Is it possible to drill holes in a slocket to fit a lot 1 cooler on?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it possible to drill holes in a slocket to fit a lot 1 cooler on?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879

    Is it possible to drill holes in a slocket to fit a lot 1 cooler on?

    Its probably been asked about, but I really wanna know cuz those things are monstrous. And they look sweet.

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    230
    Check some of the Asus slockets in your area. Mine has four holes predrilled, you might be able to mount a Slot 1 HSF using those.
    Duron 750@847, Asus A7V133, 256mb Crucial PC133 CAS2 at 150,
    Matrox G400 32mb DH, Maxtor 10.2GB, Maxtor 15.2 GB, Plextor 8/4/32, Samsung 12x DVD, SB Live X-Gamer, D-Link NIC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,635
    I heard it's not possible because the Slokets are multi layer PCBs and there are traces in between the layers that are not visible from the outside. If you drill a hole thinking there is no trace passing through from looking at the outside, you will likely be sorry.


    ------------------
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.
    -=S_Klass=- I tweak... therefore I am.

    Proud Member of the OCN Hellspawns Genome Fleet
    TeamID: 567443298
    OCN Genome FAQ | OCN Genome Stats

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Stavanger, Norway
    Posts
    1,808
    It is possible, but it depends a lot on your slotket. I did that on my Asus slotket, or actually, I removed the black plastic frame that goes around the edges of the PCB. Then I drilled holes in the slot1 Alpha so that it fit on the slotket. Worked great. What kind of slotket do you have??

    Duckman

    ------------------
    Visit my homepage:
    Duckman's Wild Page
    Site Content: Overclocking, cooling and a lot of BS about Me, Myself and I.
    Sorry, I didn't hear you, I was staring at your breasts.

    [This message has been edited by Duckman (edited 05-25-2000).]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Posts
    1,249
    I saw this done somewhere, don't remember where. The guy drilled through it to mount a water block and reinforced the slocket with fiberglass. I though if you could fit one of those big Global Win slot 1 coolers it would be great. The VOS would work good and is cheap!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879
    I have an asus slocket (not sure of the model) and an Iwill Slocket2. I am really interested in the Alpha 3125 or whatever. I could stack two 50 watt TEC's under it and it could dissipate all of that heat!

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •