CII 566 @ 824, should I go higher?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CII 566 @ 824, should I go higher?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766

    CII 566 @ 824, should I go higher?

    Running with the Golden Orb at 1.85v, I need some opinions as to how safe it would be to pump up the voltage to 1.90 or 1.95, I think this puppy will do 850 and beyond, but want to make sure that the CPU won't be damage if I set the voltage that high.

    Right now, it will boot into Win2K at 850 @ 1.85v, but after running for a few minutes, system reboots itself. It will run at 824 completely stable.

    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Abit BE6-II, Intel Celeron II 566, Samsung 256mb PC-100, IBM 75GXP 15.3 gb, Quantum LM 10.2 gb, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S CD-RW, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    I see you have the BE6 II. Install MotherBoard Monitor 4.17 If you haven't already, and check your temps. If the temps are between 30 and 45C I'd say go for it.

    Use the WinBond 2 P2 thermal diode to monitor CPUtemp.

    Duckman

    ------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    Duckman's Wild Page
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Sorry, I didn't hear you, I was staring at your breasts.

    [This message has been edited by Duckman (edited 06-23-2000).]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766
    Update:

    At 1.90v, temps reach 45 degrees, I can get it stable at 850, but it's not stable at anything above 850mhz...

    At 1.85v, temps reach about 40-42 degrees, I can get it stable at 824mhz, but system reboots itself at 850..

    any suggestions on how I can get my systems to run stable at 850?!?!


    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Abit BE6-II, Intel Celeron II 566, Samsung 256mb PC-100, IBM 75GXP 15.3 gb, Quantum LM 10.2 gb, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S CD-RW, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    stoney creek, ontario, canada
    Posts
    269
    1.9-1.95 volts is pretty high for that chip also those temps are on the tight side.
    When all else fails have a beer and dont punch the drivebay covers...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 1999
    Posts
    1,424
    I run my celeron at 1.9v @ 896MHZ, no problems yet. If thats the measurement using the on-chip diode, then youre WELL under maximum specced temperature.

    ------------------
    This signature space FOR RENT

    This signature space FOR SALE

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Brampton, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    845
    That's quite alot there! You like the Ggolden Oorb? You have any many problems with it?

    I'm putting Golden Orbs on a BP6 w/ Cel400s

    ------------------
    brainsoft, Xi Base Webmaster.
    "I don't know how I got here, I was only looking for the washroom."
    brainsoft, XiBase Alumni.

    "I don't know how I got here, I was only looking for the washroom."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    62
    That's good eh, I run my 566@850 at 1.85 volts, stock cooling so far. I lock up in Quake after a while, raising voltage to 1.90 and 1.95 prolongs gaming slightly, once it crashes though a restart doesnt fix it, I need to wait a while, obviously indicating a heat problem. I'm looking into an articooler, hopefully 850 will be stable at this, at the moment I can only do 707mhz from it (stable in Q3). Temps range from 26-40C)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766
    After lots of tweaking, I can only get my CII 566 COMPLETELY stable at 766 @ 1.65v.

    I have tried to up the voltage and increase FSB, but Win2K starts to reboot itself when I play Starcraft for more than 15 min.

    Do you think I got shafted with this CPU? I've seen a lot of other success stories with the 566, and I am bummed that I can only get this to run at 766.

    Any other suggestions?

    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Abit BE6-II, Intel Celeron II 566, Samsung 256mb PC-100, IBM 75GXP 15.3 gb, Quantum LM 10.2 gb, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S CD-RW, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    31
    I too, cant get my CII566 to run stable @ 850. It locks up everytime I start Outlook Express. The temps are fine, ranging from 32-35. I've tried votage from 1.60 - 1.80, and still no luck.
    I cant set my bios fsb to anything but 100. My mobo is BH6 and everytime I try to set it to say 75 or 66 or 83 I get CPU is unworkable or has been changed. Please change this in soft menu, or something like that. So I am baffled, I have to set it in Windows using gui soft menu.
    I wold also like to run stable @ 850, but need some suggestions on what else to try. How much higher should I try the voltage, or should I look at a new mobo?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •