650e cBO not impressed :(
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: 650e cBO not impressed :(

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    216

    650e cBO not impressed :(

    Just unpacked my new 650 cBO and I am a little disappointed. I expected to set this baby up at 150FSB and have it smokin at 975.

    So far I am only stable at 910 default voltage and I am loosing my 150FSB I had with the 600e@902

    I need to do some more testing in the intermediate ranges to see what it will do.

    I think heat is more a problem with this chip than my 600e cBO. Does anyone know a way to get the stock heatsink off without ripping up the four plastic pins?

    Anyone with a 650 please let me know what your chips will do and what cooling you are using.

    Thanks -Todd

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    old steppings 650e slot 1

    1.65 V to 1.7 v
    P3125 with Ice 71 peltier on 12V, around 2 to 7 c @ 936 Mhz.

    Can't you just pop those four plastic pin out from the back using a screw?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    Look at the heatsink from the orginal P3. It is the exact same as the one that come with the coppermine. If it can handle 2.0v, it can handle kicking the voltage up to maybe 1.75, or, I had mine at 1.8.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    Read this.

    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Old stepping p3 650, Running at 948, at 1.6 volts. 1 Peltier,( frost 74 ), cpu will do 1012. Water cooled.

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    13,269
    I think the 600e"s were generally better than the 650E's?
    ? Quantum Physics ? Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    I think so too/ In general that is,... I think we ALL expect the max out of every chip, But I do agreee with TN, I think that near always the Lower Multiplier for a given series of chip, will produce the highest yeild.

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri
    Posts
    335
    Buckichiro:

    I just took the cover off of my P3 600E with the cB0 stepping like ten minutes ago and let me tell you it requires a lot more pressure than that article mentions to pop those pins out. I had to bare almost all my weight on it to get them to come out. And you will here a very loud crack. I almost **** my pants because I thought I had broken the thing in half. But all should be ok. So be prepared to use lots of force and hear a loud cracking sound.

    x64208203

    ------------------
    Check out the E-Lacrosse homepage at:
    www.e-lacrosse.com

    [This message has been edited by x64208203 (edited 06-03-2000).]
    My Current System:
    CPU: PIII 600E @ 840mhz
    Mobo: Asus P3V4X
    Video: Geforce 2
    Sound:SB Live! X-Gamer
    HDD: WD 40 gig IDE
    CD-ROM: 48x off brand
    CD-RW: TDK VeloCD 16x/10x/40x
    Connection: Cable Modem
    Monitor: 17" Sony Trinitron

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Yup... Tha articles kinda forget to mention that, but it is normal... It takes quite the amount of pressure to "press" the pins out.......

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    The origin of stupidity - Alabama
    Posts
    735
    The cool thing is if you want to RMA it you can put retail HS/F back on... or at least I did with the help of a hammer to get the pins back in. And yes, I went numb when I heard those loud cracking sounds. I thought I shattered the chip. After all, I put all of my weight on it.
    You people who think you know everything really piss people like me off who really do know everything.
    http://geocities.com/r337m0nk3y/net/smileysex5.gif

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    216
    Well I am a little happier now. I removed the cover and put on my global win VS504 and am running at 930 air cooled stable at 1.7v. Idle temps are 25c as compared to 38c. I am going to let it burn in a little here then up it a little bit and see what it will do. It will run at 975 but is really flaky. I don't know if voltage will help we'll see.

    Thanks for all the replies....I read them a little too late and already cut the pins on the inside to get it off. Luckily, I have another retail if anything goes wrong I can just use it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    I don't know how much the Intel specs mean to you, but the recommended voltage range for coppermines is 1.58-1.68v if I'm not mistaken. Is it really wise to push beyond 1.7v? 1.8v?!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    If we wanted to run within the specs we wouldn't be here!

    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    Overclocking is obviously not in specs... The question was regarding voltage.

    [This message has been edited by Donovan (edited 06-03-2000).]

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Volunteer State
    Posts
    758
    I guess the reason I ask Maxout is because I thought that the processor might be a bit more sensitive to voltage then just simply being overclocked, know what I mean?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •