OCing 600E to 800....should I buy cas2 or cas3?
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: OCing 600E to 800....should I buy cas2 or cas3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    126

    OCing 600E to 800....should I buy cas2 or cas3?

    I am planning to overclock an Intel PIII Coppermine 600E up to 800mhz with my Asus P3B-F motherboard. I don't plan on using a peltier, just an Alpha P3125.

    Which PC133 128mb stick should I buy?:

    1. Mushkin Budget ($114)
    -this cannot run at CAS 2
    -the max for this stick is 146mhz Cas 3

    2. Mushkin High Perf. Rev. 1.5 ($139)
    -the max for this stick is 146mhz Cas 2

    Since I'm overclocking, should I go with the Cas 2 stick? Is it worth the money? Is Cas 2 recommended for overclocking? Or will Cas 3 be just fine?

    let me know.
    thanks.

    spaceboy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Hanford, CA
    Posts
    3,203
    Get the cas 2, you won't regret it if you decide to push the envelope of FSB!



    ------------------
    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

    If you lived here, you'd be home by now...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    I am not sure how good the Mos v.1.5 are, but I know for $10 more ($149), you can get HSDRAM @ www.pc133memory.com

    I have been able to run it @ 150 MHz 3-2-2 with Precharge on on a BF6. BTW, alot of this also depends on your mobo. Some RAM likes certain mobo better than others ... sometimes almost seems like luck of the draw if you ask me. Also one tip that was passed on to me from others and often over looked ... if you are having stability problems, try to put your RAM in the first DIMM slot, but I know the Alpha 3125 are kinda big and you will lose the 1st DIMM slot on the P3BF (I also have this mobo too) ... so I guess you gotta use DIMM 2 or find some way to get around this

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    784
    Where did you see it for $140. I am stuck at 144 MHZ with my pc133 Micron cas2. and NigtOwl is about to whip up on me bigtime. I need to go faster fast...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    PS. the HSDRAM cost $10 more at pc133memory than the Mos v1.5 @ Mushkin, but pc133memory include free shipping in US, so this might offset the cost ...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    B/K
    Mushkin Mos v1.5 and other PC133 RAM offered at Mushkin:
    http://www.mushkin.com/cgi-bin/Mushk.../catalogs/3517

    HSDRAM from the source: http://www.pc133memory.com/store/Order.html

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    784
    Thanks NiteOwl, I have been looking real hard at 128m HSDram. I think I go the site once a day, but I am tossed between the Muskin, and the HSDram. I need to S.O.G.O.T.P.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    126
    wow...lightning fast replies.

    what's the difference between
    HSDRAM and SDRAM?

    Will HSDRAM run better at higher bus speeds?
    (Compared to cas2 SDRAM)

    I will definately look into the HSDRAM.
    Thanks guys.

    spaceboy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Markham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    3,022
    HSDRAM is SDRAM, but I think has faster clk access time 4.6 ns while normal SDRAM has clk access time around 5.4 ns ... but don't confuse clk access time and the speed at which the chips are rated for. HSDRAM has 7.5 ns chips. I think the Mos v.2 has 7 ns chips. The HSDRAM has had a reputation for running at high FSB for a long time now while the Mos v.2 RAM are new but are quickly making a reputation for themselves. I am going off to bed now ... this time for real! If anything, post here, I am sure one of the others or myself (next morning) will be more than willing to answer your questions to the best of our ability.

    [This message has been edited by NiteOwl (edited 04-28-2000).]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Bratislava, Slovakia
    Posts
    19
    Buy CAS2!!! It rocks!!! Better, faster overclockable. I have one...hahaha

    ------------------
    CPU - PIII550E O/C 733
    MOBO- ABIT BE6-II BIOS QJ
    GPU - CL AnihilatorPro
    HD - 7200Rpm-WD10000A
    ETH - 3Com Etherlink III
    SND - SoundBlaster Live!
    COL - Air Cooling
    CPU - PIII550E O/C 733
    MOBO- ABIT BE6-II BIOS QJ
    GPU - CL AnihilatorPro
    HD - 7200Rpm-WD10000A
    ETH - 3Com Etherlink III
    SND - SoundBlaster Live!
    COL - Air Cooling

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    18
    Im running my two cheap 128Mb Samsung PC100 cas3 sticks at a nice 148 MHz, i have never expierenced any problems.. nice bandwidth results in sisoft-sandra too

    ------------------
    . : [ a R N E ] : .
    . : [ a R N E ] : .

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 1998
    Location
    Middletown, NY
    Posts
    605
    I`m currentlt running HSDRAM @ 135,2-2-2-5. It`s verry stable and well worth it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •