slot A T-BIRD,Need help finding core size??
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: slot A T-BIRD,Need help finding core size??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205

    slot A T-BIRD,Need help finding core size??

    I have a slot a t/bird, I finally got the case apart, there is a little thin plate with tiny numbers on it,glued to the centre chip, is this the cache? if not , then where is the cache chip? Exactly what numbers tell me the core size? is it any of the numbers on the centre chip?
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    If you have a T-Bird you will not find the cache chips, they are inside. Read the numbers on the cpu core (what you think is a metal plate) It should look something like this (from my 700):

    K7800CPRBBA

    This shows 800 core K7800
    AND .18 Micron BBA (The A)
    The .25 Micron ones end in C

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    Do you have a tbird or a classic, because my numbers are very diffirent, here they are>>>
    A900CMRDEA
    Y5671740421
    0014MPMW.
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    2,676
    Mine is a classic.

    Looks to me like you have a 900MHZ core with .18 Micron

    Current Main Rig:
    AMD FX55 @ 2.9 GHz
    2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM
    ABIT KN8 SLi motherboard
    ATI X1900XT O/C to XTX speeds

    Retired Rig:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton @ 2387 MHz. (217*11)
    512MB DDR RAM @ 436 MHz. (PC 3700)
    Abit AN7 motherboard
    BFG GeForce 6800GT OC!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    Now Im excited, is there any other way to be sure.
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    Well you can clock it up untill it dosnt post anymore.. but I think its safe to say you have a 900.. what Core did you think you were getting?? It should very easy to hit a gig with that baby!! I'm gonna check my T-bird out, its says its a 650 on the cartrige well see.. I know it will do atleast 800 @ 1.7 volts and 900 @ 1.7v but I have a crapy HS and it was running kind of hot to the touch but was stable.. we'll see what the real limits are when I get the water cooler with the two 72w pelts up and running.. Good Luck with your T-Bird!!

    ------------------
    ~{*SPEED LIMIT 2000MHZ*}~
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks AMD100, I thought it was a 900, I just wasnt sure, I had to use a magnefying glass to read those tiny #s, they dont make it easy for you, I think I strained my eyes, the case was a pain to get off, its not in perfect cond anymore, I was swetting like crazy, just hope I didnt expose the cpu to too much static.
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Muncy PA
    Posts
    905
    ejit57... I just replied to your post in cpu's, I gave you all the goodies on your Thunderbird.. Hope I helped..

    ------------------
    ~{*SPEED LIMIT 2000MHZ*}~
    <<>*My Stuff*<>>
    6300 Core2Duo@2065 Mhz
    ASrock 775Dual-VSTA
    2GB DDR Dual Channel
    2 WD 150 7200 Raid 0
    XFX 6600GT @ 550/1100

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    Should I put some of the grease that came with my golden orb fan on the core before I put the case back together?
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    CA, USA
    Posts
    205
    AMD100, Im confused, over on cpu,s you say according to the numbers on the case that I have a 750 core, but here you say 900?
    and two hard boiled eggs.


    Thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •