It didn't happen on a cold, rainy night...
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 41

Thread: It didn't happen on a cold, rainy night...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735

    It didn't happen on a cold, rainy night...

    Well, today I received my waterblock from Rotor. I, for 12 hours, assembled this monster. I started about 12 hours ago now. After getting everything set up, I power up the pump... I power up the PSU's... I power up the computer and... no boot. I pull the CPU out and examine it for moisture, none apparent. Took the CPU out and slid it into the slot naked, no boot. I'm so pissed. This is not an implecation that Rotor's equipment is bad, it is anything but bad. The only thing that killed this CPU is the fact that God must hate me. Anyways, I'm gonna have to figure out how to get a new CPU soon... I doubt I'll be able to replace a P3 750 anytime soon. Anyways, let this be a warning to anyone trying watercooling for the first time... What you can't see will kill your CPU.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    Are you sure it's dead?? I mean, I've really tried to kill a CPU and it's impossible unless you plug it in the 230V(it's 230V in Norway) outlet in the wall...

    Have you tried it with "normal" cooling?? Please tell me you haven't fried it for real!!

    Duckman

    ------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    Duckman's Wild Page
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Sorry, I didn't hear you, I was staring at your breasts.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    I tried it without a HS/F. It was getting fed voltage because it was hot, but it was only on for like 4 seconds. I do have some Silicone Sealent contacting the CPU pins, but I was under the impression that stuff was non-conductive.I would RMA it, it is under warranty by about 4 days, but that sealent will not come off and it is completly naked, so I doubt I can get it back together. If you're wondering, right now I'm on an old P 75 laptop and on a 28.8 modem.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    El Paso, TX, USA
    Posts
    567
    Does the power come on at all? or is it completely powerless?

    if the power comes on: is there anything on the monitor? do you hear any beeps?

    if there is no power at all: Did you make sure the little power on cable going from the front of the case (power button) is plugged into the Mobo correctly?

    When i first got my waterblock, i installed it, took about an hour, then i got the Mobo back in the puter, then hit the power button, and nothing happened. i thought i killed the puter. i looked at the back to make sure the PSU cable was plugged in correctly, and that the Surge protector was on. nothing. i was getting upset, then i glanced over, saw that the Power Button cable was not plugged into the Mobo, and i burst into a hysterical laughter. i plugged it in, then hit the button, it boot immediately. i couldn't stop laughing for about 15 min.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    pretty hard to kill a CPU in 5 s due to thermal issue ... if it was a electrical issue, then yeah, it could happen. Are you sure it isn't the silicon sealant covering some of your pins and prevent contact (and conduction) with your pins?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    The CPU is getting voltage, the comp turns on, it just doesn't do post. HDD's spin up, CDROM spins up, but no image on the monitor. Does anyone know anyway I can get this silicone sealent off of the PCB? Does anyone want to donate me a CPU? Damnit Duckman, why did you have to smash a perfectly good P2
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    Try to spray some CRC electronic cleansing on it and see if that loosens the silicine. Hell, pick up a toothbrush and brush all of the pins!! That wouldn't make any marks that voids the warranty

    Duckman

    ------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    Duckman's Wild Page
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Sorry, I didn't hear you, I was staring at your breasts.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    Oh yeah, and if I shorted out the slot on the motherboard, would the computer even turn on?
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    your mobo will still power up and fans will spin and hd will spin if there is no CPU in your mobo, but vid card won't post and neither will BIOS.

    sorry, dumb question ... you sure the vid card is seated properly and your monitor cable is nicely plugged into your vid card?

    [This message has been edited by NiteOwl (edited 06-15-2000).]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    ****.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    hey, don't give up just yet. whenever my vid card comes lose a bit it won't post either. have you try to manually turn on your monitor just to see? Once I had this problem too ... I thought I fried something until I turn on my monitor manually ... anyhow, recheck my last post, I added a thought.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    Well, there may be hope... I just looked at the slot and there appears to be some silicone sealent inside the slot... I'm cautious to stick something in there... what can I use?
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    Yeah, everything is seated fine.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    Duckman, help OCA clean between the crack on his mo*o

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    ????
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •