AMD Help needed please
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: AMD Help needed please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    66

    AMD Help needed please

    Just got a AMD K6II 500MHZ and I was wondering what they were OCable to? Also, anyone know a good operating temp for those chips? Any good cooling idea's? Water cooled? anyway to do it? Any suggestions would help. Thanks!!
    Have a Mac? Like Linux?
    Put them together!
    Http://www.macnlinux.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    266
    Don't want to burts your bubble but the k6-2 aren't good overclockers. I have gotten my dads 500 to 550 but it was unstable. I only used air cooling. I am sorry but I just don't see why its worth it to overclock those things. The chip is $42 bucks plus shipping. You'll spend way more than that if you actively cool it.
    Finally got the 600e and the Global win VOS32. Now I need some good ram...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    66
    I wasnt out for that chip to be a over clocker. Bought it because I needed something a bit faster and cheap and that will run my Q3 game down the T3 to the server that we have. and so far it is doing well, I was just curious to see what these chips had in them and right now my sys runs warm so I was just trying to get some tips on cooling :-)
    Have a Mac? Like Linux?
    Put them together!
    Http://www.macnlinux.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    BIG COOLER, LOTS of CHASIS FANS.


    If you need performances for your K6-2 go for higer FSB clcok not the CPU core

    example:

    110x4,5=490 is 10-15% faster then your default 500 (5x100), and 115x4,5=517,5 would be the best and fastest setup for you, or 112x4,5=504 depends on your motherboard and available FSB clcoks.

    IF you deside to rise FSB keep your chasis opend cous in that chase is not only CPU overclocked but evrything else.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    Also use CPUIDLE is very helpfull for K6-x cpus, or eny other HLT software (software cooler).

    [This message has been edited by miha76 (edited 04-26-2000).]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    You should be able to get to 550 without much trouble. You will need to run a higher voltage than the standard 2.2v, and do some burn-in, but it should get 550. See this thread on K6/2 overclocks: http://discussions.hardwarecentral.c...ML/006403.html
    Although TonForty is using a 533, most of the same things apply to your 500. I currently have a 500 running at 525 doing burn-in to get to 550. I hope to see 575 or 582mhz with this chip, but time will tell!

    As for cooling, you should be able to get 550 or 575 with air-cooling only. Use a good quality heatsink, preferably an ALPHA. I'm running my 500@525 with a GlobalWin FKP32 heatsink that has been lapped. The case has one (1) Sunon 80mm fan in the front blowing cool air into the case. The power supply fan is exhausting air out of the case. Idle temps with voltage at 2.3v is a nice cool 26-27c and never gets above 33c! And this is without RAIN or other software cooling. The mobo is an AT style, so the front case fan blows directly on the side of the CPU/heatsink which helps quite a bit!
    miha76 is right, a higher FSB will improve performance much more than higher clock speeds will.

    Your chip will probably need a little burn-in before overclocking. I burn in by running Stability Test or Prime95 at a higher voltage for a couple of days before attempting to o/c. I used 2.4v on my 500, then set it to 525 and lowered the voltage to 2.3v, now it's stable as a rock! I'm doing the same now trying for 550. And when I say stable, I mean running Stability Test for 24+ hours with no errors, and playing Motocross Madness for a couple of hours with no crashes.
    Hope this helps!





    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 04-26-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    556
    The K6-2s must be getting worse O/Cing wise because I used to have my 400 @ 525, I could get it to boot to windows at 550 but would soon go squiff . I ended up frying it anyhow.
    E6400 @ 4.1 Ghz // 4Gb DDR2 6400 // 8800GTS 512

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Soneji - The 350 and 400 overclocked pretty well, but the higher speeds are a little tougher. I believe this is due to the core not having anymore headroom left. About 600mhz seems to be the tops. I don't think the .25 core can get much more than that. (Mainly due to heat) Maybe the .18 mobile processors can do better, we'll have to wait and see............

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 04-26-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    66
    AMDnut, I have the same monitoring program you do, but the temps are much higher. Idle for 30 minutes, I can get it down 90-91 F (32-33C) and I think this is way to warm. If
    I set me alarms like youhave them, they go off while installing a simple program. It went off big time when I installed Q3 because its bigger. I have a server size case, over sized heat sink with fan on the CPU, 3 fans blowing out of the back of the case (inclu power supply) and one fan at lower front blowing in, and two smaller ones blowing in on HD in 51/4 bay. Its a ATX case so I dont have anything blowing at the CPU other than the heatsink fan. I have done no over clocking yet so this is all of the heat from 500mhz. The video card is only a 8mb, but I do feel some heat off of that as well. Let me know some thoughts on this.

    Thanks
    Rob
    Have a Mac? Like Linux?
    Put them together!
    Http://www.macnlinux.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    robo74 - What mobo are you running? What kind of heatsink are you using? Your temps seem OK at 32-33c, but if your alarms go off that fast, something is not quite right. Are you using heatsink grease between the processor and sink? Also, did you happen to lap your Heatsink to make sure it's flat? My GlobalWin was really concave which would have caused higher temps but I corrected it with lapping. Also, make sure your CPU is seated all the way down. Sounds dumb, but it happens. Also, double check your voltage settings. Let me know!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    66
    CPU is all the way down, I did use the grease, I havent lapped just yet (scared :-)). I am running a DFI mobo, the heatsink is a oversized heatsink but not sure if that is good or not, I think I will try to track down a place to purchase a Alpha??. I set the board to run the CPU at the standard 2.2v. Is it better to have more air coming in other than the one lower case fan?
    Rob
    Have a Mac? Like Linux?
    Put them together!
    Http://www.macnlinux.com

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    556
    has anyone had bad experiences with the Gigabyte GA-5AA? And can someone tell me where to get all the diff. smilies?
    E6400 @ 4.1 Ghz // 4Gb DDR2 6400 // 8800GTS 512

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    robo74 - You can get your ALPHA here: http://www.coolerguys.com/CPUCOOL/alpha.htm
    I've ordered quite a bit from them and they are very good to deal with. I've had no problems and the prices are good as well.

    A basic rule of thumb for fans that I use is to have two (2) exhaust fans for every one (1) intake fan.

    Soneji - When posting a reply, click on the "Smilies Legend" to the left of the text box!
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    McHenry, IL
    Posts
    66
    Thanks for all your help AMDnut, and everyone else!!I checked over everything real well as suggested and also added a extra fan directly at the mother board so it would move the air better. I also ordered a Alpha heat sink :-). I was wondering if anyone knew any good case mod sites. Or perhaps have any ideas of their own. I am running a server size 6 5 1/4 bay case and has lots of room for ideas. So please share if you have any :-)
    Thanks again all
    Rob
    Have a Mac? Like Linux?
    Put them together!
    Http://www.macnlinux.com

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Cold, barren wasteland....
    Posts
    3,126
    Twin Turbo from here: http://www.3dcool.com/twinturbo.shtml


    Best bang for your buck:
    Great exhaust set-up for $25US!

    [This message has been edited by AMDnut (edited 05-01-2000).]
    Main DVD MM Rig:
    CoolerMaster Storm Scout
    AM3 Phenom II x4 955BE @ 3.6 ghz
    Corsair H50 Watercooling kit
    4.0 GB AData DDR3
    GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P Mainboard
    Western Digital 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Samsung 750GB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    Western Digital 1.0TB 7200rpm w/32mb cache
    LG 20x DVDRW-DL "SuperDrive"
    PNY GeForce 9800gt 1024mb w/Samsung 245BW 24" LCD
    Corsair 620w Modular Power Supply
    Logitech z-640 5.1's
    Logitech Wireless Mouse
    Win 7 Ultimate........

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •