Abit BE6-II and Celeron II 566
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Abit BE6-II and Celeron II 566

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766

    Abit BE6-II and Celeron II 566

    I am trying to OC this puppie, but in the BIOS, it doesn't have multiplier greater than 8...

    Celeron II 566 has an locked multiplier at 8.5

    i am getting checksum error when systems boots up, and when i try to OC, i get checksum errors also...

    anyone with the BE6-II and Celeron IIs help!

    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Soyo 7VCA, Intel Celeron II 566, 256mb PC-100 Samsung, Quantum LM 10.2, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    no matter what multiplier the BIOS has, it will still be 8.5

    salt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    is that the new bios??

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    62
    Hmm, checksum errors I got as well when I tried to O/C too high. You'd get VXD stuff missing, registry checkers loading and what not, try upping the voltage, lowering the O/C till you burn in the cpu (with say SETI)or get it better cooling. I get 850 from my celeron 566 at 1.9 stable in games, stock heatsink so far, any higher I can post (posts everything I've bothered throwing at it - up to 957) but will get errors like th ones you sound like you're having.

    Good Luck!

    Mr Ribs

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766
    i looked on the ABIT site, and i have flashed the most recent BIOS...

    so what should i set the multiplier at since i can't go above 8?

    also, how high should i bump the voltage to to OC to the max?

    one last thing, i am have trouble with my IDE CD-ROM, i have a SCSI CD-RW that i have been using to install the OS, software, etc, etc.... the IDE CD-ROM give a CDR101 error in DOS, and even when it shows up in win98 under device manager and windows explorer, it won't read any CDs I put in..... what do u think might be the problem....

    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Soyo 7VCA, Intel Celeron II 566, 256mb PC-100 Samsung, Quantum LM 10.2, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    The way things work with the locked multiplier is, you can set it at any value you want but the CPU itself sends a signal indicating what multiplier it should be set at. So set it to any value (8 is fine).
    As far as voltage goes, work from 1.70 - 1.95 Volts. Yes I know they do go higher but anything in the 2+ Volt ( >25% over spec) region should be watercooled or peltier cooled IMHO. As for your CD-R check your slave/master settings.

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA USA
    Posts
    766
    Here is what I have tried:

    setting bus speed to 83, it will boot, but not all the way to Windows, then it reboots, and give checksum error....

    setting anything above 83, automatic checksum error, won't even boot.....

    what am i doing wrong?

    ------------------
    Dual boot Windows 98 Second Edition and Windows 2000 Professional
    Soyo 7VCA, Intel Celeron II 566, 256mb PC-100 Samsung, Quantum LM 10.2, Sony 6x DVD-ROM, Yamaha 4416S, ATI Rage Fury 32mb, SB Live! Value, Linksys 10/100 NIC

    Windows NT Server
    ABIT BP6, Dual Intel Celeron 366a @ 458, 128mb PC-100, Western Digital Caviar 30.7gb, Sony 48x CD-ROM, Diamond Speedstar 8mb, Linksys 10/100 NIC

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •