coudl someone explain more technical RAM stuff to me? - Page 2
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 22 of 22

Thread: coudl someone explain more technical RAM stuff to me?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Originally posted by spa.ere:
    i've looked through my bios but only see one setting for precharge, latency, but i don't have three settings for those three numbers
    That's exactly the setting you need. If it's set to 3 now, change it to 2 and see if you run stabily. Run memory benchmarks such as SiSoft Sandra and or WinTune98 with CAS Latency set to 2, then 3 and see the difference!



    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    okay, there was a missing post in here ... open seasame.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Take a look here -> http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/007340.html

    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  4. #19
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    England, West Sussex
    Posts
    78
    S_Klass you have made a loop and I am stuck in it ill be stuck in these posts forever
    Its far to bright over here....

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    141
    so this CAS timing stuff, say 2-2-2, would jsut be cas set to two? what is like 2-2-3 and all that stuff? !!!
    specs:
    Dual Celly 533
    Abit BP6
    512MB RAM
    Asus v6800 DDR Pure 64MB
    2 * 40gig maxtors in RAID
    2 * 15gig maxtors in RAID
    1 * 20gig maxtor

  6. #21
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    England, West Sussex
    Posts
    78
    The CAS latency is the first number of the three I think.
    Its far to bright over here....

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    Originally posted by gregm:
    S_Klass you have made a loop and I am stuck in it ill be stuck in these posts forever
    LoL it's a trick I planned to syphon you of CPU cycles so you would fall back on the SETI ranks. LoL Just kidding, I noticed that ppl on both forums were asking similar questions that had been answered well in each of the other forum(s), so hence my post.

    Yes, in essence, CAS 2 is represented by 2-2-2 and CAS 3 is represented by 3-2-2


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •