Pleas help me with Athlon o/c
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Pleas help me with Athlon o/c

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824

    Pleas help me with Athlon o/c

    Well now when you are here I`m must inform you that I know evrything about Athlon overclocking and I solder setings on my CPU.

    I have modified cooling for L2 and CPU and my CPU temp is oround 30C cooled only with standar fans on the cooler.

    So problem is.

    My 500MHz CPU 0.25 micron with 3,3nsL2 works ultra stabile @ 700 Mhz with default power seting 1,6V and default L2 @1/2. tested with 6 monts of work had no problems at all no BSOD or illegal ops, etc.

    I tried sevrel times to get 750 without succes. I was thinking my MB was holding me back so I sold my old MSI 6167 and buy MSI K7Pro (only available mode was with ICS ??64, so I`m unable to o/c from BIOS with rising FSB).

    Then I was thinkin maybe is PSU (I have 235W) and try to get my self 300 but without succes, and then I modified one old AT PSU so now my MB is supplying from the ATX PSU and all my HD drives CDROM, DVD, CDRW, Floppy, ventilators, are powering from AT PSU.

    Again no luck.
    Rising CPU voltage is not helpfull so what should I do.

    I was calculating that Athlon needs oround 30A of current (@1.6V) so if my ATX PSU is not good with 10A on 3,3V and 19A on 5V what should I get.


    How much you peole with 300W PSU are able to get from your 3,3V and 5V power outpus on the PSU.

    How can I be shoure that problem is PSU.

    Also with ading AT PSU to my system I was only unable to boot in to windows and evrything els was O.K., and with only one PSU my PC did not whatn to boot at all.

    I disabled L2 from BIOS to eliminate L2 speed.

    any help woud be great.

    Thing still works great @ 700 and that is @ defauult 1,6V so it woud be very wierd that my CPU is unable to hit only 750.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    flagstaff, AZ, usa
    Posts
    555
    your athy should get to 750. try soldering your L2 to 2/5 and see what it does. what sped it the core of the chip? a 500? if so i have one that will do 750 and 800. to get 800 i had to raise the V to 1.7 though. my 600 does 800 1.6V and 1/2 L2. i would try the L2 first.
    iAMDking.
    "Is it worth it to give your heart away, and live for a great period of joy, risking the chance to have your heart broken? If your heart does get broken, was it worth it to give it away? - Me"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    i'd say try the L2 at 2/5 first too... remember... 3.3ns chips are only rated at 600mhz @ 1/2 cache... so techincally 750 is a good oc

    ------------------
    Old McDonald had a gig, E-I-E-I-O
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    THX guys, I while try to solder L2 to 2/5 and see what it goes, but then I expect to get 850 so how my L2 would run @ 340Mhz @ 2/5.

    If not that then I while stick to 700.

    CPU is 500 with 650 core.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    yeah... if i can get 884mhz out of a 650 core w/ cache @ 2/5 then you can definately get 850
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    Well I have finaly resolderd L2 to 2/5 and set core clock to 750.

    When I stareted to think that it while boot in to windows . . .. windows protection error come out from somewhere.

    Then I rise voltage for 0.05 volts and evrerything is O.K.

    so 750 @1,65V with 2/5 L2, for now is not bad with tempfrom BIOS @ 32 Celsius air cooled (removed Heat Transfer Plate), and hope I while get to 850 @ some reasenable power setings.

    1,75V i maximum for my taste.

    Machupo @ what voltage your CPU is running now? and how hot is running.



  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    well, i sold the 500, but it was running at ~30C with water cooling @ 1.9V

    the 800 i've got now only seems to want to do 1016 w/o pelts, but freezing is imminent (oh yeah, that's at 1.9V too)

    ------------------
    Old McDonald had a gig, E-I-E-I-O
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •