is coppermine good to o/c?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: is coppermine good to o/c?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    262

    is coppermine good to o/c?

    i was wondering if anyone had problems o/cing coppermine or any other problems with it. my PII450@504 is getting old and needs replacing so i was thinking about geting coppermine 700Mhz or something around that and o/c the hell out of it
    Estimated time it will take me to fix your computer:
    If you leave - 15 min
    If you watch - 1hour
    If you help - 3hours

  2. #2
    Siamese Guest
    What I suggest is go adn get a cheaper 600E
    then overclock that to 900 if your lucky!

    Cause if u buy a 700e then ur gonna overclock max to around 900 anyway. Thats the limit of the Coppermine core with air cooling that is.

  3. #3
    Siamese Guest
    Make sure have PC-133 though. Good luck

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    When you purchase a PIII 600 and you see one PIII 600 cheaper then another PIII 600 beware! The cheaper 600 is a 600 EB (4.5 * 133MHz) and the more expensive PIII is a 600 E (6 * 100MHz). Prices will differ by about $15-25 dollars. The 600E has significantly greater O/Cing potential with it's higher multiplier and lower FSB.


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 1999
    Location
    Houston TX. USA
    Posts
    2,308
    And Marek88 if your needing a 600E cB0 processor that will do 800+ keep looking in the FOR SALE forum, one will defenetly show up soon!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    225
    "Are coppermines good overclockers?"
    Ahem...500@830...500@830 nur nur ne nur nur!!


    I apologise for the unecessary outburst!
    =)

    ------------------
    Planet Phatt "The Swing System"
    Planet Phatt "The Swing System"

    Intel RoXoRs 411

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    NJ USA
    Posts
    262
    haha thats a good one Mr Phatt
    you have to undarstand though i havent been hee in the about 2 month and with the speed that the computer industry is moving my info is a liitle bit outdated. the last time i remember celeron was the hotest thing. i'm just trying to catch up on the news
    thanx guys
    Estimated time it will take me to fix your computer:
    If you leave - 15 min
    If you watch - 1hour
    If you help - 3hours

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Leicester,England
    Posts
    201
    I have a 650 e (sl3nr old stepping )its running fine and dandy at 839 with bog standard pc100 ram, if you can wait go for the new cu mine with the new stepping it supposed to better for o/c.
    gonna get some good pc133 and hopfully reach 900 + (probably not with air cooling but im gonna try(at 839, and a hard 3 hrs of online q2 dm it only gets to 31 deg cel) so im a hoping

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •