Flash Bios crash..is it scrap???
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Flash Bios crash..is it scrap???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790

    Flash Bios crash..is it scrap???

    A mate just brought around a TMC mobo that "crashed" half way through a bios flash. He waited an hour but nothing changed and so he turned it off. It doesn't do anything now so I said to him it's probably toast, Yes?? unless you can get a new bios chip.

    anyone know different

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Hi BLADERUNNER, I got your mail today, thank you sir Try www.benchtest.com I think he has a page describing how to "hot swap" bios chips.

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Between a rock and a hard place.
    Posts
    682
    try to clear/reset CMOS. if not, take out the mobo battery out for a few mins. as it powers the CMOS.

    sometimes this works....the rest of the times...it doesn't

    good luck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Northampton, England
    Posts
    265
    If u know any body with the same mb then u can hotswap the nackered cmos into the working booted system and reflash it, ive only done it once on a bp6 and that worked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Club Tropicana
    Posts
    2,047
    BTW does it make a difference if the BIOS is shadowed when hot swapped. I would've though that it would need to be?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Posts
    6
    If the motherboard won't respond, and you can not find a bios chip to hot swap, contact the manufacturer of the board,... they will most likely sell you a new bios chip with the latest bios already programed on it. At least Abit and Asus will. (the cost is worth it!)

    P.S. #1 rule of updating bios... Never turn off power during bios update.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1998
    Location
    SD, CA, USA
    Posts
    323
    BR!

    Here is the hot link:
    http://www.tweakmax.com/html/hotswap/hotswap-1.cfm

    So easy it's fun, and it works.

    Kind regards,

    Kash

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    766
    WAIT!

    you may still be able to reflash dont do the hotswap until all hope is lost....

    99% of the time the boot block is NEVER updated.. try placing a old ISA video card and just a floppy drive nothing else. mkae a bootable diskette on another machine that will automatically flash the disk after bootup as you may not be able to use the keyboard. Flip it on and let it sit.. it may take up to 1/2 hour to boot up.. but it had never failed me i have flashed the completly wrong bios to something once and i got it back...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Digital Realm.
    Posts
    10
    You should have what is called a BIOS jumper, and it will have 2 settings
    1:Normal Mode
    2: Recovery Mode

    You need to get a copy of the bios, or an older version of the bios, set the jumper to Recovery mode, pop the disk in with the bios on it, and boot up, you will get NO screen, just 1 beep to signafy that it is loading the bios, and 2 beeps when it is done, remove the floppy, shutdown, and put the jumper back to Normal mode. Now bootup.

    ------------------
    Phiber Optik-
    Digital Realm-
    Phiber Optik-
    Digital Realm-

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Hotswapping solved it thanks all, and my mobo doesn't have the recovery mode jumper so If you can't get to floppy drive use you are screwed unless you have another bios rom

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •