Check this K7 vs P3 battle..
Home | Reviews and Features | Special Reports | Forums |

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Check this K7 vs P3 battle..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 1999
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,302

    Check this K7 vs P3 battle..

    Quote from this link:

    "and the overall winner is.... by a large margin, AMD Athlon 800 at 1Ghz - any questions ?"

    AMD Smashes Intel

    This tester has a K7 clocked 7% higher than a P3 ... (930/1000)

    And the K7 scores 1% higher (5239/5287)


    Wow!!! I'm convinced....

    Let the flames begin.....
    "If it works it's not overclocked!"
    My Stuff

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Troy, NY (12180)
    Posts
    1,714
    just remember that with a faster FSB, "benchmarks" run faster... i am very surprised that the P3 @ 124fsb did not beat the Athlon @ 100fsb, even though it was clocked 70mhz slower
    No Rules, No Ads, No BS....

    The Overclockers Network

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Norwich, UK
    Posts
    3,790
    Oh god here we go again you don't have to be a rocket scientist to work out who's paying the bills on that site.

    BladeRunner

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Your mama's room
    Posts
    158
    Why don't they try comparing the same cpu speeds. Why compare an 800 athlon @ 1000 to a 750 PIII at 9??. This is how the test should come out. I am surprised it was that close. The athlon should have done better.

    When I compare my 400 Celeron to my 300A. Can you beleive the 400 scores better?

    ------------------
    Poopshoot In 2000!
    I did not have sexual relations with that girl"Mrss Lewinski".
    Poopshoot In 2000!
    I did not have sexual relations with that girl"Mrss Lewinski".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Zagreb,Croatia
    Posts
    1,824
    PIII is old CPU and it does not performs very good @ higher clock, Athlon is stuck to 100MHz memory, and needs better cooling so, both have bad points.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    556
    How does the Athlon need better cooling? Mines doesn't.
    E6400 @ 4.1 Ghz // 4Gb DDR2 6400 // 8800GTS 512

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Burington, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    322
    Hey
    What is with this twisted benchmark? i mena it is like " here we have a Athlon 1000Mhz compard to a P1 75 Mhz and well we have a big surprise in store for u..........." that is some stupid crap. I have seen an athlon that run a 133FSB DDR! i mean that is really high, but i am surpirsed the Athlon didn't do better i mean 1%? come on can u see 1% diff in Windows start up or a game? didn't think so!

    ------------------
    " Whatcha gonna do buy a gun and rent a bullet?!?! "

    ICQ # 25960556

    Inventor of the PMP, Phunk Master Phreezer.
    Abit BP6, Dual 366@550, 128MB RAM, 13.6GB WD 7200RPM ATA/66, Voodoo3 3000AGP OCed to 183Mhz

    Inventor of the PMP, Phunk Master Phreezer.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •