Memory testing
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Memory testing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    england
    Posts
    22

    Memory testing

    Is there any software available to test the max fsb speed a computers memory will run.
    I need to know this as my celly 366 wont go past 500 (90) and was thinking the Pc100 memory might not be what it should be.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    No there isn't, typically PC100 SDRAM will do 100MHz almost 100% of the time (unless you got a bum module) You most likely hit the limit of your CPU.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    I agree. If you are certain you have pc-100 memory then there is no way you shouldn't be getting OVER 100mhz out of that chip. Does it say -8 or -10 on the chip? If it doesn't then it is possible you got 66mhz memory there
    If you don't have another machine anywhere else that you can test the chip in that runs on a 100mhz bus, then you might be able to run down to your local computer shop and have them test the memory out at no charge. I no many business' will do this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Höör, Skåne, Sweden
    Posts
    698
    Couldn't it be the bloddy AGP again...seems we've been here a lot lately...where does your 2/3 divider kick in??? or is it enabled maually?? checked it in SiSoft Sandra???

    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...

    [This message has been edited by Tweety (edited 06-16-2000).]
    * OCN Hellspawn *
    ------------------
    I Thougth I Saw A Putty Cat...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Here are some guide lines that can help determine if the SDRAM that you have installed is what it claims to be (PC100 or PC133)

    Check the "module marking" which is screened somewhere on the DIMM. If it's a PC100 stick it should read something like this:

    PCX-abc-def R
    Where:

    X = the specified clock rate, must be 100 for a 100MHz system.

    a = CAS latency (in clock cycles), must be 2 or 3

    b = tRCD - RAS-to-CAS delay (in clock cycles), must be 2 or 3

    c = tRP - RAS precharge time (in clock cycles), must be 2 or 3

    d = tAC - output valid from clock (in ns) must be 6ns

    e = SPD-EEPROM version, either a 2 for Rev. 1.2, or the full "1.2"

    f = 0 (zero) or blank, reserved for future use

    R = registered, buffered DIMM

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •