Overclocking GeForce SDR, NEED HELP!!!!
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Overclocking GeForce SDR, NEED HELP!!!!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361

    Overclocking GeForce SDR, NEED HELP!!!!

    how high can I clock my Leadtek Winfast Geforce Standard???
    it's using stock h/s/f
    I don't want to modify it in any way so how high should I go and is it worth it??
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    There is this amazing place called the Video Cards section!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    yeah well this is called OVERCLOCKING the video card, and I do beleive this is the OVERCLOCKING section
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Suffolk, UK
    Posts
    3,849
    Didn't want to start a fight - I was just saying (in my own way) how no-one usually talks speciificlly about video cards here.

    Anyway, lets leave all this sarcasm behind before it gets out if hand.

    USSVoyager

    ------------------
    Speed is everything - Warp factor 9, Mr. Sulu!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    597
    If it has a fan on the HS, put a bigger one on, if it doesn't, add one, and apply RAM sinks to the memory.

    ------------------
    Nothing but the CHEESE!
    UCU - United Chooches Uniontown for Life~~
    Finally... the CHEESEMAN... has LOST his 4x4!!! - My buddy wrecked it!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Crappy Journalism, PUKA
    Posts
    604
    Hi danny889:

    Totally agree with cheeseman.

    Pop off that puny little fan and HS, take some very fine Sand paper and lap through the Thermal goop, NVidia Gforce label (round) and stop when the color just starts to turn coppery. Put on a real HS and at least a 21CFM fan, move all PCI cards as far away from the VidCard as you can, load the latest drivers which can be found here:

    Detonator,

    Then go and get PowerStrip, here:

    PowerStrip2.65

    I know you said you didn't want to modify it, and you've got the best of the litter for OCing SDR GeForce cards, but you'll get so much more out of the little beast with these simple tricks.

    HS on the memory modules also helps considerably.

    DMMD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    Hey USS, sorry man, jsut had a bad day that's all
    do you become a memeber if you get 30 posts??
    I'm sick of being a junior member
    the reason I don't wanna modify it is coz well simply, I can't. the parts are simply too hard to get here.

    P.S how exatlly do I stick a new heatsink and fan on I mean how do I get it to stay??
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Posts
    1,751
    cheese, applying ram-sink will not imporve overclocking capability.

    I saw a review at www.overclockers.com (i think)

    salt

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    ok, so what if I get my P!!! 600E hsf?? will that do??
    say I am actually crazy engough to do this
    (I'm only 15 and to me, this stuf ain't cheap)
    how do I get the hsf to actually stick to the geforce??
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

  10. #10
    Siamese Guest
    Danny boy all u do is crazy glue it on. Put 4 dabs on the 4 corners of the Geforce and make sure that u use Thermal Grease in the middle whereever there isnt any crazy glue to help facilitate the heat transfer!!

    Where do u live? Do u have any RadioShacks?
    Go there and look for Thermal Grease.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    361
    hey
    I live in Melbourne Aussie
    not too rich at the moment, I dunno about the radio shacks, gotta find out.
    (damn I wish people would start opening these kind of store in AUSTRALIA)
    I was curious, what exactally would vaseline do?
    Tbird 1400 @ 1518
    Abit KT7-A
    Leadtek GF2 Pro 230/460
    512 Meg PC-133 Cas 3 @137
    Seagate Barratcuda IV ATA 100 40Gb
    16X Pioneer Slot DVD
    8X4 Panasonic CD-R

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •