspend mode when it is not actively computing. The HLT instructions offer the benefit of lower power consumption when the CPU is idle and thus a lowering the CPU's temps at the same time.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pinoy Ako
    Posts
    292
    My system is a K62-500 @ 558 (124*4.5)
    Mobo - Epox MVP3-G2
    Core Voltage - 2.5
    Idle Temp - 34c
    Loaded Temp - 42-44c (SETI)
    HS-Fan - Globalwin FKP32
    Cooling Software - Rain 2.0

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    If you are running SETI, rain will do nothing as your CPU is almost always working.
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    hills of East Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    262
    Reb, I have a Epox MVP3-G2 motherboard running a K6-3 400 @ 448 (112 x 4) 2.8 Vcore. My motherboard only goes to 112 Bus and there is no voltage setting for 2.5. my jumps from 2.4 to 2.8 then 2.9 ,etc. Is there something i am missing here? did they make 2 different boards or what? or did you type the wrong model number or something. Just curious.

    By the way, i am using a Globalwin 6035 with 27 CFM fan. keeps mine at 35 degrees C running SETI.
    T-Bird 800@1071 1.85V
    Asus A7V-ThermoEngine w/38CFM
    512M Kingmax PC150
    19" Sony Trinitron G400
    17" Gateway Monitor
    2 Vid Cards
    SBL! Platinum
    Desktop Theater 2500 5.1 Digital

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    38
    Wanna fry some bacon?

    I have a processor to do it.

    My PIII 933mhz processor idles around 40 C and hits around 70 C under a full sustained load. At one point it hit 75 C under a full load. Then I popped open the case and scraped some of the extra heat compound off to get better contact with my dual ball bearing heat sink rig. O/c'ed to 980 (faster crashes) I got about 72 C at peak. But the machine didn't really appear to stable. I'm guessing this is because I have only a 250 W p/s. Soon I'll goto a 300W or a 350W p/s and see what that does for o/c ability and stability.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    38
    I forgot to mention in my last post... Intel rates most of the higher end PIII's to 80. This means if I get up past 80 I'm in deep dog cr*p. But until then it should be fine. My suggestion is find out what the limits of your CPU are.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    tecumseh, micigan, usa
    Posts
    76
    kingradar, have you tried upping the voltage to help stablize the higher speeds.

    damn cpus are getting hotter now. what happened to the day when they were water cooled and temp at negitive numbers

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    38
    What happened to the days of air cooling? You know on say a 286 or 386?

    How do I adjust the voltage settings on a P3V4X? I was under the impression it was regulated automatically? TIA.

    P.S. What voltage settings should I try?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    38
    I have the ASUS K7M, 650 Athlon. I was wondering how do you attach the thermal sensor (P2T cable). Do you stick it on the CPU only, or the Heatsink?

    Urgently need answer, thanks.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Pinoy Ako
    Posts
    292
    Maxout: in running SETI or heavy application - that's where a good HS-fan comes in. I use rain for light application, but the thing is it works wonder for me.

    Strat: with the EPOX MVP3-G2 you can set your core voltage up to 3.3

    here's how
    Voltage--------Dip switch Setting
    2.5--------1-on---2------3-on---4------5
    2.6--------1------2-on---3-on---4------5
    2.7--------1-on---2-on---3-on---4------5

    For the rest of the setting, refer to your manual

    I don't know why Epox did not include it in the manual.

    As for the FSB, i set mine in the Bios. Go to the chipset features. You have there an option where you can set your CPU host clock to default (setting using your jumper), 100mhz, 112mhz, 124mhz and 133mhz. The default multiplier will be the one you set with the jumper.

    Another tip: In the chipset feature, enable the SDRAM Bank interleave to 4. This will almost double your memmory bandwith - check this out using sandra. Mine hit 190/194.

    I made another adjustment with my system. Its now 500@532 (133*4) at 2.4 core voltage.

    P.S.
    [i]Forgot to say that you also have an option of 124mhz fsb in the cpu clock speed under chipset feature. Likewise in getting a 2.6 core voltage dip switch 4 should be off. sorry.[i]


    [This message has been edited by ReB (edited 06-29-2000).]

    [This message has been edited by ReB (edited 06-29-2000).]

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    kingradar

    I don't know what heatsink/fan combo you are using but those temps are really high. What progy are you using to check the temps? ASUS PC Probe is junk. I highly recommend using Motherboard Monitor 4.17 with the P3V4X, you can get it here. This cooler is one of the best...


    (pic is a link)


    You can change core voltage from Bios in .05 increments But higher voltage means more heat, you need to address your overheating situation before I'd start bumping voltage.

    IMHO
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    hills of East Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    262
    Thanks ReB! I am really new to all this. getting ready to try all what you said and see how it works.
    T-Bird 800@1071 1.85V
    Asus A7V-ThermoEngine w/38CFM
    512M Kingmax PC150
    19" Sony Trinitron G400
    17" Gateway Monitor
    2 Vid Cards
    SBL! Platinum
    Desktop Theater 2500 5.1 Digital

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    135
    my cpu once read 65 C,but the fhs actually felt COOL!!! even if they are not in direct contact, the difference cannot be that huge rite?
    btw...can anyone of you pple tell me where to get the seti program...
    and does anyone know how to sdjust the power on a gigabyte 6vx7-4x mobo?
    P3 700@933 under HHC-001+60-80mm Adapter+TT Duct Mod+Enermax 80mm
    Jetwell 694 AS
    512Mb Kingston PC-133...
    ATI Radeon 8500 275 Mhz...
    Sound Blaster Audigy...
    16X ASUS DVD Rom...
    48x16x48 Samsung 8Mb buffer...
    Maxtor 20Gb...
    IBM 80Gb...
    2 Mbps Cable...
    Hauppage WinTV PCI...
    430W Antec TruePower PSU...

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Posts
    302
    Man, go off the forum for a few hours, and questions you never even saw have already been answered. Impressive...
    Moderator at jjr512.com and Xibase.com

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •