I want more but she won't put out
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: I want more but she won't put out

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319

    I want more but she won't put out

    My chip that is. I have my p!!! 500E Rock steady at 750, 150 FSB 1.6v, but I can't for the life of me hit 775. And I know you all know just how annoying that is.

    I've knocked my RAM up to 3-3-3 as opposed to it's flawless performance at 2-3-3. I've lowered the AGP arperture. I've upped and downed the voltages, and still no more.

    It will get into windows, load half my background and freeze.
    The weird thing is it does this exact same thing when I try for 800. It doesn't freeze any sooner.

    My maxed out temps are 26C, that's with a watercooled 50Watt peltier. I have an extra 72Watt, just don't know the most efficient way to hook it up.

    I want 775, that's all there is too it, any ideas are welcome, thanks guys.

    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    sounds like your AGP video card can't hack the high FSB. have a PCI laying around to test it with?

    ------------------
    jopecooler industries: We aim to mame, sever, and dice up any extremitity you have left to use. And if you have Ziplocks we will package it to go!


    HWC - OCN Drinking Active List. 67864797
    Quake 3 arena Acitive List. 70498309
    HWC/Force3d active list. 57497564
    whatever

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    879
    [Professional advice]
    Change your background!!!
    [/Professional advice]

    ------------------
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?
    Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate?

    EpoX 8RDA+
    AMD Barton 2500+ @ 3200+ (2.2ghz)
    1gb Corsair XMS pc3200
    Visontek GeForce 4 Ti4200
    WD LE 80gb 7200rpm HDD
    Sony 48x24x48x IDE CDRW
    Soundblaster Live! Audigy
    Logitech Cordless MX Duo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    750mhz is sweet enough...

    salt

    ------------------
    Sign up for PayPal-Easiest way to trade/sell/pay online

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    i've got an extra PCI vid card but it cuts out at around 133.
    And if it can't load the background, no way in hell is it going to be stable...

    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    but @ 133 your MB should have the 1/4 PCI divider and it should be a cool 33mhz pci like there is supposed to be,
    whatever

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    hmmmmm.... I thought I switched it, but I'll try again

    Mind you I'm using pc100 Sdram, But all of my components have seen 165 FSB.

    If you switch the In Order Depth Que from 8 to 1, you can get much better stability, I hit 825 without problems, got a screenshot at home.mmcable.com/dannyoc If you want proof. The only problem is that hit's your memmory scores like a ton of bricks.

    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Algonquin Illinois
    Posts
    1,712
    Forget the Que at 1.... Makes no sense/ It's the ram, you need better, yours isn't cuttin it/ sorry for the bad news/ good news is: with better ram you can get way higher

    ------------------
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!
    Help me get this Boot outta my azz!!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    i highly recommend the mushkin high-perf stuff... i've got two sticks of the Rev. 1 stuff and they run at 168mhz fsb (3-3-3, that is)

    ------------------
    900 club, anyone? (No relation to that evangelical trash on UPN)
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    1 hospital way
    Posts
    1,860
    soon to have one STICK

    ------------------
    jopecooler industries: We aim to mame, sever, and dice up any extremitity you have left to use. And if you have Ziplocks we will package it to go!


    HWC - OCN Drinking Active List. 67864797
    Quake 3 arena Acitive List. 70498309
    HWC/Force3d active list. 57497564
    whatever

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    hmm where can I get it, I'm assuming Mushkin.com or something. Now by the end of the summer I should have enough to dish out for new RAM, then I'll be set.
    (of course by then, 840 will be way slow)

    By the way what exactly does the que do?

    And I am very satisfied with my RAM, it's over a year old, and it's PC100.. So I think she's paid her dues. She'll be cracking SETI with her old frien CELY 300A as soon as I can scrounge the money for the new stuff.

    DAmn Multiplier locks...
    ------------------
    I'm just one big #!*@ing Ray of sunshine, aren't I?

    [This message has been edited by Swedishlf (edited 05-22-2000).]
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    Here you go...
    http://www.mushkin.com/cgi-bin/mushkin.storefront



    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    And I want that $178 stick of High Perf. REV.2 PC133 222 right?
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    Yes you do!

    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Lawrence, KS/Yukon, OK
    Posts
    1,319
    So what exactly are the probability that this investment will get me past the 150 barrier? It's only certified for 133 and I sure as hell don't wanna blow $178 on 25-50 more MHZ...
    Woohoo, 14th person to solve the 4D rubik's cube...ever! http://www.superliminal.com/cube/cube.htm

    Watch me solve a regular cube in 24.2 seconds at www.rubiks.dk videolist, Daniel Hayes!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •